android
  #681  
Old 03-29-2012, 02:31 PM
Appick's Avatar
Appick Appick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: France
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorenz092 View Post
Just to be more precise, are you using RockBox? Thanks
I'm using Rockbox with the 32GB card. No notable slowing down of the device. Perfectly integrated into the database. I bought one that cost about 30 including p&p, so not that pricey but not the quickest on the market (I think it's a class 6). I don't know if it has an incidence on the battery life having more memory like that. Well worth buying.
__________________
Appick
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #682  
Old 03-30-2012, 01:55 PM
rock_c250 rock_c250 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

I got the following error when I tried to compile rockbox for yp-r0 in 64 bit ubuntu with the 64 bit compiler(mentioned in this thread) installed any Ideas where to get that file

Code:
alsa/asoundlib.h: No such file or directory
Reply With Quote

  #683  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:25 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rock_c250 View Post
I got the following error when I tried to compile rockbox for yp-r0 in 64 bit ubuntu with the 64 bit compiler(mentioned in this thread) installed any Ideas where to get that file

Code:
alsa/asoundlib.h: No such file or directory
Please don't use that more. Instead, download the entire rockbox source and before creating the build folder and configuring it, please build the new toolchain made by kugel. With that you will be able to compile everything without ANY external file / dependency

More info here: http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/CrossCompiler

Ah forgot to say, be patient. My computer took something like 50 mins if I remember correctly (core duo...) of course once built, the toolchain is everytime ready to use!
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #684  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:41 PM
rock_c250 rock_c250 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks, I will try that.

If that is the case, Can I use the VM (Ubuntu-11.04) that is downloaded from rockbox
Reply With Quote

  #685  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:58 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rock_c250 View Post
Thanks, I will try that.

If that is the case, Can I use the VM (Ubuntu-11.04) that is downloaded from rockbox
Uhm I don't really know, but I don't know why it shouldn't, but also I don't see this to be necessary. Building the new toolchain makes some dirty just before ending the final linking, but then it doesn't steal too much memory on hdd
Moreover in the VM it is certainly slower, this just a matter of time
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #686  
Old 03-30-2012, 03:06 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rock_c250 View Post
Thanks, I will try that.

If that is the case, Can I use the VM (Ubuntu-11.04) that is downloaded from rockbox
Yes you can, although it does not include the compiler for the R0, so you will need to check out the source and run the rockboxdev.sh script mentioned in Lorenz092's post above. That will build the compiler.

Quote:
Moreover in the VM it is certainly slower, this just a matter of time
FWIW on modern machines with hardware virtualization support, VB is extremely fast.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #687  
Old 03-30-2012, 04:00 PM
rock_c250 rock_c250 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks a lot.

I am trying to compile on my linux machine (not VM). I thought VM may have the compiler.

After solving couple of problems with proxy settings, the script downloaded

alsalib, crosstools and ct-ng-config

Then it quit with the following error

Code:
.config.2: line 1: !DOCTYPE No such file or directory
Reply With Quote

  #688  
Old 03-31-2012, 06:08 AM
rock_c250 rock_c250 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

I could build the toolchain on my laptop(VM) with direct internet.

Now I am able to build rockbox for r0.
Reply With Quote

  #689  
Old 04-01-2012, 12:27 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

I have just download the newest build rockbox for our player, but there is no radio. To get it working should I use si4709.ko from this thread? Why isn't it include to build from rockbox website?
Reply With Quote

  #690  
Old 04-01-2012, 12:47 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

To get the FM radio, please see here: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...&postcount=647

That won't work with the current build from the rockbox website. This is not included yet because the patch has not been reviewed and committed by kugel yet.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #691  
Old 04-01-2012, 01:08 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Great, radio is working perfectly, only your newest theme samsung-like 1.5 is displayed bad within radio screen.
Reply With Quote

  #692  
Old 04-01-2012, 02:50 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

hum what do you mean by "displayed bad"? Can you take a pic?
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #693  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:10 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

http://i.imgur.com/UmKg9.jpg

I'm comparing this one with one from thread with your theme where radio screen is completely different.

And one more strange thing is a lag, something like strange beep sound and about 4 seconds silence when I choose something from library to play. I'm aware of that is an old version. In the newest I havent noticed this bug

Finally 100% battery is shown like 96% in the newest as well. I think is a familiar bug, on rockbox.org is something about this.
Reply With Quote

  #694  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:24 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

Hum ok the FM screen failed to load. Usually it does that for the While Playing Screen but not for FM.

Delete your .rockbox folder and install this one instead (this is a newer version with FM radio)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38710278/rockbox.zip
(don't touch to your current rockbox_loader.sh and si4709.ko files, you still need them)

Then install and try my theme again (with the final v1.50 version, not beta 1, 2 or 3)
If that occurs again, please turn off the R0 and turn it on again.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #695  
Old 04-01-2012, 03:47 PM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

After following your steps radio screen is themed properly, thank you. However sound lag is still there, do you have the same on this version?
Reply With Quote

  #696  
Old 04-01-2012, 04:24 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

Not sure if I have exactly the same sound issues as you but indeed when I select a song from the database I get a quick annoying noise almost every time.
I tried an experimental version from lorenzo without RFS layer and that fixes the sound issues but causes other issues. Lorenzo is quite busy atm but when he gets more free time we will work further on that to get rid of sound glitches
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 04-01-2012 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #697  
Old 04-03-2012, 02:22 AM
Su4nost_ Su4nost_ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Russia
Posts: 1
Default

First of all I would like to thank Lorenz092 for his work.

Now the problem. I have some files and folders with national (non english) characters in it's names. If i put such file on internal storage (/mnt/media0/Music), Rockbox file browser shows name of that file correctly. But the same file stored on MicroSD (/mnt/mmc) displays in Rockbox file browser with '?' characters instead of national characters.
The files are played from both storages. Is there a way to correctly display the file names?
P.S.: my host machine runs under Windows.
Reply With Quote

  #698  
Old 04-03-2012, 04:16 AM
Jon_B Jon_B is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
Default

I also get a "?" in the file name instead of an apostrophe.

I always get a very long lag before a track starts playing.
Reply With Quote

  #699  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:37 AM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_B View Post
I also get a "?" in the file name instead of an apostrophe.

I always get a very long lag before a track starts playing.
Thanks you all for the testing
ATM I don't have much time but indeed:

characters problems are due to incorrect mount option I guess. So I need to check that. probably someone "skilled" (just be aware of linux mount command) could do some tests for me

About the lag. I read somewhere that the RFS layer causes some lags also on Samsung's android devices. So it *may* be the real cause. Thus I still need to do some benchmarkings to see some eventual side effects (well, I'm running my modded firmware without RFS since weeks and in the normmal usage the battery life is somewhat longer for me!)
In fact, for us is completely useless. But for some awkward reason without it the original application doesn't show files correctly (Samsung always need to reinvent the wheel every time...). So after seeing if that's worth, we need to think a way to load the module with OF only, leaving rockbox as much free as possible, simply FAT32!
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #700  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:56 AM
Martus0 Martus0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Loren092 thanks for your work and clarification, I belive this RFS layer is responsible for silence before playback as well. I have set starting playback at player startup, but after boot I can see WPS but I have to wait about 2 seconds to hear sound. Morover is there any way to show up catalog .rockbox under rockbox firmware?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.