android
  #1  
Old 03-19-2011, 10:26 AM
deadfire55 deadfire55 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default Fixing Vmoda Vibe Duo, 4-Pole?

So a few weeks ago, my the sound from my Vmodas (these) would only work when I wiggled the plug so I decided to replace the plug.

I bought one of these 3.5mm stereo plugs to repair but when I opened up my Vmodas, there were four wires (copper, red, blue, and green). The plug I ordered only had three connections (ground, left, and right).

I tried every combination of the three wires to the gold plug but I couldn't get it to work on my iPod and my laptop.

When I got a combination hooked up right on my iPod, and I tested on my laptop, the vocals to music would be incredibly softened. And the same vice versa. I know both headphone jacks are working because I've tested them with good headphones.

So I'm still looking to repair my Vmodas. I've found these which have 4-poles that I can cut and splice to the Vmodas.

Do you know if this will work or another solutions before I spend the money?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-19-2011, 06:10 PM
The Larch's Avatar
The Larch The Larch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 284
Default

If it started with 4 poles then match it to 4. One pole must be for a mic?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-19-2011, 07:28 PM
deadfire55 deadfire55 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Larch View Post
If it started with 4 poles then match it to 4. One pole must be for a mic?
But shouldn't using the three poles work correctly?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-20-2011, 07:35 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Sure, three poles should work - the mic won't work then, but the phones should.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-20-2011, 04:34 PM
deadfire55 deadfire55 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Sure, three poles should work - the mic won't work then, but the phones should.
Odd b/c it didn't work on my iPod and Computer. Oh well, I ordered the wire, I'll let you guys know how it works out.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-28-2011, 06:54 PM
deadfire55 deadfire55 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Alright, that plug came in today.

I cut it about two inches from one of the ends, separated the four wires, used tweezers to seperate the cotton strands from the wires, cut off the cotton, held the wires an inch over a lighted to remove that colored coating (be sure to do the copper color one), did same for headphone wires, connected the same colored wires, made sure they worked, took some epoxy and covered the bare wires, made sure it worked, let it dry, put black electrical tape over the epoxy, heated a heat shrink tube over the tape. All done listening to them right now
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.