android
  #1  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:16 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default PC Remote Control, I'm desperate!

Aight,

I have been looking for a decent remote control for windows pc to control foobar. Simple right?

I mean I have tried two very cheap remotes ($10ish) that have been awful mainly due to being IR rather than RF or wireless 2.4ghz (one was advertised as being 2.4ghz when in fact was not :|

The best I have found is using logitech's wireless Numpad and configuring and sticking media stickers on the numbers as functions (play/pause, skip, shuffle etc). But it's too damn big! I want summin small enough to attach to clothing when walking around the house etc.

Logitech's harmony remote range look to long and cumbersome for what i want and get VERY expensive if carrying RF rather than IR (IR is useless imho, i need it to work behind doors and walls).

There just seems to be NOTHING useful. I used to own logitechs Mediaplay wireless mouse YEARS ago which had configurable buttons, but it broke, was too heavy and could not clip to clothing anyway.

Is there NOTHING out there at the $50 price tag range that has software to allow for configurable buttons for functions!? I find this really pathetic!

I have noticed the foobar community has developed apps for andriod and iphones that allow for skipping tracks etc for foobar, that's really nice, but i dont have an iphone or andriod phone/device.

So people, please help me, I'm just dying for a simple wireless/bluetooth device that is small enough to be clipped to clothing to allow play/pause, skip etc for foobar/winamp etc. Has anyone got any ideas?

I have a smallish logitech nano vx mouse that i can configure buttons to do fucntions such as Next, Previous, vol up and down etc, but its a mouse! I might HAVE to mod it and attach a clip onto it so i can wear it lol! But even then i ran out of buttons for functions like shuffle on/off etc.

But the problem with logitech's setpoint software anyway is its so unpredictable with its configuration for its devices. I have 3 logitech mice, and they all vary in what you can and cannot assign to their fucntions :S
Besides configuring a mouse is not my ideal scenario anyway.

Am i going to be forced to buy an archos 32 or 43 and run an app on it? Seems alot of money to spend for what i want :/

Please people, any ideas?
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:39 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

summin like this http://usb.brando.com/usb-2-4ghz-wir...2c037d015.html but its out of stock forever.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-17-2011, 06:43 PM
musichound musichound is offline
Off-Topic Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Staten Island, NYC
Posts: 2,057
Default

This is not a remote control but I'm wondering if the Razer Naga will fill the bill. It's wireless, has 17 programmable buttons, and you can walk around the house with it being it's wirelesses. It's just a suggestion, and not sure if this would be a good compromise for you, so I figured I'll throw it out there just in case.
__________________
Cowon X7 160GB - iRiver H320 - IPod Classic 160GB - iPod 5.5G 80GB - Sansa Clip Plus 4GB - Original Sansa Clip 2GB
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-17-2011, 07:05 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

$110...
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-17-2011, 07:35 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

I appreciate the suggestion, this http://www.logitech.com/en-us/mice-p...ing-mouse-g700 pretty much doing same thing.

I want this http://usb.brando.com/usb-computer-r...840c35d15.html but a GOOD one lol. PS I tried this and threw it in the bin after 5mins lol.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-18-2011, 02:53 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

I've decided to buy an itouch (eventually one day when money allows). It will allow me to do two things that are important for me.

1) run this plugin http://wintense.com/plugins/foo_touchremote and control foobar playing on my pc (wirelessly) and act as a central remote control for music on my pc.
2) it will take the APT-X Bluetooth dongle that will stream hq music from the player to the Creative line of bluetooth speakers I have in my house.
3) Run's Internet Radio.

It's an expensive remote but then more value that Logitech's HArmony remote controllers :/

Anyway, now that I will own TWO Apple products (I have ipad2 as well) I'm starting to feel very dirty and need to go clean myself.

PS Anyone know the best place to buy an itouch?
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:06 PM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Not a bad decision, I use my Iphone as a remote control for VLC, Winamp, PowerDVD, MPC and a few other programs and it works great and since it connects via my WLAN I can use it all over the flat.

Pixmania seems to have the Ipod Touch for a good price:

http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/6885...ffiliatewindow
__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:13 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I would never buy an 8GB Touch. It's not that much more money to go up to the 32GB and the extra storage is well worth it. When I bought mine in January it was a jump in price from $225 to $275 (US dollars). Another hundred would have got me the 64GB but I was impatient and didn't want to wait the extra couple of weeks to save the money...lol.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:17 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

Yes i fear I would need 32-64gb minimum :S
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:25 PM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceBanner View Post
Yes i fear I would need 32-64gb minimum :S
Well in that case:

32 GB

http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/6885...ffiliatewindow

64 GB

http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/6885...ffiliatewindow

__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:28 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

Yeh thanx for that, not much cheaper than buying from apple store online. Could at least get mine engraved with HULK SMASH STUPID APPLE! or summin or other.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:31 PM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
I would never buy an 8GB Touch. It's not that much more money to go up to the 32GB and the extra storage is well worth it. When I bought mine in January it was a jump in price from $225 to $275 (US dollars). Another hundred would have got me the 64GB but I was impatient and didn't want to wait the extra couple of weeks to save the money...lol.
Neither would I, my first Apple product was the Iphone 3GS with 32 GB. Makes for an excellent remote.
__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-18-2011, 03:36 PM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceBanner View Post
Yeh thanx for that, not much cheaper than buying from apple store online. Could at least get mine engraved with HULK SMASH STUPID APPLE! or summin or other.
32 GB: 215 pounds vs 254 in the Apple store or are you seeing other prices?
__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-18-2011, 04:03 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

ah i live in oz, $350AUD for the 32gb.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-18-2011, 05:15 PM
razorblader's Avatar
razorblader razorblader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 138
Default

Ah sorry, because you asked about stores in the UK on the other thread I assumed that's where you are right now.
__________________
DAP:Cowon X5 64GB, D2+ 16+32GB, S9 32GB, Sansa Fuze, Clip+ 8GB+32GB
IEM: Audéo PFE, UE 10, Panasonic HJE-900, Hifiman RE-0, Brainwavz M3
GUITAR: EBMM Petrucci, Schecter C-1 Hellraiser, Ibanez SZ 320, Ibanez S 420, Dean Cadillac, Peavey HP Special
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-18-2011, 08:34 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

You could potentially get an older one, if you wanted to save the money, right? IIRC, going back to the 3G doesn't lose much functionality, besides a camera.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-18-2011, 11:35 PM
dgb52 dgb52 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Seal Beach
Posts: 1,016
Default

I wonder how these would work for you


http://remotedroid.net/


https://market.android.com/details?i...d.vlcremote_us

If they did you could get a cheap android player
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-19-2011, 12:06 AM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceBanner View Post
Could at least get mine engraved with HULK SMASHSTUPID APPLE!
Or ABI.
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-21-2011, 07:39 PM
Syndrome's Avatar
Syndrome Syndrome is offline
Redneck Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,278
Default

You could get one of those mini Lenovo keyboards, they've got play/pause and skip and that. and a mouse and a keyboard on them. They have a backlit and a non-backlit version. Sometimes you can find coupons which bring the backlit version down to around 40USD shipped.
__________________

Ruger M77 , Howa 1500 , Czech Republic 452-2E
Ruger .22 Single Six, Springfield Armory XD-9 , Springfield Armory XD45ACP
2007 Elite Archery Synergy

Gamo CFX, Gamo PT80
Large Rock


Need your headphones fixed or something soldered? Syndrome's Soldering Service
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-21-2011, 08:09 PM
BruceBanner's Avatar
BruceBanner BruceBanner is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 1,979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgb52 View Post
If they did you could get a cheap android player
Yes that's an option, anyone know of a cheap android player/device? Could be a phone or mp3 player?

At the moment I own a rockboxed Sansaclip+ which i am MORE than happy with for my audio needs, until the clipzip is rockboxed i won't buy that as i know what'll happen. I'll love the lcd screen of the clipzip and seeing my album art, but then it wont have the functionality of my current sansaclip+ so i'll just bung the zip in the drawer lol. I'll wait.
I've been looking at the Cowon D3 android player, could this be my remote? But it seems pretty expensive, what about Archos players?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Syndrome View Post
You could get one of those mini Lenovo keyboards, they've got play/pause and skip and that. and a mouse and a keyboard on them. They have a backlit and a non-backlit version. Sometimes you can find coupons which bring the backlit version down to around 40USD shipped.
I already have logitech's wireless numpad, bout same size as the mini lenovo keyboard, im looking for summin smaller, but thanx.
__________________
____________
SOURCE: Xclef (gone) | Cowon X5(gone) | Cowon D2 (dead) | Sansaclip+ RB | Sansa ClipZip RB | Cowon i9+ (32gb) | Cowon C2 (4gb)
HPs: Soundmagic E10's | Hippo VB's | UE 600's | Superlux HD 668B | Superlux HD660 | Sony XBA3 | Sony XBA2VP
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.