android
  #1  
Old 12-08-2010, 09:54 AM
chinook9 chinook9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default Clip+, External Amp, and HQ Music Source

I am a "retired" audiophile who no longer dabbles in high end audio gear but has taken the route of listening to my music (70-80s pop) on a portable player and a decent set of headphones.

I just discovered the Sansa Clip+ and am really impressed with it. I rip my CDs to FLAC using EAC at the default settings and presently listen to them on my clip+ and an old set of Sony MDR-V6 or Bose QC2 although I will probably get a set of Grado 80i in the near future.

A couple of questions:

1. Would my sound be significantly improved with an external amp such as the JDS Labs Bass Boost cMoy v2.02?? (Good size and only $65)

2. Is there anywhere that I can buy music that will compare in quality to my own ripped FLAC files?

3. Would the rockbox software improve the sound at all or is it just extra features? (I listen to my music as it was recorded and NEVER use equalizers.)

Any recommendations would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-08-2010, 10:01 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,585
Default

1) No.
2) Not sure.
3) Rockbox would roughly double your battery life and change the user interface, but won't change the audio quality if you don't want EQ, etc.

Quote:
I listen to my music as it was recorded and NEVER use equalizers.
FWIW EQ is somewhat useful for correcting the frequency response of your headphones. Even if you're listening to unmodified flac, you're not actually getting music 'as it was recorded' unless your headphones have a perfectly flat response, which none do. IMO correcting for the frequency response of some headphones can have a nice effect.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-08-2010, 10:25 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I agree with all of saratoga's answers and I would go on to say that I doubt you can find purchased music as good as you can rip yourself with EAC. Also if you want to read "what a portable amp can accomplish," click here.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,429
Default

Give it 7-10 years ...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-09-2010, 11:10 PM
chinook9 chinook9 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the input.

I read all the threads on the amps and have decided to put that on hold for a while.

I listened to the Grado's today which I can buy locally but opted, at least temporarily, for a set of Shure SRH840s. If I'm not happy with them, I'll sell them on eBay and maybe go with the Grado 125's. The sound of the Grado's was great (125s) but I wasn't crazy about the build or the cable and having to use a converter from 1/4 to 1/8 inch jack.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-10-2010, 04:12 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinook9 View Post
... but I wasn't crazy about the build or the cable and having to use a converter from 1/4 to 1/8 inch jack.
I agree, not crazy about their build quality either and I won't even broach their sq. That said, shorting a cable and changing out a plug from 1/4 to 1/8 is no big deal. If you can't do it yourself, look for a local music equipment store that works on gear, but it's worth the try for yourself first.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:39 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,984
Default

The Clip+ doesn't put out enough power to get the V6 to be at lts best. I like the V6, however I don't like how the V6 works with the Clip+. I guess an amp would help solve this.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:55 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

The MDR-V6 is only 63 ohms impedance, can't see why the Clip wouldn't drive them, sure a portable amp would improve the power but is it worth the extra spend.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:59 AM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

My clip+ drove the V6 to uncomfortable levels of volume, you need to turn it up more than the M50 but they in no way lack volume.
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:13 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
The Clip+ doesn't put out enough power to get the V6 to be at lts best. I like the V6, however I don't like how the V6 works with the Clip+. I guess an amp would help solve this.
You really need to stop posting this silliness. It almost discouraged me from buying some nice headphones until saratoga called you in this thread on this audiophile nonsense. That seemed to have stopped you for a while but here you are doing it again.

I ordered both the Sony V6 and the Senn HD280 after reading that thread. It takes another couple of bumps in volume but every DAP I have including the Clip+, Clip and Fuze can drive them 'way past any comfortable listening level. Someone may not get these 'phones for other reasons but the thought that the Clip+ may not drive them sufficiently shouldn't be among them.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-10-2010, 11:59 AM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,984
Default

The V6 seems to play loud enough with the volume on the Clip+ or Fuze at maximum, however the sound sounds very constrained. The V6 has much more open sound and sounds much more dynamic when connected to a good higher power headphone jack.
I guess some might say the V6 sounds a bit muddy or murky when used with the Clip+ or Fuze. The impedance number for a headphone doesn't tell the whole story. The impedance for a headphone can vary quite a bit. I think the stated measure is for 1,000 hz. Some websites such as Headroom mention that the V6 is not at its best with a low powered portable and can benefit greatly by using a headphone amp.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:03 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

And I thought that not recommending headphone amps was in Headroom's best interest
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:07 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,147
Default

Once again you post this audiophile crap. You might say it sounds "muddy" or "murky", those of us with fully functional ears say it sounds fine. That Headroom will says that it needs an amp is no surprise. They're in the business of selling amps.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:09 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

Your hearing must be impaired JK98 because at max volume i can't stand the V6 for more than a few seconds, it's too loud.
__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:59 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

I wonder if some of this issue JK98 has with the V6's stems from his refusal to try Rockbox, even though it would give him his variable speed playback with pitch correction that he pines for so often.

I don't have them, so I haven't been able to try them for myself, but my Sansas will play my 60-ohm, low sensitivity KSC75's pretty damned loud.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-10-2010, 01:40 PM
Enigmatic Enigmatic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
The V6 seems to play loud enough with the volume on the Clip+ or Fuze at maximum, however the sound sounds very constrained. The V6 has much more open sound and sounds much more dynamic when connected to a good higher power headphone jack.
I guess some might say the V6 sounds a bit muddy or murky when used with the Clip+ or Fuze. The impedance number for a headphone doesn't tell the whole story. The impedance for a headphone can vary quite a bit. I think the stated measure is for 1,000 hz. Some websites such as Headroom mention that the V6 is not at its best with a low powered portable and can benefit greatly by using a headphone amp.
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...2&postcount=19.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:00 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
The Clip+ doesn't put out enough power to get the V6 to be at lts best.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK98 View Post
The V6 seems to play loud enough with the volume on the Clip+ or Fuze at maximum
I'm not sure how you haven't figured this out yet given that Enigmatic seems to have quite patiently explained it to you on several occasions, but power == loudness. If something is loud enough, then there is enough power. If there is not enough power, then it will not be loud enough.

What you are trying to argue here makes about as much sense as saying that a lamp isn't bright enough because it makes too much light.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:22 PM
Adub's Avatar
Adub Adub is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: T DOT
Posts: 1,604
Default

Now that is one hilarious analogy, well played sir and collect your prize .

__________________
last.fm#abi ircrockboxnoobglossaryhiphopthreadhorrormoviethread
XBLive Tag: wuaffiliate
Battle.net Tag: wuaffiliate#1677
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:40 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
*snip*

What you are trying to argue here makes about as much sense as saying that a lamp isn't bright enough because it makes too much light.
That is an epic analogy!
Attached Images
File Type: gif 62673459.gif (37.5 KB, 68 views)
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 12-10-2010, 03:23 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,984
Default

On the Headroom website, in the reviews for many headphones they mention that an amp is not necessary for use with a portable player. That is not the case for the V6 though.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.