android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon J3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:42 PM
g.711 g.711 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 124
Default Sooooo, will there be a firmware update to Android for us J3'ers

http://www.cowonglobal.com/

I hope so, my J3 hasn't had its first birthday yet.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:44 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I'm going to guess no, they'd prefer that you buy a D3 as a stablemate for your J3. That is purely cynical speculation on my part though.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:46 PM
Urne's Avatar
Urne Urne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 247
Default

Also, I am unsure how the specs of the J3 compare to the system requirements of android - Just by looking at smartphones it sounds like you need a pretty good rig right there.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:47 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No, the J3 will not get Android.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:04 PM
Angelopsaro's Avatar
Angelopsaro Angelopsaro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 57
Default

Who needs android when you have kizune and his aero UCI
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:28 PM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default

Why on earth would you want Android - unless you want half the battery life and have your J3 run like a sick dog and freeze regularly for no reason at all.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:45 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

The J3 would have had Android as it's OS from it's initial release, so it's NOT gonna get an Android FW update. It's perfect as is ***I Love U Just The Wayyyy U RRRRRRRRRR***
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:17 AM
g.711 g.711 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 124
Default

DarkSide U make me smile!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-03-2011, 09:40 PM
kyuuketsuki kyuuketsuki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 6
Default

They would never do that... I believe android should stay on phones and tablets (when the time is right at least). I love it as my phone OS but don't need it on my PMP.

If they did, I'd roll back the firmware in an instant.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 02-03-2011, 10:47 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Android is helpless without WiFi and a 800mhz to 1Ghz processor in my experience. No WiFi on the J3 so putting android on one is pretty pointless.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.