android
  #1  
Old 06-14-2012, 10:56 AM
Marb Marb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 36
Default Clip zip dead as a doornail only 4 weeks old.

I am absolutley gutted that a player I have owned for just 4 weeks has died in the middle of playing. It was fully charged and no amount of pressing the on switch has any effect. Plug into the PC and dead.

Why didn't I listen to some of the reviewers on Amazon who had the same thing happen. It has taken me ages to get all my fav tracks cataloged on this. Utter garbage. Can I get my money back ?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:09 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Did you try reset?

1. Press and hold the Power/Menu button for approximately 30 seconds.
2. Release the Power/Menu button.
3. Press the Power/Menu button again to turn on the player.

Chances are you can't get your money back but you can get a new player via SanDisk RMA process. BTW it's far from garbage, dam good little players and I've owned 6 of them and they're all still working fine ... oldest one is at least 2 to 3 years old.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:26 AM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
Can I get my money back ?
Doesn't that depend on where you bought it? Shouldn't you be asking them instead of bothering us?

Walkgood has already given you advice on what to do.

I have one question...did you upgrade the firmware that came on the player? I had problems with my Zip hanging when I first got it. Firmware was01.01.15A. I upgraded to V01.01.20A and am no longer having those problems.

Steve
__________________
Everybody should own at least one Sansa Clip family player. Except maybe the Sport.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-14-2012, 11:47 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,355
Default

Marb installed and un-installed Rockbox. WalkGood gave him directions and a link to the latest firmware. If he followed that the firmware was upgraded then.

BTW, it's a place for asking questions. True enough none of us can tell Marb if he can get his money back but they may not be aware of the RMA process or that sandisk makes it fairly painless. I don't believe making them aware of that is too much of a bother.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-14-2012, 12:55 PM
Marb Marb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Did you try reset?

1. Press and hold the Power/Menu button for approximately 30 seconds.
2. Release the Power/Menu button.
3. Press the Power/Menu button again to turn on the player.


Yes, Yes and yes with no effect. BTW, do you mean press both buttons simultaneously or either one ? It isn't clear.



For some reason after a few attempts at plugging and unplugging the USB connection to the PC it suddenly came back to life. I admit, the player itself isn't garbage but it's no good if it's inconsistent and decides to pack up at any time. I had no idea about the RMA process . Sorry, I thought this was a Sandisk forum which is why I wanted to know if I could get money back on a faulty player. Perfectly reasonable question. It was bought on Play.com but as it's now working, I can continue to use it. For now at least.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-14-2012, 02:22 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
For some reason after a few attempts at plugging and unplugging the USB connection to the PC it suddenly came back to life.
That means it was frozen. Holding the power button resets it.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-14-2012, 03:46 PM
Marb Marb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 36
Default

Why does it freeze ?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-14-2012, 03:48 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
Why does it freeze ?
Why does any computer freeze? Software bugs, hardware bugs, corrupted files, cosmic rays, and so on.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-14-2012, 04:40 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
… Why didn't I listen to some of the reviewers on Amazon who had the same thing happen. It has taken me ages to get all my fav tracks cataloged on this. Utter garbage. …
While I’m not harping on you, this thread reminded me - I’ve read a similar statement about the amazon reviews and calling a player garbage that many abi members like very much. So much that it inspired us to collectively put this thread together. Many of us have found that most issues are not that difficult to fix, while others have had little to no problems.

BTW 3.5 out of 5 star rating is not that bad for amazon reviews. 361 reviews 3 stars and above out of 509 reviews. Only 148 - 2 stars and below and I’m guessing that at least half of the 148 are user driven errors
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-14-2012, 08:30 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
Why does it freeze ?
Blame it on Bush. That's what Curious George does.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-14-2012, 09:44 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
Why does it freeze ?
Could be a file that is bad, possibly due to a blip while copying. If so, it might happen again.

Steve
__________________
Everybody should own at least one Sansa Clip family player. Except maybe the Sport.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-15-2012, 12:12 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is online now
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marb View Post
I am absolutley gutted that a player I have owned for just 4 weeks has died in the middle of playing. It was fully charged and no amount of pressing the on switch has any effect. Plug into the PC and dead.

Why didn't I listen to some of the reviewers on Amazon who had the same thing happen. It has taken me ages to get all my fav tracks cataloged on this. Utter garbage. Can I get my money back ?
Well, you have a 1-year (in the U.S.; 2 years in the EU) warranty on the player--just telephone SanDisk for help and, possibly, a replacement.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.