android
  #1  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:34 PM
mlsuthe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Angry (Hardware) Power button loose, J3 will not turn on

-

Last edited by mlsuthe; 01-03-2013 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:42 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Just because your power button came lose doesn’t mean that anyone else that buys one will have the same issue. Email Cowon for an RMA approval and they’ll either fix it for free or replace your player with a new one.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-22-2012, 10:07 PM
jabrow75 jabrow75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

No reason to worry, that's what warranties are for...

I sent my J3 in last week for the exact same issue. Behind the plastic power button is the actual relay/switch which is connected to the motherboard. There are dis-assembly pics on the iaudiophile forums where you can see the relay/switch. If your problem is the same as mine, then most likely that is what has come loose.

The pics are at: http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=40354, I believe it is the eight picture... look at the middle of the right hand side, that is the power relay/switch. The little nub on the side of the relay is what is pushed when you press the power button.

Do not risk trying to pop the power button off or disassemble the unit. Like mentioned above, contact Cowon support for RMA warranty service. I just got notice today that mine was fixed (or possibly replaced? I'll see soon) and has been shipped back to me, so I hope to be getting it back soon.

If in the USA, go to http://www.jetaudio.com/support/ and click on the button for "Live Chat and Email Support", tell them the problem and they will direct you to the RMA page to submit the RMA request.

Easy-peasy!
__________________
Cowon J3 16gb+16gb mSD | Fuze+ 16+16 | RBFuze 8+8 | RBClip 8gb | Samsung YP-U2J 1gb
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-23-2012, 02:46 PM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

Yeah go to cowon and see if they will fix it. If they wont then I might could purchase it off of you for spare parts. But I'm sure cowon will fix it under the warranty.
__________________

Ruger M77 , Howa 1500 , Czech Republic 452-2E
Ruger .22 Single Six, Springfield Armory XD-9 , Springfield Armory XD45ACP
2007 Elite Archery Synergy

Gamo CFX, Gamo PT80
Large Rock


Need your headphones fixed or something soldered? Syndrome's Soldering Service
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-29-2012, 07:38 PM
jabrow75 jabrow75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Well, got my J3 back today, the power button has been reattached to the motherboard. But unfortunately, it is now not responding to button presses. The unit connects to PC and battery charges. I can power on the unit by connecting USB to wall outlet, but even then the power button does not respond (Can't power it back off or activate hold mode, etc.). All other buttons respond as normal. Guess it's back to RMA land!
__________________
Cowon J3 16gb+16gb mSD | Fuze+ 16+16 | RBFuze 8+8 | RBClip 8gb | Samsung YP-U2J 1gb
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
complaints, hardware, power button

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.