android
  #1  
Old 02-22-2011, 01:16 AM
elkibblez elkibblez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Default Amp for Desktop w/ Headphones

Alright, so I currently have Sennheiser HD 380 Pros (54 ohm), which I mostly listen to off of my desktop. My desktop is a 4 or 5 year old HP with a 4 or 5 year old sound card. Now my questions are these:

1. Do I even need an amp?
2. I'm looking at Sennheiser 595s (50 ohm), would those need an amp?
3. If not an amp, what else should I look at to possibly improve sound quality so I get the most out of my headphones?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:25 AM
Szadzik Szadzik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 75
Default

If anything, you should first look at getting a DAC. A DAC will bypass your old sound card and give you better sound quality output. Here, you could use your headhones on their own or have an amp. An even easier solution is to get an amp/ DAC combinaion like iBasso D4/ D6 etc. You get a good package with a DAC and an amp.

The question is however - do these headphones get better with an amp? If the anwer is no, then maybe it would be better to think about a cheap but good DAC like the Headphonia USB DAC cable.
__________________
Present Rig:
HP IQ830UK, SE X1, Nikon D90; HTX-22HD + SKS-11, Sony X1060, AKG K450, Sennheiser HD555, ATH-ESW9

Used in the past: Rio Carbon, Creative Zen Vision M, Sony NWZ-A818
Just-a-Photograppher's Website
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-27-2011, 12:09 AM
sergivs sergivs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elkibblez View Post
Alright, so I currently have Sennheiser HD 380 Pros (54 ohm), which I mostly listen to off of my desktop. My desktop is a 4 or 5 year old HP with a 4 or 5 year old sound card. Now my questions are these:

1. Do I even need an amp?
2. I'm looking at Sennheiser 595s (50 ohm), would those need an amp?
3. If not an amp, what else should I look at to possibly improve sound quality so I get the most out of my headphones?

Thanks!
1. Your headphones are relatively high-impedance, so probably not. Especially if the sound card does not have a separate line out. But even if it does, the chances that the headphone output stage sucks and line out shines are kind of slim. But it's possible.
2. Same deal
3. Get a good DAC, as Szadzik wrote.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:15 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I agree with Szadzik, I would start out with a USB DAC, there are several low cost ones recommended by members here. A DAC makes a big difference on my laptop compared to onboard sound card.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.