android
  #1  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:59 AM
goodclimate goodclimate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Can J3 firmware be locked?

Does anyone know if it is possible to lock a Cowon J3 to a certain firmware version? After a "repair" by Cowon I am no longer able to return it to my preferred version, 3.23.

After problems with the file system and very poor battery life I sent my J3 DMB (bought from Korea) to Cowon Germany who agreed to repair it. It was returned with FW 2.23 installed and when I try to reinstall the 3.23 DMB FW (pasting the three bin files directly into the root folder) nothing happens. I also tried with the earlier 3.21 FW. The J3 turns back on as normal after this instead of updating and displays 2.23, seemingly ignoring the new files.

Can it have been locked somehow, turning it into a non-DMB version?? I can;t find any discussions on this and no-one on iaudiophile can help. Cowon Germany are not answering my emails.

Whatever Cowon in Germany did, the battery life is still dreadful. About 10 hours.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-26-2011, 11:07 AM
Nerox Nerox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Hi,

Have you tried to format it ? (Use SD Formatter from panasonic)

Perhaps it'll fix the problem .

But i'm not sure at all.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-26-2011, 11:21 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I do not think it can be locked, are you sure you are connected in MSC mode to do the fw upgrade? If that's not the case, the only other way I think it's possible would be using Tcctool, google it up or there's a big thread on iaudiophile here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-27-2011, 02:47 PM
goodclimate goodclimate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for those suggestions. I did try formatting the device with the Panasonic software. This did not help. I have made sure I am in MSC mode as always but it makes no difference. I can't really understand it as I have changed firmware many times over the past few months until settling on one I like.

I will try the TCCtool I suppose as I have no doubt invalidated the Korean seller's warranty by having it repaired by Cowon Germany (who incidentally have ignored my emails asking them to explain what was done to the device when they "repaired" it).
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:47 AM
goodclimate goodclimate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default

UPDATE
This was solved by a user on iAudiophiles who suggested renaming the bin files to match the format of the 2.xx FW. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.