android
  #1  
Old 01-16-2011, 12:58 PM
TheFoxDemon TheFoxDemon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
Default Cowon J3 NTFS

Is there a possibility to turn the J3 into an NTFS mode instead of Fat32?
And if there is not, is that possible to extend the maximum file size the Fat32 allows? (only 4,096kb at max)
Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:00 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Why would you need a file bigger than 4,096kb?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:19 PM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 924
Default

actually a file can be as big as 4GiB under FAT32, i don't see you problem.

you don't need ntfs at all.


oh, and no it would be rather dumb to format to ntfs, as it will brick the J3. it doesn't "understand" ntfs.
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:30 PM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

^My friend had accidentally formatted to NTFS and player booted well.
No files were transferred to check.
BUT I STRONGLY OPPOSE TO GO AGAINST PRESCRIBED FORMAT.
as a media player it is obvious that big size files not required.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:43 PM
deadohiosky's Avatar
deadohiosky deadohiosky is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Berlin, Germany, EU, Earth, Milkyway
Posts: 924
Default

well, the player will reformat to fat32. so you're friend did nothing but waste time

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...29&postcount=5
__________________
Think for yourself. Question authority. - Timothy Leary

Black Cowon J3 32 GB (Black Ringke Case) - no lousy Sennheiser CX 300 anymore, Pana HJE 900 took the throne... for keeps
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:49 PM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

There is a reason for that : when you format, some protective files are not erased.
These protective files restore partition and default folders(Music,video,system,etc).
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-01-2011, 08:21 PM
briant1234's Avatar
briant1234 briant1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 155
Default

im confused. So does this mean that i cannot transfer a 5gb movie to the cowon J3? What if i used WMP or The Cowon Media Center? would it work then? so does the 4gb limitation only apply to drag and drop?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-01-2011, 11:39 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by briant1234 View Post
im confused. So does this mean that i cannot transfer a 5gb movie to the cowon J3? What if i used WMP or The Cowon Media Center? would it work then? so does the 4gb limitation only apply to drag and drop?
Why would you need a movie to be 5GB anyways? Do you have an 4-hour movie on your computer or something? I converted a DVD that runs one hour, fifty minutes, to 1,280x720, and it came out to 2.04GB. I don't know if a J3 will even play that resolution, but if it did, it would take a nearly 4 hour movie to hit 4GB. But a somewhat lower setting than 1,280x720 would save a lot of space, and probably still look very good on a J3.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-02-2011, 02:51 AM
Urne's Avatar
Urne Urne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 247
Default

My movies are at 480x272 and the biggest movie is only at 1.2GB (3 hours approx). I also don't see any need for using any larger resolution for the movie than what the J3 screen is, unless you're also buying the TV-Out cable.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-02-2011, 04:03 PM
briant1234's Avatar
briant1234 briant1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 155
Default

well i have saving private ryan in a mpg format, and it is 4.15gb. Does anybody have suggestions for software that could convert it to a smaller size?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-02-2011, 04:08 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The J3 doesn't support MPEG2 anyways (I assume it's MPEG2 since ~4GB would be about a full unconverted DVD worth of data). Well, it doesn't support MPEG1 either, so that's that.

Here's an excellent tutorial on creating quality transcodes that play on the J3: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56633
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.