android
  #1  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:26 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default Upside down screen in Original Sansa Clip

What is causing this?! When ever I go pass Screen settings ironically in the options tab, the screen flips over, and then I have to reset it to get it back to normal. Any Fixes? If age has anything to do with this, My clip is about 3-4 years. It's an old soldier.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:31 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

I've done the same with rockbox on purpose

Have you tried to refirmware with the latest version?
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:42 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Okay, Now i'm even more screwed. When I turn on the Clip, I only get Sandisk in Full brightness stuck on there. When I plug it into my Windows XP Computer nothing recognizes it. Is this the end?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:47 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Try reset while not connected, sounds like a corrupted fw.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:01 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Just got off of Sandisk's Lovely Customer support and in the end, They said that this was the end. This is a very sad day for me.

Last edited by Didu50; 08-31-2010 at 10:06 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:07 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

If the reset didn't work, then try putting the hold switch on and while holding down the center button connect to your pc. It may take more than one try, if you can get it recognized, do a manual firmware install and let it charge a while before you remove it or if it already has a good charge disconnect it and let it rebuild the fw, you’ll know when it’s done.

Edit: I don't care what they said, I'd still give it a try
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:08 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Is it possible that we could Live chat Walkgood? It would be more helpful that way.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:11 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

I'm in #anythingbutipod irc right now, but I won't be around too long. If you don't make it in, there's always tomorrow ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:13 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

darn, But I've made some Progress. At least when I plug it into the computer, It tells me that the Device is unidentified!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:16 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didu50 View Post
darn, But I've made some Progress. At least when I plug it into the computer, It tells me that the Device is unidentified!
Try what I suggested above (btw it only works with a v1 clip), it forces a msc connection and then you'd be ready for a fw upgrade.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:19 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Let's Continue this tomorrow Walkgood. I Just wanna get it Ready so I can use it with my New V-moda Vibes when they arrive.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:22 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Try holding the power switch up for about 10 seconds.

If you join the IRC channel, then we talk a bit more if you want.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread.
Headphones: JVC FX66B
Main Players: 4GB Sansa Clip+, 8GB Sansa Fuze, Sansa e280R with Rockbox
Backup Players: 8GB Sansa View, 2GB Sansa Clip
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:25 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

I assume since you said it's old it's a v1, if it is, I believe you can revive it. But if it's a v2, they are trickier and you might not be able to fix that version. Ok, I should be around tomorrow, if not there's others around that should be able to help, good luck
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:26 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Try holding the power switch up for about 10 seconds.

If you join the IRC channel, then we talk a bit more if you want.
I did suggest a reset earlier, don't know if he tried it but I'd hold it 20 seconds just to make sure ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:51 AM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

I just tried the reset again, It turns on about 5 seconds in then flashes for the next 15 seconds upside down. I turn it off, try the reset again, and try to turn it on and get nothing. I am pretty sure that it is a v1 clip because I got it pretty early on 2006 or 2007, and it didn't have the new flower logo like the new clips.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:52 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

AFAIK the flower doesn't indicate anything as my v1's have it, it came on later fw updates.

What will tell you for sure is in the off position, engage lock and connect to pc while holding the center button,if that works it's a v1. As I said before, that forces a msc connection (connects like thumb drive) and you are ready to do a fw update. If you get that far let us know and we can help with the fw update, if I'm not around advcomp2019 or others should be able to help you do a manual update.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:55 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didu50 View Post
I just tried the reset again, It turns on about 5 seconds in then flashes for the next 15 seconds upside down. I turn it off, try the reset again, and try to turn it on and get nothing. I am pretty sure that it is a v1 clip because I got it pretty early on 2006 or 2007, and it didn't have the new flower logo like the new clips.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
AFAIK the flower doesn't indicate anything as my v1's have it, it came on later fw updates.

What will tell you for sure is in the off position, engage lock and connect to pc while holding the center button,if that works it's a v1. As I said before, that forces a msc connection (connects like thumb drive) and you are ready to do a fw update. If you get that far let us know and we can help with the fw update, if I'm not around advcomp2019 or others should be able to help you do a manual update.
WG, I think he may be referring to the flower logo on the back of the player, visible through the hole in the clip attachment on the V2 Clips.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-01-2010, 04:45 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
WG, I think he may be referring to the flower logo on the back of the player, visible through the hole in the clip attachment on the V2 Clips.
Good point, didn't even think of that as we do have one v2 clip but I only use the v1's myself.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-01-2010, 05:48 PM
Didu50's Avatar
Didu50 Didu50 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 43
Default

Well, Does the Hold + Center Button insert take many tries? Before it wore off, Sandisk was printed in the middle of where the clip is hollow. And How do I get to IRC?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-01-2010, 06:13 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
ABI Invaluable
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Once it took me 3 or 4 tries but it connected finally and mine was in a dead looking state. An alternative is if you can boot it, reset it and change it into msc mode in the settings turn it off and connect it. I believe it's settings > usb mode > msc.

My v1 only has an "S" left, so I guess it use to say SanDisk, guess I never paid attention to it till now and it's almost all gone, and yes it's a v1.

There's a link under my signature about irc ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.