android
  #61  
Old 06-26-2012, 04:35 PM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zacp2 View Post
It will not be only caching for 30 days. As this article below says, it will be a download of full given areas. I don't know if navigation will work though

http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/06/g...fline-support/

or more details on google's blog:

http://google-latlong.blogspot.ca/20...rfect-map.html

If they don't work with navigation they would basically be useless unless you read them like a normal paper map without nav which I don't really think anyone would do on their android device when they could easily use navfree or something like that and get full downloaded maps along with nav.

I think they would make the maps downloadable for the sole reason of using gps without racking up bandwidth usage.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #62  
Old 06-26-2012, 04:39 PM
zacp2 zacp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
If they don't work with navigation they would basically be useless unless you read them like a normal paper map without nav which I don't really think anyone would do on their android device when they could easily use navfree or something like that and get full downloaded maps along with nav.

I think they would make the maps downloadable for the sole reason of using gps without racking up bandwidth usage.
I hope they will talk more about it at google I/O this week. Let's just wait and see.

EDIT: it begins tomowrrow and google maps is in the schedule.

Last edited by zacp2; 06-26-2012 at 04:50 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #63  
Old 06-26-2012, 11:42 PM
zeitfliesst zeitfliesst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Damn, I also kinda doubted whether they were talking about the Labs caching feature becoming official or making the maps truly offline, but I guess that post from Google's blog confirms it. I wouldn't even mind just having the maps that I can search addresses with, since then I could just get the approx location/postal code and use that to navigate using Navfree.
Reply With Quote

  #64  
Old 06-27-2012, 02:43 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,605
Default

Just got the Google Maps update on my GS2. Not really useful for me as it's a smartphone with 3G but the feature looks well integrated and very practical for devices without 3G like the Galaxy Players. Good job google
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #65  
Old 06-27-2012, 03:37 PM
zeitfliesst zeitfliesst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Google maps was updated today, and now you have an option called "make available offline" which will be able to download a certain portion of your area. This is great, but there are two things. First is that you still need wi-fi to do an address search, so it's still not able to perform as a true offline gps, and secondly, you won't be able to download large areas at once. I think the limit is somewhere around 100MB, so it only covers slightly larger than about one metropolitan area.

Last edited by zeitfliesst; 06-27-2012 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #66  
Old 06-27-2012, 06:45 PM
barryem barryem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 207
Default

I played with that on my SGP 4.2 today and I think you could save more in cache before than you can with this. I haven't actually tested that but it seems like I did.

Barry
Reply With Quote

  #67  
Old 06-27-2012, 07:33 PM
zacp2 zacp2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeitfliesst View Post
Google maps was updated today, and now you have an option called "make available offline" which will be able to download a certain portion of your area. This is great, but there are two things. First is that you still need wi-fi to do an address search, so it's still not able to perform as a true offline gps, and secondly, you won't be able to download large areas at once. I think the limit is somewhere around 100MB, so it only covers slightly larger than about one metropolitan area.
At least it is a great beginning. It will be better eventually.
Reply With Quote

  #68  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:16 PM
zeitfliesst zeitfliesst is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Hope so
Reply With Quote

  #69  
Old 07-11-2012, 12:40 AM
mikee mikee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 458
Default

The new maps app appears to be out I now have a make available offline option I have yet to try it out fully but so far it has allowed me to take the whole province of ontario offline

Edit:

So ok its basically as useless as a paper map. After some playing around I find that the same issue applies where you need a data connection to start navigation or searching for a destination
Reply With Quote

  #70  
Old 07-11-2012, 07:13 AM
Blackdog's Avatar
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Default

You get six areas/segments. Each can be up to around 65 miles x 65 miles (or smaller). (Before the update, with Labs cache you got ten areas that were about 10 miles x 10 miles.)
No navigation feature. Still need to get a route on wifi before you leave.
It's basically just the labs cache feature only they've given you fewer, but larger, map segments. And no satellite/terrain.
Reply With Quote

  #71  
Old 03-14-2013, 10:05 AM
MrVivona MrVivona is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 17
Default

I had been using Sygic on my SGP5 for over a year, but last August I noticed that with Sygic version 12X and above, the player would freeze if I touched the Home softkey while a map was displayed. I had an open support ticket with Sygic from August to the present, with Sygic promising they were working on it. But this week I received a final reply that Sygic will no longer be compatible with Galaxy Players. It will run, but you will get a hard freeze if you touch the Home key with a map displayed. In other words, they are not working on a bug fix for this. If you can stay on Sygic 11.2.6 you'll be okay but the maps cannot be updated.

I changed to CoPilot Live USA and it works fine.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.