android
  #1  
Old 01-20-2013, 11:40 AM
BlackBoy88 BlackBoy88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Default Player 5.0 performance with 64GB

Do the Galaxy Player slows down with a 64 GB card loaded with media? I read undescriptive brief comments online indicating the device will slow down when its SD card is loaded with media.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-20-2013, 04:15 PM
brosko brosko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 220
Default

Good question, I would like to know that also
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-20-2013, 04:19 PM
AEVAREX's Avatar
AEVAREX AEVAREX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachussetts
Posts: 36
Default

I use a 64G sandisk class 4 in my 5.0 player. It is laoded to 9 Gig remaining and i have never experianced any lag. Though i use a .nomedia file to prevent android system scan of the card. I also do not use stock android video/audio/photo apps. Using mobo player/poweramp/quickpic, and do manual scans and folder assigning as my media changes.
Twice now ive used a lexmark class 10 to transfer media to someone and it was slow to the point of annoyance.
I also have other samsung players with 32Gig cards (class 4) maxed out and do not have any problems at all. Hope this helps you out.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:43 AM
jamaljan jamaljan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AEVAREX View Post
I use a 64G sandisk class 4 in my 5.0 player. It is laoded to 9 Gig remaining and i have never experianced any lag. Though i use a .nomedia file to prevent android system scan of the card. I also do not use stock android video/audio/photo apps. Using mobo player/poweramp/quickpic, and do manual scans and folder assigning as my media changes.
Twice now ive used a lexmark class 10 to transfer media to someone and it was slow to the point of annoyance.
I also have other samsung players with 32Gig cards (class 4) maxed out and do not have any problems at all. Hope this helps you out.

WOW..really? SMP 5.0 (YP-G70) International version can work with a 64gb card? but i read online that it only supports max 32gb. Have you done some tweaking to your device?


BTW, can you please explain this .nomedia file to prevent android system scan of the card. How to do this?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:56 AM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamaljan View Post
WOW..really? SMP 5.0 (YP-G70) International version can work with a 64gb card? but i read online that it only supports max 32gb. Have you done some tweaking to your device?
Almost any device with a microSDHC slot can support SDXC cards if reformated in FAT32 instead of default ex-FAT.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-21-2013, 07:47 AM
marcel f marcel f is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 45
Default

Same here, I use sandisk uhs-1 class 10 micro SDXC card. start up time is roughly 1 minute, no difference with the card in use compared to a 32GB card, I have 1GB of free space on mine. My device is standard runnig android 2.2 in th UK.

I had to format the card twice in the device (5.0) and restart it 3 times before it worked properly.
I'm much happier with one huge card han loads of small ones, can't lose them or damage the card slot from regular removing.

marcel
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:49 PM
alljokingaside alljokingaside is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamaljan View Post
WOW..really? SMP 5.0 (YP-G70) International version can work with a 64gb card? but i read online that it only supports max 32gb. Have you done some tweaking to your device?


BTW, can you please explain this .nomedia file to prevent android system scan of the card. How to do this?
no tweeking needed. just format in your device, from what I remember.

in whatever folder you don't want your device to scan, make a file. an empty text document's fine. rename it ".nomedia". That's it.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.