android
  #1  
Old 05-17-2011, 01:48 PM
hm1992 hm1992 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default Anyone using a Zune HD in UK?

What are you experiences?
Does everything work?
Does the HD radio do anything?
Does the software work etc?
Thinking of bringing on back from usa
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-17-2011, 04:01 PM
Vans Vans is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 18
Default

Sorry, I' not from UK but from Ukraine. I think You don't know where it is, but I might be wrong . Experience seem to be the same in every country except the U.S.
Back to questions:
Quote:
What are you experiences?
Zune works pretty well. Doing what it supposed to do.
Quote:
Does everything work?
Marketplace isn't fully "working", but you can download apps if you change your computer locale to USA. I haven't bought any music or video yet because of my location. From where I am, I should get a Visa Gold or something similar to buy a redeem code, than use this code with my zune tag. I'm just to lazy to do that
Quote:
Does the HD radio do anything?
It sounds good (but only in comparison with regular FM) due to enhanced data rate (or whatever). Also it shows you full id tags of songs and theoretically gives you ability to put this song to cart, so you can buy it in marketplace. I'm saying "theoretically" 'cause of my "domestic comrades" that use this functionality as an advertisement mechanism ...got no ability to test it.
Quote:
Does the software work etc?
yeah, why not...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-17-2011, 06:18 PM
abr abr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1992 View Post
What are you experiences?
Does everything work?
Does the HD radio do anything?
Does the software work etc?
Thinking of bringing on back from usa
I am using one in the UK. It all works apart from the HD aspect of the radio - the radio works like a regular FM radio and it picks up US names for radio stations so you might find that you Zune says you are listening to NPR when actually it's Radio 2.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-17-2011, 09:48 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

I'm pretty sure in the radio settings you can change the zone to Europe or something like that that will make it not show US stations.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-17-2011, 11:33 PM
jinboy jinboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 44 3' 7 N, 123 5' 12 W
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
I'm pretty sure in the radio settings you can change the zone to Europe or something like that that will make it not show US stations.
Yeah, you can. It gives you the option of North America, Europe, or Japan.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-18-2011, 07:30 AM
monkeyninja monkeyninja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London, England
Posts: 18
Default

I've had my 32gbHD for the last 12 months and its been a joy to use. I have no difficulty with software and syncing and apps as I changed the location of my PC to US! Now that you can open a Zune account in the UK the marketplace is accessible if you want it - I only use Marketplace for podcasts and apps.

As has already been said, radio works fine as FM, but station names will not come up properly even if you set the region to Europe.

All in all, there's nothing much that spoils the experience of using a Zune in the UK.
__________________
pmp: ZuneHD 32gb / Sony Ericsson Experia Ray / Toshiba Gigabeat F40
iep: Panasonic RP-HJE900 / Sennheiser HD448

Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-20-2011, 12:02 PM
hm1992 hm1992 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Someone has told me that they are very locked down. Is this true. One of the reasons I don't just buy an ipod classic is they way they handle sharing music between computers. And I dont want to make my computer appear us based to get the full experience... Maybe I'll just get the ipod. Why doesnt anyone make an ipod classic alternative? Approximately everyone who asks for help in this forum wants one. There has to be a market for it. Agghhhh
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-20-2011, 12:22 PM
shadow03 shadow03 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Sorry I am from Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1992 View Post
What are you experiences?
It's ok... I want more apps (When I bought the ZuneHD, the seller ( I am not sure if it's the right word ) said that there are many apps...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1992 View Post
Does everything work?
Yes... Everything without the Zune Pass
Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1992 View Post
Does the HD radio do anything?
No... only normal radio
Quote:
Originally Posted by hm1992 View Post
Does the software work etc?
You have to change your location of your Computer to "US"

I wouldn't buy one... I think the best from Zune is the Zune Pass
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-20-2011, 09:54 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Yes, it's true that it's locked down. You have to use the Zune Software to sync. But at the same time, you can change your settings to manual sync, so only what you tell it to put on the player goes on. It doesn't have to be automatic. The software is very easy to use.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
england, uk, zune, zunehd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.