android
  #1  
Old 06-14-2015, 09:53 AM
Max Dralle Max Dralle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default Q2 shows "PBA Mode Start!" after boot

Hi, all !

First off a huge "Thank You" for all that compiled knowledge.

I've started lurking these forums a few years ago already and it helped to solve almost all of my issues.

Now, I've come accross a problem, that I cannot find described when using the search box.

A few days ago, my son unfortunately sunk his Q2 in the toilet (don't ask, just giggle) and after letting it dry until today, I dared to hook it up via USB and immediately the driveletter showed up in my explorer.

All files seem to be accessible and alright.

After letting it charge for about an hour, I disconnected it from USB and rebooted.

As the thread's title suggests, it seems to be booting just fine, but then it stops and just shows "PBA Mode Start!" on the display.

I even reflashed the 1.23 firmware, but that didn't help either.

Now I'm stuck and would really appreciate any suggestions and pointer on how to tackle this issue.

Thanks a lot and best regards,
Max
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-14-2015, 11:20 AM
Max Dralle Max Dralle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Just a little addition ...

Sometimes, for a blink of an eye, I can see "PBA Connecting Wait!" written on the screen, before it turns to the above mentioned "PBA Mode Start!".

What is "PBA" ?

TIA,
Max
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-14-2015, 01:24 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,686
Default

I honestly don't know what that means...
Maybe a USB debug mode or something like that.

Searching on google shows other users facing the same issue but no real solution.

If the recovery tool (http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=64470) doesn't help, then it's probably an hardware issue.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-15-2015, 07:40 AM
Max Dralle Max Dralle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, lebellium.

I also didn't find any help on Google, that's why I registered here ...

Considering, that it seems to be booting fine until that point, I'm not sure if the recovery tool will help, but I'll try anyway.

If that doesn't cure it, I'll probably try to disassemble it and look for any loose / broken plugs / contacts.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-15-2015, 08:13 AM
Max Dralle Max Dralle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default

hmmm ... I cannot get the player into Recovery Mode

Also, I don't have WinXP on my PC anymore, looks like I'd skip testing firmware recovery and try to dismantle it instead.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-15-2015, 09:28 AM
Max Dralle Max Dralle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default

w000t !

It's back up and running again ...

I disassembled it, following your very detailed guide and found some "dirty" looking pins, that might have been "a little" shortened, if something like that exists.

I think, it might have been something like a "left over" from the water, ie. after it dried, there were still some traces, looking similar to a very thin salt crust.

Hence, I grabbed my good old and trusty contact spray, tidied everything up afterwards, let it dry in the sun for ~10 minutes and reseated all connectors and plugs.

... et voliá, tout est pour le mieux ici ....

Merci beaucoup !
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-15-2015, 12:40 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,686
Default

That's a good news, congrats
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-22-2015, 02:49 AM
Samsung Kid Samsung Kid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Default YP-Q1 hangs

Hi

I was using the Samsung YP Q1 for many years and it finally hang. I have read all the posts on how to upgrade the firmware and was successful until the step where it says the firmware is too large. The firmware I was using is the latest 1.34 and it is abouit 20MB.

Anyone can advise here ?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-27-2015, 12:45 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,686
Default

This thread is about Q2, not Q1. I don't know what steps you are talking about.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.