android
  #1  
Old 01-14-2011, 08:41 PM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default WTF is PARAM.CFG

I cannot find this in my system folder how do I get into it to reset the european to a different setting so I can raise the volume Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-14-2011, 08:44 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,408
Default

Did you try the search term param.cfg? It leads you to the instructions on how to reset your firmware.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-15-2011, 01:50 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

There are two options to reset.
Delete param.cfg file from system folder(put your player in MSC mode)
second is formatting player,for that,sd card formatter is recommended.
Please wait for other members opinions.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-15-2011, 06:52 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

How do you put the player in MSC mode can you put step by step.Technically chanllenged on this side.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-15-2011, 07:14 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoggie View Post
How do you put the player in MSC mode can you put step by step.Technically chanllenged on this side.
Settings ->system ->USB mode->MSC/MTP
Choose MSC.
2nd option: you can download sd card formatter from here.
SD card formatter does not make icon on desktop so you need to find it from start menu/search
Warning: by using sdcard formatter all your data will be erased and player will be reset.
Your discretion to use sdcard formatter.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-15-2011, 07:21 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

I have the player in MSC mode what do I do after that
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:27 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Can you locate param.cfg file in system folder?
If yes delete it.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:30 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

no
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:33 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

which operating system you use?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:33 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

the system folder has hold mode,audio,usb mode,load defaults,clear wmdrm10,sleep mode,beep,information
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:35 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

If you are using windows.
Then in explorer right click the Cowon s9 and choose format.
though I recommend sdcard formatter.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:35 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

operating sytem? how do you mean
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:36 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

windows yes
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:37 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoggie View Post
the system folder has hold mode,audio,usb mode,load defaults,clear wmdrm10,sleep mode,beep,information
OMG.
Connect player with computer.
in explorer there is system folder(do not find in player, look in computer)
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:40 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

sorry man like I said technically challenged big time
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-15-2011, 08:40 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

look picture here in attachment:
this is how Cowon appears in Computer explorer.
In second picture you can see param.cfg just delete it.
Attached Images
File Type: png s9.PNG (45.3 KB, 13 views)
File Type: png s92.PNG (35.0 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by rohit3192; 01-15-2011 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:00 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

I have searched through the computer and it has brought up nothing I found an s9 folder with cowon s9 FTW,FT2,RS3 in it but thats all
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:07 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Eject/disconnect S9.
Reconnect, a window will appear in your computer named Cowon s9
There is option "open folder to view files".
click it
you will see similar to what pictures I have posted in my previous reply.
click system folder
you will see param.cfg file
if you still have problem take help of friend who is familiar with computer and show my replies.
........................................
Alternate method:
connect s9 with computer
go to "my computer"
see Cowon s9
click on it and compare with pictures I have posted in 2nd above post.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:13 AM
hoggie hoggie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 17
Default

I disconected and reconected but no window appeared so I need to get computer checked Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:19 AM
rohit3192 rohit3192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Left Abi because of Adub
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoggie View Post
I disconected and reconected but no window appeared so I need to get computer checked Thanks for your help.
Before you give up:
1.Connect s9 with computer
2.Click my computer
3.I have attached a picture(just as you see c drive d drive you will see Cowon s9 in your computer)
4. click on cowon s9 to see files/folders inside
5 look for system folder
6 param.cfg is inside system folder
7 Can not do?
8 find friend who knows computer
8 show him/her this post
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s93.jpg (44.2 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.