android
  #21  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:31 PM
danx55 danx55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 544
Default

hi JK.
thanks.yes rock box installed fine.only slight confusion in auto mode was having to get original bin file.but all worked well.
yes you are right.I'm going to have a good read of the RB manual tomorrow
cheers
Dan
__________________
m8+es20s+spotify+
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 08-02-2013, 04:59 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danx55 View Post
hi JK.
thanks.yes rock box installed fine.only slight confusion in auto mode was having to get original bin file.but all worked well.
yes you are right.I'm going to have a good read of the RB manual tomorrow
cheers
Dan
Use the original firmware for transfers, as Clip Zip transfers using Rockbox have given people problems. Avoid the auto update database setting in Rockbox, as this causes problems.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 08-02-2013, 05:31 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Use the original firmware for transfers, as Clip Zip transfers using Rockbox have given people problems.
You keep saying this, and I say it is BS. I've been using Rockbox for transfers the entire time I have used Rockbox...several years now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
Avoid the auto update database setting in Rockbox, as this causes problems.
This , at least, I will agree with you on.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 08-02-2013, 06:25 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
You keep saying this, and I say it is BS. I've been using Rockbox for transfers the entire time I have used Rockbox...several years now.


This , at least, I will agree with you on.
This is a quote from Skip252 in this thread.

"Also it's a known issue the USB in Rockbox on the Clip Zip can be buggy. For me that exhibits as a failure to connect on the very first connection and the player locking up and needing to be rebooted by holding the power button for ~20 seconds. There's also certain themes that cause me USB transfer problems like lebellium's Samsung-like.

"
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 08-02-2013, 08:09 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,196
Default

I also use Rockbox exclusively to transfer my files. If I needed to boot to the OF for file transfer it would decrease the usability of Rock box significantly.

I said it was the very first connection that failed. After that the connection is reliable and the transfer speed is good. You can boot back and forth for your file transfers but please don't use my words to make it seem as if it's something I recommend.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 08-03-2013, 01:27 AM
danx55 danx55 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 544
Default

thanks guys.I've only tried it once but seemed to copy files ok via pc.although I've not tried to play them yet
__________________
m8+es20s+spotify+
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.