android
  #1  
Old 06-13-2010, 01:17 AM
cimore000 cimore000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default BRICKED player...

Sorry but this isnt the J3, it is the O2, I put it here because the O2 forums are kind of dead.
I am 2 days into owning my O2 bought from ebay new.
It got bricked and I am devastated..........................

The ebay seller told me it came with warranty but I need to clarify if that is true or not and if cowon includes warranty with ebay purchases?

When I turn it on, it gives off an orange light (its meant to be green when properly functioning) and flashes that orange light before just it completely shuts down again (theres nothing on the screen, remains black).

My computer wont detect it at all. What do I do?? (((((


It happened after I left it on my computer to charge and after a while, I came back to check on it and the screen was off, I checked to see if I could safely remove it and take the plug off but it wasn't there and I could not remove it safely. I then just unplugged it and turn it on and its BRICKED.

Any advice, please!

EDIT: I fixed it, got some advice off a cowon dealer.

Last edited by cimore000; 06-13-2010 at 07:32 AM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:21 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Thread moved to appropriate sub-forum so O2 owners can see your post.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-13-2010, 11:30 AM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

Would you mind posting what process you did to fix it? Its nice to have things like that on the forums so it can be of use to other members.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-14-2010, 02:20 AM
cimore000 cimore000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default

This fix was originally for the A3 but the exact same thing happened on my O2. So I did the same fix and it worked.


It has been discovered that on some occasions, when the Cowon A3 is left connected to a computer via the USB port for an extended period of time it can shut down and lose the connection without notice and then become non-responsive to attempts to reboot the unit or reconnect to the computer.
This is caused by the A3 running out of battery power required to maintain the USB connection, shutting down and thus losing the connection.
The A3 DOES NOT receive a charge from the computer when connected via USB and relies on its own battery power to maintain the connection.
Due to the fact that the A3 is disconnected from the computer abruptly, and also has a flat battery, it goes into a form of 'safe-mode' and will not boot or reconnect. The unit then needs to be placed on a mains charger for several hours and left to charge.
When in 'safe-mode' the A3 accepts a charge at about 10% of the normal charge rate, therefore it will need to be left on charge for some time before being used normally.
To avoid this happening, if you intend on leaving the A3 connected to a computer for an extended period of time, please be sure to connect the unit to a mains charger while it is connected to the computer.
Cowon are working on a Firmware Upgrade which may alleviate this issue.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-14-2010, 04:58 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

In short, the battery was drained. It would have been faster to charge it with the included AC adapter - especially since the O2's USB charging implementation is seriously flawed.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-05-2015, 12:51 PM
stubaz stubaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8
Default

I had much the same problem but when putting it on the mains charger, after a few hours the red LED went out and I picked it up and WOW! was it hot. Now nothing. No boot, no sign of life. Has it died, how deepdo I bury it ? I'm due to go into hospital in 2 days and I really can't live without my O2. Any tips please ? PLEASE.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-05-2015, 05:18 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,358
Default

I owned a O2 for a few days before returning it (bricked), they do seem to like to brick.
I have no advice other than try again, let it cool down, then give it some more time, and try again.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-05-2015, 11:25 PM
stubaz stubaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8
Default

I tried it again this morning, after it had cooled off, and it came on OK but quickly switched off. It's behaving as if it's the battery. I cracked her open and put the Fluke over it. The battery is showing 3.7 volts which I assumed to be normal. So I put it on external charge and it started to heat up again. I then reconnected it and at switch on the red LED came on for a second and then nothing. The battery voltage took a dive at switch on as well. I'm now convinced it's the battery.

BUT, with the battery disconnected I get nothing by using the power supply. I'm hoping there's a need for a battery to be in the picture before the 02 will come on. I'd much prefer it didn't need it because I'm flying to hospital in the morning and I wanted to take a pile of videos and music on SD cards. Bummer.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-06-2015, 12:06 AM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,358
Default

It's always the same isn't it, just when u need yer device or gadget the most it packs in... I feel for ya.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-06-2015, 12:57 AM
stubaz stubaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Oh well, it looks like I'll really suffer and have to watch TV. YUK! Maybe I'll sweet talk the nurses and spend my time there heavily sedated, Then again TV tends to put me to sleep. I just pulled out my old Sansa and thought I'd just take MP3s, wouldn't you know it, the battery has died from under use. My fault, I used it 6 months ago and left it in my overnight bag.

This is going to be a very awkward and very boring stay in hospital. I guess the Asus will have to do. It's a nuisance, you can't use it while attached to power, it's battery only and having to charge it after every movie is hopeless. Gee we're a spoiled race of people. :-(
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-06-2015, 01:05 AM
stubaz stubaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Does anyone know the name of the battery for the Cowon 02 please. I removed mine and it has no markings at all on it. I can only see one for sale in the UK for around $18 but I'm not too sure about it, it has no connection, just bare wires wrapped in a piece of tape.

I'm in Australia by the way. Are there any other units the Cowon 02 battery is compatible with? That may turn up a better battery.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-06-2015, 08:40 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,655
Default

The times I've seen nonstandard batteries like the ones Cowon uses replaced successfully started with taking measurements of the one that you have. You then contact the vendor to make sure the measurements of the battery they have is the same. If the measurements match the replacement might work.

As with any DIY replacements the only way to know for sure is to do the actual replacement. That usually requires de-soldering the existing connector and re-soldering it to the new batteries bare wires. Be sure to check the polarity as a reversed connection has a high probability of frying the circuitry.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.