android
Old 09-17-2010, 02:54 PM

Default Musician looking for IEM

Hey guys,

Im a student and a working musician working in the NY area. My concern is that I use my headphones to both practice with and to hear the mix on recording dates. The big concern is because I play an acoustic instrument(trombone), I need as little noise blockage/reduction as possible so I can still hear a unaltered version of my own horn while I'm hearing the mix at the same time. That being said, I know most other headphones are better for this but the problem is that physical layout of the trombone makes it imposable for me to use anything else but IEM/earbuds while I play. So my question is, what would be the best quality solution for me that might still cost under $100. Looking around, I found http://www.amazon.com/V-MODA-Vibe-Ea...4752588&sr=8-1

They look nice and I read the review on it on this sight. Would these be the best option for me? also reading the reviews on the amazon sight, it seems these headphones might be fake, does that look true? Anyways, thanks for your help!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 09-17-2010, 09:37 PM
Ultra Senior Member

Some history on the V-Moda Vibes (from my memory, subject to correction)...when they first came out they were the "Headphones of the Month" at Head-Fi (and maybe here at ABi). Apparently they sounded great, and I wanted a pair but didn't feel right spending over $100 on earphones. Then there started to be problems reported with durability. The original Vibes had straight plugs, like the ones pictured on the amazon page that you linked. V-Moda changed to an angled plug and I THINK (but am not certain) that some of the problems disappeared. Regardless they drifted off my radar.