android
Old 05-20-2011, 09:07 PM

Default Good Beginning books for xna games

I have been looking through microsoft's msdn as well as app hub trying to learn xna. The tutorials are mostly focused on windows phone 7 and xbox and don't go into depth that much. What are some good reads for someone who is interested in learning to make games for both the Zune HD as well as windows phone 7 but has never learned any prgramming languages? I need a book that is easy to understand for someone who has never done any coding. Also, is it easier to make the game in xna 2010 then port it to 2008 or vice versa?

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 05-20-2011, 10:59 PM
Ultra Senior Member

I'm not a programmer at all, so I don't know how good this is, but zunedevwiki.org has some guides if you scroll down that homepage right there.

Old 05-21-2011, 03:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
I'm not a programmer at all, so I don't know how good this is, but zunedevwiki.org has some guides if you scroll down that homepage right there.
It looks like it's more catered towards open ZDK. I was hoping for something with beginning xna preferably a book. Thank you for the suggestion though .

Old 05-21-2011, 05:37 PM
Ultra Senior Member

Ah, yes, I probably should have clicked on the getting started link before I told you what it was.

On a different note, I was at my library earlier today and there were a few different books on XNA in the programming section of the reference books. I have no idea if they're good or not.

Old 05-22-2011, 11:30 PM

I own this book and it is fairly useful for a beginner to programming, but it doesn't get very advanced so I lost use for it quickly when I got up to speed.