android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Microsoft Zune > Zune HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2011, 04:19 PM
Strider_Aus's Avatar
Strider_Aus Strider_Aus is offline
Windows Phone Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 498
Default Stuffed up my Zune relationship good and proper. Help Pls? Pls

So - any assistance is welcome...

Continuing my Zune saga...Last year I had a PC re-format and lost all details of my US based windows live account. My ZuneHD device was registered to this US ID so I could get Zune Pass for music.

Fast forward to Xmas - I got a WP7 handset (check out the Windows Phone forums here at abi if you haven't already!). This needed to be configured to my Aussie Live ID (contact sinking, Australian Marketplace, Business phone details-billing etc).

My Zune would then only sync as a guest, because it remembered my old US account details (even if I couldn't). I want to format the ZuneHD and start over, setting it up with my current Zune software, Aussie Live ID and Samsung Focus...

Couldn't see how to format - but selected delete all on this device, then forgot the player in the Zune software. Then (uh oh) deleted the device manager / driver ZuneHD config.

Now my Zune player isn't recognised when I connect it to the client and I can't create a new relationship. The device still remembers it's details from last year (Id name, live ID link for marketplace etc)!

A. Can you hard reset the device in any way ?
B. Can I get it connecting with Zune software again without having to re-install the PC software?

Any ideas welcome...as the ZuneHD is just a waste of space until I can resolve this...

Ta.
__________________
<blank>
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-25-2011, 04:35 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

I believe the way to format it is to hold all three buttons for fifteen seconds or so (or until it reboots). It should then tell you to connect to your computer. Plug it in, load up some firmware, and voila, you're ready to go. If it still doesn't get read by your PC, your only option may be to reinstall. What I would try first would be to see if you can update the software (by going to the settings yada yada as you normally would to run an update).

I know that I had my Zune stop being recognized before, but I can't remember exactly what I did to fix it. I think this is what worked for me.

Much luck,

EDIT: I was wrong, you hold just the home and media buttons. I don't know if holding the power button changes anything, but you don't need to press it. Sorry for the mixup.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.

Last edited by steinburger1109; 02-25-2011 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.