android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon J3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2010, 10:26 AM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default Have you used more than 16GB of internal space on your 32GB J3? *Possible Problem!*

Please post a simply yes or no and if you have an extra minute how much space you've used if it is more than 16GB. The answers could help solve a problem I've seen on 4/4 J3 32GB devices while many of us still have warranties and are able to hold a vendor or COWON/JetAudio accountable or return the device and ask that the 32GB chip be inspected and if found faulty replaced.

*This problem is not known to affect the COWON J3 16GB model only the 32GB models.

I'll start -

Have you used more than 16GB's of *internal* space on your 32GB COWON J3?
I tried on 4 different devices and each device worked fine under 16GB's of music files. As soon as I put more than 16GB's of music on the player it bricked or became inoperable with a loading bar that refuses to resolve.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-11-2010, 10:35 AM
DSperber DSperber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 697
Default

I had my 32GB+32GB J3 almost fully loaded on both internal and external storage. No problems.

The only issue was that with the external card inserted, the "checking albums" step at boot time had to always read that external card completely, which took maybe 30-45 seconds (even if nothing on the external card had changed from the last boot). In contrast, the internal storage was only scanned if some change had occurred since the last time it was scanned. So if the external card was not inserted boot time was just a few seconds even with internal 32GB storage almost fully loaded.

My solution: put the J3 to "sleep" mostly, reserving genuine "power off" only when long idle periods are anticipated. Coming out of "sleep" does not go through the cold boot process and is very fast.

Never bricked. Never hung.

NOTE: I have about 1000 album folders, organized under \Music\Artist\Album. I use cover.jpg approach for album art, with NO imbedded album art inside of ID3 tags. I have about 6500 MP3 files, with everything divided across internal and external storage.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-11-2010, 10:50 AM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
I had my 32GB+32GB J3 almost fully loaded on both internal and external storage. No problems.

The only issue was that with the external card inserted, the "checking albums" step at boot time had to always read that external card completely, which took maybe 30-45 seconds (even if nothing on the external card had changed from the last boot). In contrast, the internal storage was only scanned if some change had occurred since the last time it was scanned. So if the external card was not inserted boot time was just a few seconds even with internal 32GB storage almost fully loaded.

My solution: put the J3 to "sleep" mostly, reserving genuine "power off" only when long idle periods are anticipated. Coming out of "sleep" does not go through the cold boot process and is very fast.

Never bricked. Never hung.

NOTE: I have about 1000 album folders, organized under \Music\Artist\Album. I use cover.jpg approach for album art, with NO imbedded album art inside of ID3 tags. I have about 6500 MP3 files, with everything divided across internal and external storage.
Thanks for the quick response and insight. This is truly odd indeed, I have no problem filling the 16GB J3's internal memory and with the same files I later try to use on the 32GB but when I have somewhere between 16GB and 22GB of music transferred over to the J3's 32GB internal memory it hangs. This has happened to me 4 times now.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-11-2010, 11:09 AM
KromaXamorK's Avatar
KromaXamorK KromaXamorK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 72
Default

Same as DSperber 32Go+32Go full loaded, I only have 15Mo free for FW upgrade and 0 problem.

Last edited by KromaXamorK; 09-11-2010 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-11-2010, 12:36 PM
slacker slacker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Default

32GB internal full. No problems.
Copied all my music straight from S9 to J3
__________________
S9 32GB + CX400 || Creative ZV:M
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-11-2010, 01:16 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,043
Default

I have 32gb J3+16gb microSD card full, w/no issues. I'll only recommend, as I did in your other thread, that you make sure you have no playlists on the microSD card. That makes the J3 bug out, and I almost bricked mine. It's issue-less now,...I love it. 32gb microSD card on the way as I type.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-11-2010, 05:36 PM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I have 32gb J3+16gb microSD card full, w/no issues. I'll only recommend, as I did in your other thread, that you make sure you have no playlists on the microSD card. That makes the J3 bug out, and I almost bricked mine. It's issue-less now,...I love it. 32gb microSD card on the way as I type.
Thanks for the suggestion but once this happens there is no way to ever get into the player again. It just keeps getting stuck on the loading screen. Reset doesn't work, holding play/pause doesn't work and none of my computers recognize it as a drive.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-11-2010, 06:58 PM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
I have 32gb J3+16gb microSD card full, w/no issues. I'll only recommend, as I did in your other thread, that you make sure you have no playlists on the microSD card. That makes the J3 bug out, and I almost bricked mine. It's issue-less now,...I love it. 32gb microSD card on the way as I type.
I also wanted to point out that there is no microSDHC card in the player at the moment. This problem happens to me with the internal storage and whether the card is in or out does not render the device accessible.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-11-2010, 07:42 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,043
Default

What OS are you using, as I've yet to hear this happen w/a variant of Windows. MAC OS yes,.......
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-11-2010, 08:46 PM
happyguy happyguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default

I've also filled my J3's 32GB internal memory and not had a problem. To transfer files I've always used copy and paste rather than drag and drop, which was claimed to make a difference in whether S9's bricked or not.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-11-2010, 10:38 PM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
What OS are you using, as I've yet to hear this happen w/a variant of Windows. MAC OS yes,.......
Windows 7. I stopped trying to use the device under a OS X environment after the 2nd J3 bricked.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-11-2010, 11:13 PM
DSperber DSperber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Future Tomorrow View Post
Windows 7.
With all due respect, just to be sure...

When connecting the J3 via MSC mode and then working on it, you ARE using the "safely remove hardware" function before disconnecting your J3, right?

You're not simply pulling the USB cable out, right?
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-11-2010, 11:22 PM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
With all due respect, just to be sure...

When connecting the J3 via MSC mode and then working on it, you ARE using the "safely remove hardware" function before disconnecting your J3, right?

You're not simply pulling the USB cable out, right?
"Safely remove hardware" or "Eject" is always used and was used in each instance the device has bricked. It seems the S9 has had several problems some possibly attributed to large file transfers?

http://cowonamerica.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23964

Every time this has happened, the last thing I did was transfer large amounts of files. Somewhere in between 2GB to 12GB. After this all 3 players have never passed the loading screen.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-12-2010, 01:36 AM
DSperber DSperber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Future Tomorrow View Post
"Safely remove hardware" or "Eject" is always used and was used in each instance the device has bricked. It seems the S9 has had several problems some possibly attributed to large file transfers
S9? You mean J3, right?

Also, what tools (i.e. programs/techniques) do you use to facilitate these large file transfers to the J3?


Anyway, at this moment I'm loading up both internal and external drives of my newly replaced J3. Put about 7GB of videos on internal drive yesterday, just copied 20GB of MP3 files to internal drive earlier, and am right now now in the middle of copying another 22GB to external drive.

Haven't "safely removed" and disconnected yet, since the 42GB 2-part music copy process started a few hours ago. Got another 2 hours or so to go in the current copy to the external card (currently inserted in the J3, so I'm writing to it that way rather than through my external IOGEAR reader which is faster than the J3), before that happens and I boot for the first time after these two large file transfers. Internal storage is about 27GB full, and external storage will be 22GB full.


Note that my method for loading files from my hard drive to J3 is by using a non-free program named Beyond Compare, which is a very handy multi-pane utility for comparing files (all kinds of text and binary format compares) and comparing folder contents (e.g. syncing left side to right side and vice versa, showing all differences or identities in files within folders on both sides, etc.).

So when I say I'm doing a "22GB copy" that really means Beyond Compare is comparing my J3's \Music folder against my PC's D:\MP3 folder and "syncing" what I told it to "sync". In this case it's about 3700 files in about 600 folders (organized under \MP3\Artist\Album). I simply copied artists A-M onto the internal storage of the J3, and artists N-Z onto the external storage of the J3.

Outside of Beyond Compare for file management, the only other tool I'll commonly use to maintain files on the J3 is a program named FreeCommander which, as its name implies, is FREE. This is a wonderful, wonderful multi-pane (and thus, multi-folder) general purpose file manager utility that is far more powerful and convenient to use than Windows Explorer for anything you can think of.

I do not use Windows Explorer to maintain the J3 (except when I was experimenting with MTP mode, since only Windows Explorer seems to understand MTP and create PLA playlists), nor do I use Media Monkey.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:48 AM
DSperber DSperber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Anyway, at this moment I'm loading up both internal and external drives of my newly replaced J3. Put about 7GB of videos on internal drive yesterday, just copied 20GB of MP3 files to internal drive earlier, and am right now now in the middle of copying another 22GB to external drive.

Haven't "safely removed" and disconnected yet, since the 42GB 2-part music copy process started a few hours ago. Got another 2 hours or so to go in the current copy to the external card (currently inserted in the J3, so I'm writing to it that way rather than through my external IOGEAR reader which is faster than the J3), before that happens and I boot for the first time after these two large file transfers. Internal storage is about 27GB full, and external storage will be 22GB full.
Everything worked perfectly.

Once internal storage was examined (it will take almost no time next boot, as I will have changed nothing since this scan) "checking external memory" started, and that took about 1 minute.

When that finished, "checking albums" started, and that took about 1.5 minutes.

Works perfectly.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-12-2010, 06:40 AM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
S9? You mean J3, right?
No I actually meant S9. From what I can tell and what's been said countless times in reviews, on this forum and elsewhere the J3 is the S9 with a new body. Hence it is inherent that if COWON didn't fix whatever was plaguing the 32GB S9's, or if it was a bad batch of chips, the problems will be present in the J3.

It's already been noted that the Wolfson chip found in the J3 is the same chip found in the S9 and V5.

http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=36770

The glass is the same and we could go on and on. Cowon didn't just throw out the left over S9 parts...it's my guess they're using them in the J3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Also, what tools (i.e. programs/techniques) do you use to facilitate these large file transfers to the J3?
Like every phone, thumb drive, media player, hard drive, D2, A2, A3 and any other device/gadget I've owned simple drag and drop. The J3 will be the first device I have ever owned since I've been old enough to be aware of "ownership" that needs a special "technique" to get files onto it.

I also disagree with the notion that a "special process" is needed to simply transfer files over from one device to another. Is this is the way the J3 and S9 work and Cowon plans to ensure it's newer products work like this they are missing some serious serious points about user experience. Granted COWON clearly says in the owners manual "supports simple file transfer". I didn't realize it could get simpler than dragging and dropping.

I've owned past COWON products and my D2 is still 100% and holds a wicked charge given it's lifespan. There is no "pixie dust" or free programs involved. I simply drag and drop.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-12-2010, 06:47 AM
Future Tomorrow's Avatar
Future Tomorrow Future Tomorrow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 139
Default

@DSperber - I do want to say thank you for all your time and thoughts on the problem. I've been hoping something you're saying or going to say is the answer to realizing what's causing the problem.

Between JetAudio, Amazon, ABI and iAudiophile I'm fairly convinced now the problem is unique to my environment and other users are not able to create the problem nor is there any threat to their 32GB internal capacity.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-10-2011, 01:11 AM
keiiferrer keiiferrer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

As i posted on another thread, i had the exact same problem under windows 7, loaded some music and bricked my j3 (less than one week old, bought it on exportprive).

I transfer 14gb (or something like that) at once, and then i copied two albums, one on flac and another on mp3... the only "weird" thing i can think of is that 2 tracks on the mp3 album had REALLY long filenames made up of mostly japanese characters. Tcctools didn't fix it and it doesn't show up as a storage device on windows.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:25 AM
selectortone's Avatar
selectortone selectortone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Coast, UK
Posts: 136
Default

No problems here.

I have a J3 32GB with a 16GB card. I use simple drag-and-drop MSC mode with Windows Explorer on two laptops, one XP and one Windows7 32-bit.

When I first got the player I copied all my music across from the internal memory and SDcard of my D2+; about 20GB onto the J3s internal memory in one big hit, and then another 10GB onto the card, all via the Windows7 laptop. Since then I've been adding an album or two at a time and I've done some deleting and moving of files and folders too. Mp3s only, I just use it as a music player.

Both internal memory and card are pretty much maxed out now. About 5000 files, mostly 320mbps plus some lower bitrates. Album art all embedded - all music folders contain nothing but mp3s.

I try to remember to use 'safely remove' but on occasions I've forgotten and have just pulled the plug.

So far (about 3 months) so good - I haven't used the reset button once. I use the player every day and update it at least twice a week.

edit: @keiiferrer -- it may well be those long filenames. Cowon players - or at least the D2+ anyway, in my experience - are a lot fussier about mp3 tags, and files in general, than other players. I always examine any files I load onto Cowon players with mp3tag and remove any long strings from their tags. Sometimes you can find a long string of characters in the comments field of mp3 tags for example, especially from some bootleg sites that specialise in live performance recordings from the 60s and 70s. My D2+ would regularly freeze with these files until I started cleaning them up. Never had a problem with the same files on my Sansa Clip+.

Last edited by selectortone; 01-10-2011 at 05:56 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-11-2011, 12:35 AM
keiiferrer keiiferrer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by selectortone View Post
No problems here.

edit: @keiiferrer -- it may well be those long filenames. Cowon players - or at least the D2+ anyway, in my experience - are a lot fussier about mp3 tags, and files in general, than other players. I always examine any files I load onto Cowon players with mp3tag and remove any long strings from their tags. Sometimes you can find a long string of characters in the comments field of mp3 tags for example, especially from some bootleg sites that specialise in live performance recordings from the 60s and 70s. My D2+ would regularly freeze with these files until I started cleaning them up. Never had a problem with the same files on my Sansa Clip+.
yeah most likely that's it, i mailed exportprive and explained the whole problem, the behavior of the unit, and they said they have a way to fix it and will send me the steps later... so unless they know something new about unbricking j3s (apparently nobody has fixed one with the stuck loading bar, even with tcctool), mine is going back
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.