android
  #1  
Old 04-13-2009, 04:05 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default CFs that work.

Adata
Transcend
Sandisk (ultra series)
RiData
Lexar (UDMA series)


These are from the CFs that I have and tested through with all microdirve based players.

You can add any that work for you to this by posting what worked for you that are not already listed above.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-14-2009, 01:08 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,055
Default

Could you be more specific about which models within the brands? Thanks
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-14-2009, 07:17 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

1GB or higher, what else. Do you plan to use a 512MB CF?

most people will use what they got or higher as a reference. Most micro drives start at 4GB.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-15-2009, 02:40 AM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,055
Default

Not all CF cards within a brand work. I'm not concerned about the size more so the speed the Transcend x133 tend to not work. That is the kind of information I'm asking about.SanDisk has more than one Ultra Series
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:40 PM
trikon000 trikon000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Disassembly LABS
Posts: 259
Default

the 266 speed trancends work, you have to get the ones that support mode 4 and 6.

I metioned that in the replacement guide, that you will need one with mode 4 and/or 6, which are related to hard drive mode access capabilities. do not get ones that emulate those mode, those don't have a boot sector which you need.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:58 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,055
Default

That's the type of info I meant. Of the list you posted which ones have those specs?
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-06-2009, 07:08 AM
andreboba andreboba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default

When my two transcend 16 GB flash cards arrive from Amazon, from what I'm reading, they will both be quick returns for upgrades to my 2 8 gb Microphotos!!

Adata 16gb flash cards are difficult to find, I've been looking at;

SanDisk SDCFX3-008G-A31 8GB Extreme III CF Card

Anyone have experiences with this type?

I've read about successful ipod hacks using Kingston Elite Pro 16 GB 133x CompactFlash Memory Card, has anyone had good luck using a Kingston in a microphoto??
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-06-2009, 12:46 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,055
Default

refer to the first post in this thread
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-06-2009, 02:30 PM
andreboba andreboba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default

I did read the first post, that's why I have a question about the Sandisk Extreme flash cards versus the ultra.

Trikon listed his personal experiences with those particular compact flashes, my question was whether anyone else had success using Kingston or Sandisk Extreme?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:24 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,055
Default

If you are still interested the website has the 32GB Adata cards in stock.Don't know how long that will last. It's been a looong time since they had any.http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...C60015&cat=FLM
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:53 PM
andreboba andreboba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks, coach.

Well, my 16 gb Transcend cf cards arrived Sunday, but I just found out that Windows Vista can't upgrade firmware for the microphoto.

I'm in the process of loading and running virtual XP on Vista, hopefully this allows me to upgrade zmp firmware.

I really hope these transcends work, I like the 16 gb storage capacity, but if they don't pan out, I'll probably exchange them for the smaller 8gb cf.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-12-2009, 09:30 AM
textivo textivo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I used a standard Kingston 4gb in my Zen Micro Photo and it worked perfectly. The product is here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134514 I have an 8gb ordered that I plan on putting in a regular Zen Micro. I'll post back if there are any problems. Good luck.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-18-2009, 05:04 PM
DymTheater DymTheater is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Good evening. I wanted to upgrade to 32GB but am unsure which memory card to use.
I did some research and found two that seem to be compatible.
Adata Speedy for 70€
Kingston pro elite 133x for 53€

Will the Kingston card work? A Newegg user said this on his review:

"Pros: 100% Compatible with my Creative Zen Micro
Cons: None at all
Other Thoughts: I used this card to replace my fried 5GB Seagate Microdrive in my Creative Zen Micro.
This was a massive improvement to speed, battery life, and capacity (5GB vs 32GB).. not to mention I can beat the hell out of it and not worry."

(Source: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134901)

Did anyone use it in his hack? Thank you!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:27 PM
dajamaican dajamaican is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Kingston

I used a 8GB Kingston CF card and it works great. Link:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134576
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 11-14-2009, 01:37 PM
infideL infideL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Help Kingston 16GB ?

Hello,

I've read alot about the hack and which cards work and don't, but I haven't found any info on the Kingston Elite Pro 16GB. I read that people have made the hack and were successful with the 8GB and 32GB Kingston cards, but no one seems to have tried it with the 16GB.

So I'm wondering if someone has, but just didn't post about it...


If not, I have a couple of other choices, but I'd rather go with the Kingston since it's more cheaper. If anyone has tried the hack with the following cards and it's worked, please tell me

DANE-ELEC 16GB
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820157030

RiDATA Lightning Series 16GB
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820183224

Transcend 16GB
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820208337

I'm pretty sure the last two were mentioned a couple of times on the forums already and that they've worked, but just to be sure.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 11-18-2009, 05:05 AM
andreboba andreboba is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default

I've got two working microphotos hacked with 16 gb transcend CF cards, fwitw.

Order your 16 gb Kingston's from Amazon, if they don't pan out, Amazon has a fairly liberal return/exchange policy.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-16-2011, 10:53 AM
OnlyZen OnlyZen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Default

trikon (et al) - I know this is totally old news, but I just did my first CZM swap to flash using the Transcend 16Gb 133x CF card. I love it and am going to upgrade another CZM or two. However, I would like to know if anyone has used any faster mode 4/6 cards successfully. The first post here lists brands but not speeds and I was hoping that someone has had success with a faster card.

Please chime in if you've used a faster card....and, most importantly, *which* one/speed.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-03-2011, 04:47 PM
OnlyZen OnlyZen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Successfully installed a brand-new Transcend 32Gb 133x CF card into a CZM.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-04-2011, 06:04 PM
blake3371 blake3371 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I bought a 4GB SanDisk Ultra CF card and after Its installed the touchpad no longer works at all. The touchpad connecter is fully connected and I've had the same thing happen with two different Zen Micros.. I've since put the microdrive back into one of the Zen Micros and the touchpad works fine.

Would this be the result of an unsupported CF card (and if so, one should probably write a cliff note where it says that the Ultra series works) or would it be a problem with the connection to my computer?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 06-07-2014, 04:23 AM
xt600 xt600 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I've just ordered this Kingston card for my micro-photo. Can anyone tell me if this is likely to work?? :-) http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=380677124148
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.