android
  #1  
Old 02-22-2011, 07:16 PM
Heck's Avatar
Heck Heck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Aurora, Nebraska
Posts: 22
Default New S9 owner...need advice!...

I'm dying to get my S9 up and running, but I want to make sure I don't screw anything up. Can someone give a quick checklist of what to do and what NOT to do? Would be much appreciated!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-22-2011, 08:10 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Don't plug it into a Mac.

Don't unplug it from your PC without properly ejecting it (safe to disconnect).

Now put some media on it and start enjoying it!
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-22-2011, 08:40 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Read the cowon manual, there's loads of information in the s9 forums here and have fun with it. If you have the unfortunate luck of bricking it someday after warranty is over you can now use tcctool to fix it, look here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:32 AM
Heck's Avatar
Heck Heck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Aurora, Nebraska
Posts: 22
Default

My plan is to upgrade to firmware V2.53 right away (it came withV2.52), then load music using the sync feature on Windows Media Player. I have about 1000 songs, all MP3. Hopefully all goes well!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-23-2011, 06:41 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

After you get comfortable you might want to look at some of the UCI's in the sticky thread.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:16 AM
Heck's Avatar
Heck Heck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Aurora, Nebraska
Posts: 22
Default

Success...I'm up and running.

One question, though: is there a way to have gapless play back between songs in the same album?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:20 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

S9 is gapless, check your rips.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:29 AM
Heck's Avatar
Heck Heck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Aurora, Nebraska
Posts: 22
Default

I'm kind of new to a lot of this; I haven't learned all the vernacular yet. What does "check your rips" mean? Did I not rip the music from the CDs correctly? (That would suck!)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:35 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

You can learn some some vernacular here and you can learn about software (ie like EAC and others) for ripping here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:39 AM
Heck's Avatar
Heck Heck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Aurora, Nebraska
Posts: 22
Default

Great stuff! Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.