android
  #1  
Old 04-24-2012, 10:09 AM
diechipmunk's Avatar
diechipmunk diechipmunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 117
Default PC speaker to headphone hub - switch

I need an easy way to switch between desktop speakers and a headset. I currently heed to go into control panel and change the sound output. That doesn't sound like a huge deal, but I've found that sometimes music apps or games currently open hang on to whatever sound source was chosen when the program was started.

So far, the only option I've found is the Plantronics PC Headset Speaker Switch
http://www.amazon.com/Plantronics-PC...5279759&sr=1-5

Can anyone comment on the Plantronics, or recommend a better solution? I can use the sound sound card jacks, USB ports or and HDMI ports.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-24-2012, 01:04 PM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

You can just right click the speaker icon in the task tray and go to play back device.
__________________

Ruger M77 , Howa 1500 , Czech Republic 452-2E
Ruger .22 Single Six, Springfield Armory XD-9 , Springfield Armory XD45ACP
2007 Elite Archery Synergy

Gamo CFX, Gamo PT80
Large Rock


Need your headphones fixed or something soldered? Syndrome's Soldering Service
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-24-2012, 01:22 PM
sideways sideways is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 590
Default

I have speakers, a USB headset (used for VOIP stuff) and headphones connected to my computer at the same time and I get by using the software on the computer. I have in line volume controls for both the speakers and the USB headset so I can adjust the volume on them manually when the need arises. Both headphones are also easy to unplug from the front of my computer in I need to cut the sound to either for some reason.

If you need more clutter on the desk a mechanical solution one of those hubs would probably do the trick for you. Plantronics has been good in my experience.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 08:30 AM
diechipmunk's Avatar
diechipmunk diechipmunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Thanks. I never knew about the playback devices option on the speaker icon. I don't know if I ever right-clicked on that icon.

I'll try that before I buy any more clutter.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 09:40 AM
IDvsEGO's Avatar
IDvsEGO IDvsEGO is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
You can just right click the speaker icon in the task tray and go to play back device.
this is what I do. easier especially since I use it most on my living room PC that is connected to the TV. works great.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:32 AM
diechipmunk's Avatar
diechipmunk diechipmunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 117
Default

Thanks guys, I just wanted to confirm that right clicking the speaker icon was the solution. I can't believe I'd never right clicked before, I left click to adjust volume all the time.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.