android
  #1  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:48 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default Stupid Question Time! Checkers?

When you go into 2 player in Checkers, you have "Local," "Host," and "Join."

What do the last two do? It acts as if it's trying to find something.
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-15-2011, 08:49 PM
Uberman5000 Uberman5000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Default

It can presumably play Checkers over the internet. "Host" is if you want someone else to play with you, and "Join" is if you want to play with someone else.

I assume "Local" involves passing the Zune back and forth.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:12 PM
KingAvarice KingAvarice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 79
Default

Actually, I'm pretty sure the last two require two ZuneHDs that are fairly close to each other. If you had an old Zune, you could send music over a short distance. Sort of like that. Local is two players on the same Zune. So yeah, pass it back and forth.

Couple different games have this capability.
Hearts, Spades, Chess and Checkers.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:27 PM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default

In local, you don't even have to pass it back and forth, just have someone on the other side of the Zune.

As with "Join", I figured it was for two Zunes. My new question is, how would I go about doing this. I have tried everything I can think of, including holding them side by side, back to back, and even adding each other as friends (which somehow, I managed to screw up) to no avail. Has anyone else even tried this?

I hate to do this with such a minor subject, but I may have to call Dave. If so, how does this "Join" function work?
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 09:52 PM
dooglehead dooglehead is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default

On one Zune, you need to host a game. On the other Zune, you need to join the game.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:46 PM
Moonrakerone's Avatar
Moonrakerone Moonrakerone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 197
Default

Totally wrong... Nothing to see here.
__________________
"You can live in this illusion, you can choose to believe..." -Nine Inch Nails

Last edited by Moonrakerone; 03-16-2011 at 11:53 AM. Reason: Incorrect :D
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:58 PM
unionjack37 unionjack37 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pennsylvania, United States of America(but always Saint Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom), Earth, S
Posts: 156
Default

This is wrong^ moonrakerone. You don't have to be connected to a wifi network. Follow what dooglehead said to do saxmaster
__________________
:www.twitter.com/thejesusfreak37 also check out www.zhdapps.com for the best apps and games
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:16 AM
Angus_NB's Avatar
Angus_NB Angus_NB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Default

How do the two Zunes communicate if not over WiFi?
__________________
Zune HD 16GB
Sansa e250 & e260 (Rockboxed)
iPod Nano 4G 8GB & 16GB
iPod Mini 32GB (CF Mod)
V-Moda Remix
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:52 AM
saxmaster765's Avatar
saxmaster765 saxmaster765 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooglehead View Post
On one Zune, you need to host a game. On the other Zune, you need to join the game.
You, my friend, are completely correct. This is the answer I have been looking for. Thank you.
__________________
The Saxmaster
"To give real service you must add something which cannot be bought or measured with money, and that is sincerity and integrity."
-Douglas Adams
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-16-2011, 05:55 AM
copeys's Avatar
copeys copeys is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus_NB View Post
How do the two Zunes communicate if not over WiFi?
Over their own wireless network
__________________
Gear: ZuneHD 32GB, Creative ZVM 30GB, iPod Classic 120GB, iPhone 4s 16GB, iPad (3rdGen)16GB Wifi
Don't understand the above?
Try reading this: Aussie Talk
Or this: A glossary for newbies
-Stuart, Twitter
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:10 AM
eddie.exe's Avatar
eddie.exe eddie.exe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus_NB View Post
How do the two Zunes communicate if not over WiFi?
Wifi != connected to router
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-16-2011, 10:50 AM
FallenArms3 FallenArms3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 259
Default

Some work has been done to actually analyze the nature of the Zune HD's ad-hoc networks which it creates between devices. I believe the SSID generation may have been figured out. They're secured with a key, but if I remember correctly the key is always microsoftzune or perhaps MicrosoftZune, but you get the idea. This information hasn't really been useful so far, but I think it's intriguing. You can connect to it on your laptop as a wifi network.
__________________
- Grant F
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-16-2011, 11:56 AM
Moonrakerone's Avatar
Moonrakerone Moonrakerone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FallenArms3 View Post
Some work has been done to actually analyze the nature of the Zune HD's ad-hoc networks which it creates between devices. I believe the SSID generation may have been figured out. They're secured with a key, but if I remember correctly the key is always microsoftzune or perhaps MicrosoftZune, but you get the idea. This information hasn't really been useful so far, but I think it's intriguing. You can connect to it on your laptop as a wifi network.
Huh, very interesting. I lost patience after it couldn't identify the network, but that's pretty neat.
__________________
"You can live in this illusion, you can choose to believe..." -Nine Inch Nails
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:42 PM
Angus_NB's Avatar
Angus_NB Angus_NB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by copeys View Post
Over their own wireless network
Cool, I had no idea they would adhoc connect to each other.
__________________
Zune HD 16GB
Sansa e250 & e260 (Rockboxed)
iPod Nano 4G 8GB & 16GB
iPod Mini 32GB (CF Mod)
V-Moda Remix
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
checkers, fyeahterribletags, i can haz 5 tags, saxmaster, saxmaster765, tags are fun . . .

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.