android
  #421  
Old 06-18-2012, 10:48 AM
aknuds1 aknuds1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I didn't compile it no, I installed via RockBox utility.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #422  
Old 06-18-2012, 10:54 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aknuds1 View Post
I didn't compile it no, I installed via RockBox utility.
If you know how to do a manual install, try the one in the first post and let us know how it preforms. BTW is the click only in rockbox and not in the OF?

Edit: I'm now running his build and no issues at all. Also, here's a quick and dirty way for you to do it manual, it's really the best way:
- Boot to OF
- Verify or change connection mode to MSC
- Connect to PC in MSC mode
- Drop dfkt’s patched build onto the root of your player
- Drop a bootloader onto the root of your player
- Allow new files to overwrite the old
- Disconnect the player and allow firmware update, if it’s not automatic just turn it on and allow it time to finish.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 06-18-2012 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #423  
Old 06-20-2012, 03:50 PM
aknuds1 aknuds1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I reinstalled original firmware, playback is click-free here. Then I installed the bootloader and the patched build from the OP and rebooted into RockBox. The clicks are back
Reply With Quote

  #424  
Old 06-20-2012, 04:49 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Are you sure that you allowed the new files to overwrite the old files? Because if you didn't, then the clicks would still be there. As I stated above, I'm testing this same build now and I'm sure others are as well and no clicks are heard.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #425  
Old 06-21-2012, 11:03 AM
aknuds1 aknuds1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, I allowed complete overwriting (of .rockbox).
Reply With Quote

  #426  
Old 06-21-2012, 03:02 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aknuds1 View Post
Yes, I allowed complete overwriting (of .rockbox).
What about the patched OF?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #427  
Old 06-26-2012, 12:50 PM
Autofils Autofils is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 9
Default USB Fails with latest build 3880145

Updated my ClipZip to build 3880145 with my favorite theme setting DFKT_Minimum_Zip installed. Problem with USB connection on any attempt to connect. USB fails and ClipZip requires a 30sec reset to recover. There is no error info, but my PC locks up until usb cable is removed.

I have had similar USB connection problems with previous builds and in all cases, after 30 sec reset, I changed the theme to rockbox_failsafe and USB connection is fine.

Is there some strange interaction with the USB connection code and a good working theme? DFKT_Minimum theme works fine. If you need any additional info, let me know.
Reply With Quote

  #428  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:32 AM
Roboturner913 Roboturner913 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Can't get Picture Flow to work. All the album covers just show up as question marks.

All cover files are 200x200 and embedded through MusicBee. Everything shows up perfectly on Rockbox wps and the Sansa firmware.

I'd really love to have Picture Flow for my default startup screen. any thoughts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crodz View Post
how is the battery life with Rock Box on the zip Clip?

I am wondering because i read that the battery life is crippled by 5 hours or so.
I get about 12 hours, all files at 320 CBR.

Last edited by skip252; 07-05-2012 at 06:37 AM. Reason: posts merged, please edit consecutive posts instead of multiposting
Reply With Quote

  #429  
Old 07-05-2012, 01:46 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,587
Default

I don't think pictureflow can use embedded album art. It would take forever for it to go through each and every file to see if it had art.

Quote:
I get about 12 hours, all files at 320 CBR.
Is that from battery bench or just your guess? You should be getting quite a bit more then that with mp3.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #430  
Old 07-06-2012, 03:52 AM
Roboturner913 Roboturner913 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
I don't think pictureflow can use embedded album art. It would take forever for it to go through each and every file to see if it had art.



Is that from battery bench or just your guess? You should be getting quite a bit more then that with mp3.
Battery bench says 12 hours 9 minutes.

As for the PictureFlow, what do I need to do to get the album covers to show up then?
Reply With Quote

  #431  
Old 07-06-2012, 10:51 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roboturner913 View Post
Battery bench says 12 hours 9 minutes.
That is quite low. Can you upload your battery bench file?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roboturner913 View Post
As for the PictureFlow, what do I need to do to get the album covers to show up then?
I think it requires folder.jpg files with each album, but I'm not 100% sure.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #432  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:21 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roboturner913 View Post
Battery bench says 12 hours 9 minutes. ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
That is quite low. Can you upload your battery bench file? ...
I agree with saratoga, it seems low. I'm guessing you were using rockbox functions/features during the testing period to get so low? I mean other than just play back tunes ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #433  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:33 PM
Roboturner913 Roboturner913 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
I agree with saratoga, it seems low. I'm guessing you were using rockbox functions/features during the testing period to get so low? I mean other than just play back tunes ...
No more than normal....I mean, I use EQ and skip/scan tracks occasionally but nothing major.

Maybe I got one with a bad battery. No big deal, to me 12 hours is still plenty and nothing to complain about.
Reply With Quote

  #434  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:35 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roboturner913 View Post
Battery bench says 12 hours 9 minutes.
Yikes, that's more like the OF battery life.

I only tried testing the battery life once on my Zip with Rockbox, and I think it was a little over 15 hours with a mix of lossy high-bitrate files. But that was very early on in the life of the port, so it may well have improved by now.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #435  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:47 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,152
Default

Hadn't done a battery bench since the early days of the Clip Zip port. I got 16 hrs. 16 mins then. Just ran one right now, exact same files and it's dropped to 11 hrs. 42 mins.

The files are 100 -V2 mp3s split evenly between the internal and external memories. All settings are the defaults. I loaded the files and let them play on repeat. I checked if the test had ended by listening to the headphones. I didn't do anything to activate the screen.

I'm recharging it now to try again and make sure it wasn't a fluke.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Clip Zip r31130 battery_bench.txt (65.0 KB, 21 views)
File Type: txt Clip Zip 65f9df3-120705 battery_bench.txt (47.1 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote

  #436  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:35 AM
soundjunky soundjunky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Default

got my ClipZip today and wanted to try rockbox.
I used RockboxUtility (1.2.14)
and the (one and only) build for the clip zip on http://build.rockbox.org/
installation went fine (said utility), folder ".rockbox" is on root of clip zip,
but nothing change or happen, still original 01.01.20 fw
pls tell me what I did wrong or how to boot rockbox,
thx

Edit; Win7
Reply With Quote

  #437  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:39 AM
mamamia88 mamamia88 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundjunky View Post
got my ClipZip today and wanted to try rockbox.
I used RockboxUtility (1.2.14)
and the (one and only) build for the clip zip on http://build.rockbox.org/
installation went fine (said utility), folder ".rockbox" is on root of clip zip,
but nothing change or happen, still original 01.01.20 fw
pls tell me what I did wrong or how to boot rockbox,
thx
did you install the bootloader with rockbox utility? you can have a .rockbox folder on the device but it won't do anything without the bootloader. i'd check that out first. you will need to supply the of file which you can download from here http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=64931
Reply With Quote

  #438  
Old 07-10-2012, 09:44 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundjunky View Post
got my ClipZip today and wanted to try rockbox.
I used RockboxUtility (1.2.14)
and the (one and only) build for the clip zip on http://build.rockbox.org/
installation went fine (said utility), folder ".rockbox" is on root of clip zip,
but nothing change or happen, still original 01.01.20 fw
pls tell me what I did wrong or how to boot rockbox,
thx

Edit; Win7
You didn't install the patched firmware, I don't use the utility so I can't help you with it, but if you follow the manual directions that dfkt put in the thread it's a snap. On this same page I wrote some instructions for someone else here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #439  
Old 07-10-2012, 10:12 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,152
Default

There's been other reports of Rockbox not installing recently using the automated installer. The issue has been that users have either not picked the right player, supplied the wrong version of the original firmware or installed to the wrong drive.

The most recent report I saw on the Rockbox forum the poster picked the external card as the place to install. Once they ran the installer and picked the internal memory the installation was successful.
Reply With Quote

  #440  
Old 07-10-2012, 10:38 AM
soundjunky soundjunky is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks, works fine now.
I think the problem was the missing bootloader (since utility created .rockbox on zip-root) - or the version on rockbox.org didn´t work on fw 1.20.
Whatsoever, the only thing left I like to know is how to boot in original fw again
(already had several tries to mount via usb with rockbox)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.