android
  #1  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:02 PM
Bobby Bland Bobby Bland is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 2
Default How big a memory card can you put in a Clip+.

Hello, I wonder if someone could help me out. Just bought an 8gb Clip+ and I would like to know can I put a memory card greater than 8gb in it? And if so how big can it be. Cheers!!!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:02 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

32GB
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-01-2011, 03:03 PM
Bobby Bland Bobby Bland is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Wales
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you very much for the prompt reply Marvin!!!!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-01-2011, 07:01 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

and it's going to take me over an hour to load it
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-02-2011, 04:55 PM
cowoniriver cowoniriver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
32GB
Marvin is right, on my clip+
I also use a 32gb kingston class4, previously a 16gb kingson class2, also a 4 gb class 4.All worked ok with old and newer sandisk firmware and of course with rockbox.but now a brand new 8gb kingston class4 freezes booting!(but works on any non sansa device) All where bought on the same store, so i thing that size doesn´t matter but if you follow some threads here and on other sansa forums you will see that thereś some ramdon issues with in cards, small internal changes on same card model aren´t showed easily to costumers.
So if you get a card as big as you want and cross fingers.maybe if you buy sandisk card is the safer way...
__________________
my players:
IRIVER: ifp-190 ,ifp-880 (broken), s10,t60,clix2/ COWON: u3, cowon u5,cowon s9 32gb,
SANDISK
: fuze v2, clip+, clipzip,LG: mffm15, mffm33, Treckstor ibeatcenso and my car's one!

Last edited by cowoniriver; 12-02-2011 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-02-2011, 07:25 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowoniriver View Post
... so i thing that size doesn´t matter but if you follow some threads here and on other sansa forums you will see that thereś some ramdon issues with in cards ...
Size only up to 32gb, so it does matter and if you had issues with a card, did you try to first format the card with the SD Associations SDFormatter? Also FWIW the refresh db works much faster with rockbox so I loaded mine with a card reader vs the clip itself.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-02-2011, 07:38 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Size only up to 32gb, so it does matter and if you had issues with a card, did you try to first format the card with the SD Associations SDFormatter? Also FWIW the refresh db works much faster with rockbox so I loaded mine with a card reader vs the clip itself.
The card loads faster with my reader than it does inside the Zip, as well. Not hugely faster, but enough to make a difference loading that amount of music.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-02-2011, 09:10 PM
mamamia88 mamamia88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 854
Default

I just bought a 32gb class 4 for $30 on amazon today and the savings where quickly diminished when i broke my headphones by dropping my laptop while connected. i had to spend the savings on a soldering iron
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-03-2011, 04:53 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
I just bought a 32gb class 4 for $30 on amazon today and the savings where quickly diminished when i broke my headphones by dropping my laptop while connected. i had to spend the savings on a soldering iron
Ouch! I feel for you; and my personal fear (well, one of them).
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-03-2011, 05:06 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
... savings where quickly diminished when i broke my headphones by dropping my laptop while connected. i had to spend the savings on a soldering iron
Sorry to hear about the lappy & headphone trouble but the soldering iron is a good investment so it'll pay off in the long run for lots of other fixes ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-05-2011, 03:13 PM
nimicitor's Avatar
nimicitor nimicitor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: England
Posts: 71
Default

Surely the new 64GB cards will work as long as long as you don't go over the song limit?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-05-2011, 03:19 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimicitor View Post
Surely the new 64GB cards will work as long as long as you don't go over the song limit?
Those new cards are sdxc, not sdhc. Some have said you may be able to format them differently and make them work, but I'm no aware of anyone having done it with a Sansa player yet.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-05-2011, 03:47 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimicitor View Post
Surely the new 64GB cards will work as long as long as you don't go over the song limit?
The new 64GB full size cards don't work in my older cameras because they only support SD and SDHC.

Heck the SDHC cards don't work in my oldest digital camera because it accepts SD only (up to 2GB). I've talked to several people who are annoyed because they bought an SDHC card and it doesn't work in their camera.

To me (without doing a lot of research), it's a hardware thing. If the hardware is designed to take SDXC then they will work. As far as I can tell, the Clip+ and Clip Zip were NOT designed to take SDXC cards.

Some of the problems being reported here with 32GB cards are probably volume related, ie too many songs, too many tags, etc. Do you really want to make it worse?

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-05-2011, 03:53 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,362
Default

It's been shown that it should work starting with this post in the CZ review thread. That was with a full size card being used through an adapter but the idea is the same. Until someone actually does it with a actual microsdxc card it won't be 100% verified for me.

For anyone that does it would seem Rockbox would be a necessity . If not they'll almost certainly go over the file limit. Maybe they won't go over the limit if they use FLAC but the probable hit on the battery life using FLAC in the OF wouldn't make it worth while to me.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-11-2011, 04:49 PM
cowoniriver cowoniriver is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Size only up to 32gb, so it does matter and if you had issues with a card, did you try to first format the card with the SD Associations SDFormatter? Also FWIW the refresh db works much faster with rockbox so I loaded mine with a card reader vs the clip itself.
Maybe i should have send this as a private msg , if that the case just tell me and i'll delete this myself
If you read the first line of fine previous post i have quoted &agreed with marvin the martian's 32gb, as you know, there is NO
microsdhc bigger than 32gb,but just a concrete brand or sub-model can get buggy with sansa's players (according to sandisk's forums),that's the main reason that made me say size "doesnt matter" ,anyway, even somesdxc64gb test went ok
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...&postcount=307
http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php?...;topic=27212.0
(formating as fat 32)

The 8gb kingston class 4 the gave me the issue of hanging the boot of a fuzev2 rockboxed 3.9.1 ,but boot booted ok with another
8gb class4 kingston with same package but with different country factory (Different transistors?), both card where "0 problems" running scandisk and both working ok at other devices, in fact my nokia made dissasters on my 16gb kingston's F.A.T. an still could boot and work ok on the same fuzev2 and a clip+
__________________
my players:
IRIVER: ifp-190 ,ifp-880 (broken), s10,t60,clix2/ COWON: u3, cowon u5,cowon s9 32gb,
SANDISK
: fuze v2, clip+, clipzip,LG: mffm15, mffm33, Treckstor ibeatcenso and my car's one!

Last edited by cowoniriver; 12-11-2011 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:46 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Haven't a clue what you're trying to relay but all my kingston cards have worked fine in my old rb'd e260, haven't tried in the new zip but I'm sure it works ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:45 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

I wouldn't be surprised to see some places selling 64GB SDHC cards once the price comes down, even though you're supposed to label SDHC cards above 32 GB as SDXC and format them with exFAT. Theres nothing stopping someone from doing that.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-13-2011, 11:13 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 2,067
Default

Quick question then. When u drag new songs onto the clip then pull out the usb plug it automatically goes into sansas stock firmware refresh database mode. Is it safe to boot this down/turn off whilst its doing it, then once switched on again and in rockbox just do an 'update database' or whatever? Seems like im doing the same thing twice unnecessarily.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-14-2011, 04:34 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceBanner View Post
Quick question then. When u drag new songs onto the clip then pull out the usb plug it automatically goes into sansas stock firmware refresh database mode. Is it safe to boot this down/turn off whilst its doing it, then once switched on again and in rockbox just do an 'update database' or whatever? Seems like im doing the same thing twice unnecessarily.
I haven't tried it but I would say NO ... Turning a player off during a db refresh can brick a player, I can't say this is so with the Clip but I've done it on the old e200 and it did brick it (was fixable w/e200tool).
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:40 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,362
Default

I've turned off Rockboxed Clips and Fuzes hundreds of times during the database refresh with no bad effects. Can't recall doing it on a E2xx. I'm pretty sure I didn't though. I had learned the hard way not to mess with anything the OF was doing. Besides that the card sizes were so small before USB was enabled in Rockbox on the V1 the refresh was never more than a few minutes.

Doesn't seem like I'll be doing it again any time soon. USB support was enabled yesterday and is working well on my Rockboxed Sansas.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.