android
  #1  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:24 AM
nixx nixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Smile Original firmware won't start

Cheers everyone!

In the past few days I've experienced some bugs with my rockbox ( suddenly player shuts down, or freezes ).

I've decided to first uninstall my rockbox (3.0), and it went well, but when I wanted to remove bootloader, I got a message saying something like "can not remove bootloader, please try with original firmware update", and so I did.

But, I discovered that when I try to start original firmware (power+home), it starts, but then freezes with a sansa logo. So, I can't use it, or update it.

I installed new rockbox version (3.11), and obviously it didn't solve the problem.

Has this happened to somebody? Does someone know, if format my clip+ from windows, will that help? I know it will delete rockbox, as well as the music, but I will easily install that later, I just want to have original firmware working.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-22-2012, 01:27 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

If you do, just make sure you put the .rockbox folder back onto the player after you format it, otherwise you'll be left with neither firmware booting.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:33 PM
nixx nixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

So, you are saying that after the formating, and copying back .rockbox folder, everything will work perfectly?
What about system files, because they will be deleted after format?
And if I want to put back the original firmware (new version), how do I do that?

Have you ever formated your clip+?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-22-2012, 02:38 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

The OF doesn't have any system files on the part of the storage you can see over USB. I've formatted several times, the OF doesn't care, rockbox obviously does.

I don't know why the OF would get stuck, I've never seen that.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-23-2012, 04:30 PM
nixx nixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Ok, I formated my clip+, but the player is acting weird. Sometimes it won't shutdown (stuck's at "goodbye" screen), sometimes it won't play music at all, and I noticed that sometimes slows down, it takes some time to slide through menu, and I can see animation slowed down.

What should I do?
I have latest firmware (V01.02.16A).
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-23-2012, 05:17 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

If you’re still having problems, there could be something corrupt with the original firmware (OF). Why not re-install the OF, remove rockbox and see if that fixes it. You can always add rockbox back at a later time with a new patched OF & .rockbox folder.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-25-2012, 07:17 AM
nixx nixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I've reinstalled newest OF, but the problem persists.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-25-2012, 09:40 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Try the one before the newest. If that doesn't work is your player less than a year old? If so, you could call sandisk for an RMA approval.

Edit: Outside USA you get 2 years IIRC
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-25-2012, 06:53 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Try the one before the newest. If that doesn't work is your player less than a year old? If so, you could call sandisk for an RMA approval.

Edit: Outside USA you get 2 years IIRC
U.S. = 1 year, EU = 2 years; don't know about the rest of the world.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-26-2012, 02:10 PM
nixx nixx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

It's almost two years old. I'm sorry I don't know what's an RMA approval?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-28-2012, 11:03 AM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nixx View Post
It's almost two years old. I'm sorry I don't know what's an RMA approval?
Returned Merchandise Authorization.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-28-2012, 09:26 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

RMA is part of the product warranty return process, the authorization from the manufacturer that you get to return the defective product.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.