android
  #1  
Old 08-12-2011, 10:42 AM
PEACEFUL1's Avatar
PEACEFUL1 PEACEFUL1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TEHRAN
Posts: 119
Default COWON J3 Firmware Vx.26 Standard/DMB/bokan

COWON J3 V1.26: here
COWON J3 DMB V3.26: here
COWON J3 bokan V4.26: here
COWON J3 v2.26: here

Quote:
Improvement
- Improved power management system to increase battery life.
(improved 10% to 20% depending on usage)
- Changed to save the capture images as it shows even the device is rotated 180 degree in video mode.
- Changed to resume by millisecond level from second level after playback and pause.
Fixed bugs
- Fixed the error that only 40 tracks were recognized in year list in Music library.
- Fixed the error that the device got stock when the LRC lyric file name was too long.
- Fixed other bugs.
source
improvements edited by deadohiosky
__________________
life is serious enough to take it as a joke

Last edited by PEACEFUL1; 08-12-2011 at 12:04 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-12-2011, 11:26 AM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 924
Default

thx peaceful1.


cowonglobal.com has a bit more comprehensible change log :


Improvement
- Improved power management system to increase battery life.
(improved 10% to 20% depending on usage)
- Changed to save the capture images as it shows even the device is rotated 180 degree in video mode.
- Changed to resume by millisecond level from second level after playback and pause.
Fixed bugs
- Fixed the error that only 40 tracks were recognized in year list in Music library.
- Fixed the error that the device got stock when the LRC lyric file name was too long.
- Fixed other bugs.




if point 1 holds true, it's more than welcomed but not really my most pressing issue, if you know what i mean.
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-12-2011, 11:46 AM
PEACEFUL1's Avatar
PEACEFUL1 PEACEFUL1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TEHRAN
Posts: 119
Default

thanks I will use your post in my iaudiophile topic as well
__________________
life is serious enough to take it as a joke
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-14-2011, 05:42 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

I don't know about you, but the better power management is welcome, I find too often that when I leave it in sleep mode it is dead after only a day or two.
__________________
Cowon J3 + AKG K518 LE
Herp Derp
http://tinyurl.com/4n73b6a
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-14-2011, 09:28 PM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

Nice.
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:31 AM
Urne's Avatar
Urne Urne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 247
Default

Do want. I honestly didn't expect Cowon to continue updating the J3, but new firmware updates are always welcome ^^
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:32 PM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

^ Same I haven't noticed any improvements so far 10& thru 20& might go unnoticed.
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-18-2011, 02:37 PM
Isamu Isamu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Hello, first post and its already to ask questions...

Got my J3 some days ago and have just noticed these firmware updates, but... which is the right one? or it doesnt matter? are they different?

My J3 says its using the 1.23 version when I turn it on, does that mean I should use the 1.26 firm?

Thanks =)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-18-2011, 02:42 PM
PEACEFUL1's Avatar
PEACEFUL1 PEACEFUL1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TEHRAN
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isamu View Post
Hello, first post and its already to ask questions...

Got my J3 some days ago and have just noticed these firmware updates, but... which is the right one? or it doesnt matter? are they different?

My J3 says its using the 1.23 version when I turn it on, does that mean I should use the 1.26 firm?

Thanks =)
this might help:
http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=37960
you can also use COWON J3 v2.26 depends on your needs.
__________________
life is serious enough to take it as a joke
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-18-2011, 02:48 PM
Isamu Isamu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you veyr much for the fast response, very informative posts there
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-24-2011, 11:44 AM
headcoatman headcoatman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Sorry, I'm confused...there are 4 firmware updates? What are the differences between 1.26 and 2.26...and bokan and dmb?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-25-2011, 07:00 AM
burningfist burningfist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Default

as fas as i get there are 4 updates because o 4 different regions korea has 2 because of their radio fm then we have the united states and the rest-europe

anyway there is no difference i download 2.x because im european
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-25-2011, 09:44 AM
headcoatman headcoatman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burningfist View Post
as fas as i get there are 4 updates because o 4 different regions korea has 2 because of their radio fm then we have the united states and the rest-europe

anyway there is no difference i download 2.x because im european
OK, I get it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:42 AM
hoai_3456 hoai_3456 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default

It's good with mp3 but with wma file which make J3 get brick
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:49 AM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:46 AM
Urne's Avatar
Urne Urne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 247
Default

I should probably have come back to this thread to provide some feedback based on my daily use since then:

So far I've experienced zero issues with 2.26 and I would recommend switching for the sake of all the bug fixes and supposed improved power management. I'm not very often forced to rely on the J3's long battery life so I can't tell if I have felt any improvement compared to earlier firmware versions. I would still advice installing 2.26 anytime though!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:55 AM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

Yeah I'd say it does it might be my brain but the bar moves slower :P:
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 11-14-2011, 04:00 PM
MrJinks MrJinks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Default

i have tryed 2.26 for more than two months and i have to say that my battery does not last longer but it does drain faster so i dont see the improved power management here
back to 2.23
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 11-29-2011, 12:17 AM
Hyomil Hyomil is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Default

The "resume by millisecond level" didn't work for me. In mp3 podcasts it would resume later than the point it was paused, so you'd miss a few words. Went back to 2.25 and its fine again.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.