android
Go Back   abi>>forums > General Audio > Headphones

Old 12-25-2011, 10:46 AM

Default need help choosing new headphones for sansa clip+

Hi, I recently ordered online a sansa clip+ player and i want a pair of closed headphones to use while commuting or at work. I'm willing to spend 100 to $150 (shipping cost included, about 30 bucks, I live in Chile and there aren't many good options to buy good headphones here), but I also would appreciate if you could tell me if itīs worth it to spend such money on headphones for such a small player. I listen mostly rock, but also some hip-hop and reggae. I'm new to the audiophile world so I don't really know much about sound signatures, I do know that I'm not a fan of heavy bass based sound.

Sorry for creating a new topic but I've been trying to decide for the last week reading a lot of reviews and discussions and haven't found a definitive answer.

Thanks in advance and apologies if my English is not so good.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-25-2011, 11:22 AM

The Clip+ actually has a nice little amp inside it so it certainly does make sense to buy full-size closed cans for it.

Since you prefer a sound that does not emphasize bass too much, perhaps it would be best if you invested in some studio monitor headphones. For example, the Sony MDR-7506 and the KRK KNS 6400 are within your price range.

Old 12-25-2011, 11:35 AM
Administrator

Welcome to Abi

In my opinion it's definitely worth getting a good set of headphones if you want your music to sound it's best. The Clip+ powers just about any normal headphones nicely, ear buds or full size.

You can't judge a player based on size. The size of a player doesn't indicate it's ability to generate a quality signal. I can understand a bit of skepticism. I have been using some variety of Sansa Clip now for over 2 years and there's still times I marvel at how something the size of a book of matches can produce the great sound it does.