android
  #1  
Old 02-01-2013, 09:20 AM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default bricked clip+ not enough room for music db

I just synced my clip plus now when I reboot it says not enough room for db please free 50mb and when I go to delete something there is nothing to delete but empty folders and in wmp there shows no music on it. what should I do. Think the clip is now bricked
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:16 AM
dave61430 dave61430 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
Default

I really don't know. It seems a lot of posts involve either Rhapsody or WMP. I do know that having used first the Clip and now Clip+ for many years, I've never had a problem using drag 'n drop and MSC mode. You can't do this if using DRM files, but unless one is using such files I would urge people to use MSC mode.
If your case permits doing this, I would format and reload. If syncing is important, you can do this using windows file compare utilities, winmerge is a good freeware product.
If you are using DRM music hopefully someone else can help.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:32 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,204
Default

It's a common enough problem that it's part of the sandisk knowledge base. This might help http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/848/ .
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-01-2013, 12:59 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

well I cant even switch to msc 4o delete stuff I had to just format too bad though it will take a while to get my selection of songs back
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-01-2013, 01:04 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
well I cant even switch to msc 4o delete stuff I had to just format too bad though it will take a while to get my selection of songs back
You don't have them backed up somewhere else?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-01-2013, 02:27 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,504
Default

A reminder to all of us to make sure that we have a recent backup. I know that I need to do that for a couple of my players.

Steve
__________________
Everybody should own at least one Sansa Clip family player. Except maybe the Sport.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-01-2013, 03:02 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

what is the best way to backup? I know you can just copy and paste but is there a better way? I used to have a playlist of all the stuff but it somehow got corrupted

Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-01-2013, 03:07 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
what is the best way to backup? I know you can just copy and paste but is there a better way?
You just answered your own question. Whatever other 'better' way there may be, it's going to boil down to copying and pasting whether you do it manually, or let some sort of software to do it for you.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-01-2013, 03:15 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeZ5 View Post
A reminder to all of us to make sure that we have a recent backup. I know that I need to do that for a couple of my players.

Steve
I don't back up individual players' contents unless there is something unique there....for example, I have a folder with 100 songs in it without track numbers(I only shuffle them), with a tagged album title called "Work mix" that I have on two separate players that I bring to work, and I have it saved on the computer as well.

But the rest of my music, asides from being on both of my computers, is also on two external hard drives....so I am covered.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-01-2013, 03:16 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

I actually like to have a playlist of everything on my player saved on the computer takes up less space
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 02-01-2013, 05:57 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
I actually like to have a playlist of everything on my player saved on the computer takes up less space
Sorry, but I can't see where that would save anything or have any benefit other than a reminder of what you had on the player. Unless you have copies of the files stored eleswhere, or CD's to re-rip you're still out that music and have to go buy and/or download it again to replace in case of a catastrophic failure or inadvertent format.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-01-2013, 10:13 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

The songs are on my computer and on the player so I make a playlist of everything and if the file locations change like from on the player and on the computer I just use wmp and change the file location to make the playlist work again
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.