android
  #61  
Old 02-13-2007, 03:35 PM
arch85 arch85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dippy17888 View Post
i use mac os x 10.28 and i put the script in the script folder like it says to, but, no script icon shows up in itunes.
Hey,

Sorry I couldn't get back to you earlier; for some reason I didn't get an e-mail regarding the replies; anyway, here's from an e-mail I recently sent to someone:

Anyway, steps for running the script:

1) Download the script : http://www.ridesforall.com/archit/sa.../download.html
2) Unzip the file
3) Make sure iTunes is open and just double-click on the script to run it.

Alternatively, if you'd like, after step 2, you can:
3) Open your directory: Macintosh HD > Users > [your user name] > Library > iTunes
4) If a folder called "Scripts" exists, copy the script into that folder ; if not, create a new folder called "Scripts" and then copy the script into the folder
5) Quit (if open) and restart iTunes
6) on the Menu bar, you will see :: iTunes File Edit Controls View Store Advanced Windows [script sign] Help
7) Click on the Script Sign and you can click on the script from there and it should run just fine.

Please let me know if there are any problems / any error messages that you might be getting.



HOPE THIS HELPS!!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #62  
Old 02-13-2007, 10:36 PM
dippy17888 dippy17888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default

i did what u said, but it wont work. there is no script icon inbetween window and help.
Reply With Quote

  #63  
Old 02-13-2007, 11:14 PM
arch85 arch85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dippy17888 View Post
i did what u said, but it wont work. there is no script icon inbetween window and help.
Hi dippy17888,

you don't really need the script icon there to run the actual script -- just double clicking on it (no matter where it is on your computer) will run the script just fine; having the script icon in the menu bar just allows you to access it quickly. I'm not sure if this is an issue with the version of mac os x u're running (it really shouldn't be ... i don't think) or if you're missing some files or something. Did you name the folder "Scripts" ? it has to match EXACTLY -- the case and everything ... without the quotes of course. Also there are two Library folders; you need to put this in the iTunes folder that exists within your user profile (just incase you put it in the other one by mistake ..)

Either way, as I mentioned, it should work regardless no matter where it is; so worst case scenario, u can just put it on your desktop or somewhere on your hard-drive and whenever you want to perform the sync, just double click on it
Reply With Quote

  #64  
Old 02-14-2007, 05:50 PM
dippy17888 dippy17888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default

still wont work, it says error code -39. i u cant help then forget it. thanx
Reply With Quote

  #65  
Old 02-14-2007, 06:10 PM
arch85 arch85 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dippy17888 View Post
still wont work, it says error code -39. i u cant help then forget it. thanx
Hi,

I'm sorry this is not working for you; was your iTunes open when you tried this? Other than that, I really do not see why you would get an error.

Also I looked up online and apparently error 39 is for "End of file" (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=9805) ... doesn't make too much sense to me but I dunno; anyway, hopefully if you iTunes was not open, opening it will help. If not then I'm sorry; I really have no idea ... maybe a software update?

How far were you able to get with the script? -- Once you double-click on it, do you see the message? Did you click on "Next" and get a list of all the attached drives? Were you able to see your Playlists? ... Please let me know how far you got for me to be able to troubleshoot the problem any further.

Thanks ..

- Archit
Reply With Quote

  #66  
Old 02-14-2007, 09:15 PM
dippy17888 dippy17888 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arch85 View Post
Hi,

I'm sorry this is not working for you; was your iTunes open when you tried this?
I tried both open and closed.

Also I looked up online and apparently error 39 is for "End of file" (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=9805) ... doesn't make too much sense to me but I dunno; anyway, hopefully if you iTunes was not open, opening it will help. If not then I'm sorry; I really have no idea ... maybe a software update?
i have tried that too

How far were you able to get with the script? -- Once you double-click on it, do you see the message?
Yes, thats all the further i got
Did you click on "Next" and get a list of all the attached drives? Were you able to see your Playlists?
nope
Please let me know how far you got for me to be able to troubleshoot the problem any further.

Thanks ..

- Archit
When i open it the only thing it says is file error (-39)
I think i am just as confused as you are.
Reply With Quote

  #67  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:29 AM
classic85's Avatar
classic85 classic85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 100
Default

I emailed sandisk on this very topic today. They wrote:

"The series e200 is not designed to working on MAC , but there is MSC mode , and this is a way to have an MP3 player to be recognized by the computer as a disk.You can use that mode to put songs in it!"

I'm a bit wary of the "not designed to working on MAC", not least for the grammatical fault it possesses.

Last edited by classic85; 06-06-2007 at 11:20 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #68  
Old 09-19-2007, 08:04 AM
Dom Dom is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Arch85, thanks so much for putting this script together, it seems to do a great job. I'm having one problem though and wondered if you had any thoughts on it.

I'm finding that I get quite a lot of dead/pointless files after syncing. I've uploaded a pic here:



Looking at the content of the files, they're all the same:

Code:
Mac OS X        	2∞‚MPG3hookATTR;…ˇ‚xThis resource fork intentionally left blank   ˇˇ
It's no big deal as it's easy to remove them after syncing, but it'd be cool not to have to. The filenames are all the full correct name of the original mp3 but with '._' in front.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote

  #69  
Old 09-19-2007, 09:04 AM
Hunter of Sock Monsters's Avatar
Hunter of Sock Monsters Hunter of Sock Monsters is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: White Room with Padded Walls
Posts: 24
Default

Dom,

just before you eject your e200 run a program called FinderCleaner it will remove all the "._" files from your Sansa.
__________________
Peace be the Journey
Reply With Quote

  #70  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:16 AM
ottomancer ottomancer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oop North
Posts: 11
Default

Hi, I thought I should post this info to this thread, to see if anyone can help...

I own an e280, and have recently come into possession of a Mac Powerbook, and it suits my needs fine as a way of accessing web/email when away from home/work. However my primary machine of choice is still my desktop running XP.

Anyway - after querying these very forums about Sansa e200 series and Mac OS, I tried connecting my e280 in MSC mode to the Powerbook. Initially everything seemed fine - the player appeared as mass storage device, allowed me to drag folders to/from the device.

The problems started when I tried to eject the drive - every time I ejected the e280, OSX reconnected it. When I eventually physically removed the e280, this caused the e280 to have some kind of 'episode' in which it had to rebuild the database. When it had finished rebuilding the database, several albums had gone AWOL...

Not exactly being very clued up on Mac OS, is there anything else I need to do when ejecting it from a Mac, or does it always rebuild the database?
Reply With Quote

  #71  
Old 07-26-2008, 12:19 AM
thekale90 thekale90 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Ottomancer, mine has to refresh the database every time although I've never lost a song. I'm running a PowerBook G4 right now with 10.5.4 and had no problems except the playlist; solved thanks to my man arch85!!!
Reply With Quote

  #72  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:53 PM
babya's Avatar
babya babya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Default

._ appears in the song list, and the songs with that appear twice (one lot plays fine). iTunes was used to transfer via drag and dropp.
__________________
MP3 PlayersCreative ZEN Stone,Philips SA2845,SA6145,GoGear Aria Sony NWZ-S738F,NWZ-E436F, NWZ-W202, NWZ-B135F, Samsung YP-S2, YP-T10, YP-P2,iRiver H10,E10,S10,X20
Reply With Quote

  #73  
Old 08-13-2008, 07:03 PM
babya's Avatar
babya babya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Default

Instead of findercleaner, I use HiddenCleanear-which removedthe ._ files and my song list is now normal.
__________________
MP3 PlayersCreative ZEN Stone,Philips SA2845,SA6145,GoGear Aria Sony NWZ-S738F,NWZ-E436F, NWZ-W202, NWZ-B135F, Samsung YP-S2, YP-T10, YP-P2,iRiver H10,E10,S10,X20

Last edited by babya; 08-13-2008 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #74  
Old 08-27-2008, 03:03 PM
zerojt zerojt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default

My sansa e270 version 1 is not being recognized on my mac as a mounted volume and it is in MSC mode and I would appreciated if someone could tell me how to fix this. Also it just started doing this out of the blue today when I tried to free up some space on it. Please help.
Reply With Quote

  #75  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:02 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Zerojt, what firmware version are you running? I have heard a few of the firmware versions have issue on Macs.
Reply With Quote

  #76  
Old 08-27-2008, 10:54 PM
zerojt zerojt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Zerojt, what firmware version are you running? I have heard a few of the firmware versions have issue on Macs.
um im not sure how do i find that out.
Reply With Quote

  #77  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:39 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Main Menu -> Settings -> Info
Reply With Quote

  #78  
Old 08-29-2008, 04:13 AM
babya's Avatar
babya babya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Default

1.0.2 on my e260 works fine with my Mac mini and 10.5.
__________________
MP3 PlayersCreative ZEN Stone,Philips SA2845,SA6145,GoGear Aria Sony NWZ-S738F,NWZ-E436F, NWZ-W202, NWZ-B135F, Samsung YP-S2, YP-T10, YP-P2,iRiver H10,E10,S10,X20
Reply With Quote

  #79  
Old 08-29-2008, 10:12 AM
zerojt zerojt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default

version 1.02.18A
Reply With Quote

  #80  
Old 08-29-2008, 05:52 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

OK, since I do not have a Mac, I am not sure what the issue is.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.