android
  #21  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:18 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Nothing found for IRC when I click on it. Error 404 >_< Btw, the Sequence is Hold,Center,Plug in or is it Plug in Hold center?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:23 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

just noticed the link is broken, didn't know, I'll look into it. The sequence is from the off position engage the hold/lock, hold center button and connect to pc, keep the center button pressed down until it's recognized by your pc.

Edit: the link was broken when we updated the front page, try to google irc and read up on it. Once you decide on a client, then you would need to connect to freenode and our channel is #anythingbutipod. BTW the FAQ on that link is very good info.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 09-01-2010 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:27 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Held down the Center button for 2 mins, And could you please send me a link to IRC when you can.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:38 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I'm guessing it didn't work for you, try a few times to see if it works, I just tried it with mine on a fast pc that I know does not have any issues with msc devices and it connected faster then when it was in trouble. It light up the screen right away and booted to the OF in the writing mode. Did you try the other way we mentioned too?

Edit: the irc info on the front page has been removed or not moved over to wordpress yet so I'm going to remove my link under signature :/
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 09-01-2010 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 09-01-2010, 06:14 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Well, I just tried it 3 times and nothing. I just really want to save my Music. I have 432 songs on there that would be very difficult to get again if I had to. Well, I tried the Hard Reset again, Turned it on,
1. Regular Sandisk Screen for about 10 sec then pressed some buttons
2. Sandisk Upside down and Mirrored for 5 sec then flashing
3. Sandisk logo Disappears all together and Left with the Blue Ring.
This Clip is giving me Nightmares.

Last edited by Didu50; 09-01-2010 at 06:31 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:04 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I've never heard of the "blue ring of death" on the clip, only on the e200 series. I tried to google it and the only references are to the e200 series, I'm stumped as the method I described to you has saved my v1 3 times from where I thought it was dead. Sure I did have to re-firmware and lost files on it, but mine were backed up. So even if you can save it, I'm not sure your will be able to salvage the files on it :/

Edit: did you try to reset it from the state it's in, at least that should turn it off.

Edit II: I asked in #rockbox to see if anyone had ever seen that, no responses yet :/
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 09-01-2010 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:37 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Damn. I won't mind losing my Music Library, but it will be a hassle to find all the songs again. What do you mean by resetting from the state it's in? I mean I can Turn it off. I'm beginning to doubt the survival rate of My Poor Red Clip.
Holding down the Home Button while it is on causes steps 2 and 3. I just held it down and now it Happenned. Odd huh?
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:20 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didu50 View Post
... Holding down the Home Button while it is on causes steps 2 and 3. I just held it down and now it Happenned. Odd huh?
What I described is done while the unit is off.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:10 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Yes, I know that But I just discovered that. Is this Possibly a Loss Cause? However Many Times I try to switch to MSC mode, It wont let me. I follow the Steps and yet nothing.
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:59 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

Try calling SanDisk for help. In the U.S.: 1-866-SANDISK (726-3475). And other SanDisk contact information: http://www.sandisk.com/sandisk-support/contact-us.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:08 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didu50 View Post
Yes, I know that But I just discovered that. Is this Possibly a Loss Cause? However Many Times I try to switch to MSC mode, It wont let me. I follow the Steps and yet nothing.
Well if you can not get it to connect and be recognized in msc mode either via this trick or by switching it when it's on you won't be able to do a firmware upgrade and then it's a lost cause. I honestly believe it's firmware corruption. I did ask last night in #rockbox irc to see if anyone had any other ideas, none were given but as I said above it was confirmed if you can not get it recognized to do a fw upgrade, then it is a lost cause :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerman View Post
Try calling SanDisk for help ...
He did contact them and they said it was a lost cause, so he came to abi ... it's in the beginning of the thread where he stated this.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:39 AM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

I'll keep trying till Monday. Is it possible that the Sandisk Help is a gimmick? Like They told me all the steps and to connect to MSC, I would think they are Very experienced but no, and then they told me to buy a Fuze+

Edit: I was Lurking around the Sandisk Forums and some posts said to Fully Charge it. I just need to know how the hell i'm going to charge it. XD

Last edited by Didu50; 09-02-2010 at 07:11 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 09-02-2010, 12:00 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,502
Default

Sorry I missed your having contacted SanDisk earlier (this thread has been growing ...). SanDisk customer service is not a gimmick, but can be variable, depending on whom you get on the other end.

To charge: can you use an AC USB adapter?
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:19 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikerman View Post
... To charge: can you use an AC USB adapter?
Did I miss the info, has it been confirmed that it will charge if you have fw corruption problems? This would be helpful to know ... AFAIK mine have not when they had issues.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 09-02-2010, 04:50 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Well I have a Motorola Micro USB Charger. All I need to know is if it's possible, and IF it overcharges will it set on fire? I know Lithium polymer batteries will but not sure about the Clip's.
Maybe Having a full battery then MSC could Help.

Edit: I plugged it in, The main screen and blue ring have lit up, But it is stuck upon that screen so i'm not sure if its charged or not. I'll give it 4 hours I guess.

Last edited by Didu50; 09-02-2010 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:17 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

It shouldn't set on fire but given the condition it's in I would keep an eye on it
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:44 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

OMG. It was Charging. I went out to dinner. Just came back looked at it and the Blue Ring went out.... >:O WTF IS HAPPENNING
Now it's just completely off ( as in no lights)... I must have the most jacked up Clip Ever.

Edit 2: I plugged it in, and Comp gave me the USB NOT RECOGNIZED SIGN ^_^ But then I went to device manager and wasn't there. -.-

Last edited by Didu50; 09-02-2010 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:31 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

URGENT URGENT URGENT. Please respsond as quickly as possible. My computer has recognized the Sansa Clip and it is acting regularly for now. How do I update the Fw please give me a step by step process of updating.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:07 PM
Ultimate Viking's Avatar
Ultimate Viking Ultimate Viking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 525
Default

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=22669

http://forums.sandisk.com/t5/Clip-Cl...ate/td-p/93172
__________________
Source: Clip+ (ROCKboxed), Meizu M6SL, Fuze (ROCKboxed), Nationite N2
Had: Sony E345, Meizu M6SP
IEM: Brainwavz Pro Alpha, M1, M2, M3, M4, B2, Hippo VB, CX300, MEElectronics M6

Amp: PA2V2, Fiio E3, FiiO E7, FiiO E5, FiiO E11, FiiO E6, FiiO E10
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 09-02-2010, 10:12 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Download this unzip it and put it in the root - (drive letter )\ : of the player. Disconnect safely. You should see a firmware updating message. After a minute or so it should shut off on it's own. Reboot. If everything went OK you should see the Settings screen.

If at all possible the player should be at least 50% charged. If it shuts off during the firmware update it's may not be recoverable. Good Luck.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.