android
Old 09-28-2012, 07:53 PM

Red face Need help with home surround audio :(

I hope this is the right section to be posting this

Anyways I needed some help finding some budget home surround sound maybe under $550?

Right now the ones we currently have are HORRID, got them at the local best buy and the guy suggested some sony speakers and man...these things are a pain bad to listen too. The bass overpowers everything and is just sounds nasty.

I do like bass, but I don't want it to be the only thing I hear

Sorry I'm not very good at explaining this :\, I guess I'm just looking for something like good clean bass that's deep but doesn't distort and still be able to hear music or watch movies and hear everything else pretty clear.

Also does it matter which speaker wires I use? I had someone try n sell me some monster wires, but decided not to because of what I've been hearing about them being over priced..

I'd mainly be using the speakers for Music,Movies/T.V

Any help would definitely be appreciated a lot and save me from buying something I"m probably going to regret buying

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 09-28-2012, 08:54 PM
Redneck Moderator

If I was in a price range I would get a 5.1 receiver and some polk speakers. Polk makes pretty good stuff on the cheap, you can sometimes pick up a set of tower speakers for the front for around $200, then 60 for the rears and a center. A 8" or 10" ported 100 watt subwoofer should do fine if you have a smaller room.

You don't want to get one of those home theater systems that are in a box, they limit your upgrading options and they don't sound as good.

As for speaker wire, I just use cheap 12 or 14 gauge copper wire. I got it from monoprice or partexpress. Speaker wireswont change the sound of your system, spending any extra on them is just a waste of money. Though I will suggest getting some banana plugs(if your receiver can use them) and putting them on your cables, those are VERY handy.