android
  #1  
Old 03-19-2012, 06:48 PM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default Complete Cowon X7 Disassembly

Well, I just purchased a Cowon X7 from Ebay with a broken touch screen, because there was nothing online about what and where the parts were for repair, I took one for the team and completely disassembled the X7.

I'll be uploading pics soon, the most important info I can give now is the LCD+Digitizer is a Samsung LMS430HF02 LCD, and the digitizer can be found here

http://www.keepingtouch.com/Touch-Sc...tile_p654.html

will be right back with pics later................
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-19-2012, 09:10 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,062
Default

Can the hdd be changed to a higher capacity???
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-19-2012, 10:27 PM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Its a standard zif connection, so I don't see why not, 5mm drive was in the 160GB model Toshiba MK1634GAL. Very easy access to the hard drive after the rear casing comes off, the LCD is another story all together. Sorry about the pics I'll try to have them up tomorrow.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-20-2012, 06:33 AM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Pics uploaded:

http://s1058.photobucket.com/albums/t417/CowonX7/

also, I'm trying to recoup some of my loss because of the purchase, I'll be selling individual parts, Logic board, battery, casing, etc..., So please shoot me a PM or email me oakfan1283 @ gmail.com
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-20-2012, 07:48 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,062
Default

Thanks for the teardown & info.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:16 PM
smackfreek smackfreek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for this info, I wish I had found it sooner. I just spent $137.00 to have my screen fixed
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:27 PM
Rise_Above12 Rise_Above12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I JUST cracked my screen not ten minutes ago... It was a gift from my father and I'd really rather he not find out about it. By whom did you get the screen fixed by? I contacted what I assumed was Cowon's appropriate email address (business2@cowon.com) but should I have contacted someone else?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 06:58 PM
smackfreek smackfreek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rise_Above12 View Post
I JUST cracked my screen not ten minutes ago... It was a gift from my father and I'd really rather he not find out about it. By whom did you get the screen fixed by? I contacted what I assumed was Cowon's appropriate email address (business2@cowon.com) but should I have contacted someone else?
I contacted Cowon and the whole process took about two weeks. I had to send it to California. Im not even sure they fixed mine ,I think they might have just given me a new one. When I got it back there was a usb cable and charger with it and I did not send them with the unit that was broke. And it was packaged like when I initially bought it
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:01 PM
smackfreek smackfreek is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

actually you have to go here and submit a ticket

http://support.cowonamerica.com/supportcentral/
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-16-2012, 07:36 AM
g_ghirardi g_ghirardi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Cowon disassembly

Hi, can you give us some guidance on how to remove the back lid in order tio change the drive? Where are exactly the screws?

Many thanks!

Giovanni
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:24 AM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

g_ghirardi the screws are under the four "bumpers" on the corners of the X7, they're just held on with glue, I used a safety pin to take them off. About the hard drive, are you referring to the zif latch on the top of the drive? if so, you just place your finger nail under it and gently raise up. The zif cable should then just slide right out.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-16-2012, 10:28 AM
g_ghirardi g_ghirardi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. Very kind. Then the question goes as to whether a hard disk "home" replacement is possible. The 320 1.8 drive from Toshiba is 0,8 mm high...
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-16-2012, 10:51 AM
Resiak Resiak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oakfan View Post
g_ghirardi the screws are under the four "bumpers" on the corners of the X7, they're just held on with glue, I used a safety pin to take them off. About the hard drive, are you referring to the zif latch on the top of the drive? if so, you just place your finger nail under it and gently raise up. The zif cable should then just slide right out.
You seem to be saying that the hard disk is connected by a ZIF cable. I know that the Hitachi uses a thicker ZIF cable than the Toshiba and Samsung, so do you know which one will fit?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-16-2012, 01:16 PM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Its the slimmer type zif and it can only fit a 5mm hard drive.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-27-2012, 04:35 PM
Craig Craig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Ok I'll put my experiences here,

I cracked my digitizer and found this thread so ordered a replacement. The replacement procedure was very difficult, I'd say that if you're not very competent with a 0.5mm soldering iron then pay the $100 and get it done by Cowon.
After the replacement, the screen wouldn't calibrate, it turns out the X and Y axis are reversed, in other words the link above is not a direct replacement for my digitizer, maybe they changed it along the way.

The current state of play is that I have figured the correct order that the 4 wires need connecting in and will do this tomorrow, I'll let you know how it goes.

Craig
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-28-2012, 08:36 AM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

hi craig thanks for the info, I'm having the same problem, x and y is reversed and I can't calibrate, please let me know what you figure out. (I originally thought my replacement digitizer was defective)
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-01-2012, 11:51 AM
Craig Craig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I'm not having much luck, I know how the ribbon needs to connect to the board but I've damaged a pcb pad in the process. I think I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get a new screen and digitizer.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-01-2012, 04:08 PM
Craig Craig is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I've ordered a new lcd+digitizer for mine so I'll let you know how that goes when it arrives but if you're in a nothing to lose situation then these pics show how I think it needs to be.

Basically the ribbon needs moving one pad to the right then you need to link the fourth pad on the ribbon to the first pad on the board.

The last pic shows this best but in my case the red wire isn't connected because I damaged the first pad.

No guarantees but it did work wired in this order through the breadboard.

Craig
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EOS 7D IMG_9623-medium.JPG (174.6 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg EOS 7D IMG_9628-medium.JPG (134.9 KB, 72 views)
File Type: jpg EOS 7D IMG_9638-medium.JPG (124.2 KB, 75 views)
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-01-2012, 04:12 PM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for the post Craig, I'll try it on mine asap and post results.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 07-02-2012, 06:48 PM
oakfan oakfan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 35
Default

I had terrible luck too, same thing, lead off of the LCD came off and now it doesn't detect any touch, I have the other 3 wired just fine though.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.