android
  #1  
Old 08-28-2010, 12:17 PM
sleepypedro sleepypedro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default 8gb clip v2 partial flash death?

I've got a 8gb clip v2 that is suddenly only coming up as having 1.8gb total storage. I've formatted the device several times, run chkdsk within windows, examined the volume from within Disk Management... and nowhere does it show as anything other than a 1.8gb volume.

Apart from losing 6 gb of capacity, the volume that remains is still writeable, the device boots just fine, etc.

I've had flash devices die on me before, but never partially. Has anyone reported anything like this?

Sandisk support wasn't much of a help. ("... have you tried formatting the device?")

This unit was rockboxed with the latest firmware as of a couple weeks ago, but I've since flashed it back down to the stock sansa firmware in hopes of retrieving the missing space.

I just tried the sandisk recovery tool I read about elsewhere on the web, but that was not successful.

Any ideas?


EDIT: Fixed. Thank you!

Last edited by sleepypedro; 08-28-2010 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-28-2010, 12:27 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Format the player with this app instead of Windows' default formatter: http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter_3/
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:43 AM
Liverpool Liverpool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Don't format using the FAT file system as that will make only about 2gb of space available. Use FAT32
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-31-2010, 08:06 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

If you format it the right way - with the SD formatter linked above, instead of Windows - it automatically choses the correct values for file system, cluster size, etc.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-31-2010, 09:22 AM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverpool View Post
Don't format using the FAT file system as that will make only about 2gb of space available. Use FAT32
Note that the original poster updated their original post on Aug 28th to indicate that the problem was fixed.

If the OP is readng this thread, perhaps they can reply indicating what fixed the problem. Likely the SD formatter. but it's always nice to have that confirmed for future folks having the same or a similar problem.

Steve
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:23 AM
Liverpool Liverpool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Didn't realise that he fixed the problem since I only read the first sentence ^_^
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.