android
  #1  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:01 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default Custom EQ

So I just got my clip+ yesterday, and have been messing around with it, trying to get it to sound right. I used to have a Zune HD with skullcandy ink'd headphones. With the zune, I would set the eq to pop for what I believed to be the best sound with the most bass and clearest tones. Now, with the clip+ and my ink'd headphones, all the preset eqs sound terrible. And I don't have the experience or knowledge to have any success with the custom EQ.

Any suggestions on what to set my EQ to?

Thanks,
jbgrzy
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:06 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Clip+ EQ isn't very good, run it flat or look into rockbox and use that EQ, one of the best for portable players. I'll pass on commenting about skullcandy

Edit: also when using EQ imo it’s better to lower rather than increase parameters to the sq you like best.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:07 PM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbgrzy View Post
So I just got my clip+ yesterday, and have been messing around with it, trying to get it to sound right. I used to have a Zune HD with skullcandy ink'd headphones. With the zune, I would set the eq to pop for what I believed to be the best sound with the most bass and clearest tones. Now, with the clip+ and my ink'd headphones, all the preset eqs sound terrible. And I don't have the experience or knowledge to have any success with the custom EQ.

Any suggestions on what to set my EQ to?

Thanks,
jbgrzy
The EQ on the Clip+ is probably it's main failing for many. (The battery life can also be an issue.)

Better EQ is one reason why many folks switch to Rockbox.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:34 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

[QUOTE=WalkGood;566038]I'll pass on commenting about skullcandy QUOTE]

What's wrong with skullcandy?!

Thanks for the help though. I know I probably wouldn't want to, but is it possible to go back to the SanDisk firmware after I have switched to Rockbox?

Thanks,
jbgrzy
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:38 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbgrzy View Post
... I know I probably wouldn't want to, but is it possible to go back to the SanDisk firmware after I have switched to Rockbox?

Thanks,
jbgrzy
Yes, rockbox is set up as dual boot, so you can boot either way. Read the link under my sig and look at the manual before you progress so that you know what you're getting into and how to ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:46 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

I saw in the manual for Rockbox that installing may permanately remove the capability of playing DRMed music. Is this true for the Clip+? This is probably a deal breaker since I listen to Zune pass music on the clip.

Thanks,
jbgrzy
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:55 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbgrzy View Post
I saw in the manual for Rockbox that installing may permanately remove the capability of playing DRMed music. Is this true for the Clip+? This is probably a deal breaker since I listen to Zune pass music on the clip.

Thanks,
jbgrzy
AFAIK yes, I don't play DRMed music so I can't confirm but I've read that too.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-29-2011, 01:57 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

Well thanks for your help. I'll still consider Rockbox, but I'll let you know if I need anything else.

Thanks,
jbgrzy
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-29-2011, 02:15 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,233
Default

Make it sound good to your ears. dfkt's general instructions here also helped me quite a bit. If you increase the separate bands, especially the bass, you risk distortion.

If you decrease the opposite of what you're trying to enhance then increase the overall gain (volume) it works much better. The EQ in the Sansa firmware isn't great but I find it usable following those general guidelines.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-29-2011, 08:21 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

Well, I tried Rockbox and it wouldn't play my zune pass content, so I switched back to the original firmware.

Also, I found that for my headphones, I think the best custom EQ setting is to have them all set to the highest setting.

Thanks all,
jbgrzy
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-29-2011, 08:30 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

Do you mean set all the bands to the highest setting?
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-29-2011, 08:37 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satellite_6 View Post
Do you mean set all the bands to the highest setting?
Yep. that is what I mean. I was surprised as well when I found that is what sounded best. Maybe I will mess around with it again to see if it could be improved.

Also, maybe my problem is that I love to hear the bass in my headphones.

Thanks,
jbgrzy
__________________
Please refrain from using acronyms as I am Acronymically challenged.

www.theperfectsound.wordpress.com
On Twitter @SonofNun
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-29-2011, 09:00 PM
Satellite_6's Avatar
Satellite_6 Satellite_6 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 871
Default

Whatever floats your boat I guess. . .
__________________
satelliteaudioblog.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-03-2011, 12:20 PM
jbgrzy's Avatar
jbgrzy jbgrzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Allendale, Michigan
Posts: 84
Default

Actually, after testing around more, I discovered that the Rock setting was what got me sound that sounded closest to what I was used to on the Zune HD.
__________________
Please refrain from using acronyms as I am Acronymically challenged.

www.theperfectsound.wordpress.com
On Twitter @SonofNun
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.