android
  #1  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:24 PM
Jonatello Jonatello is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default Speaker/headphone switching

or am i missing something simple this time? (hope so)


*** EDIT: hooray, this one is in fact not defective . for anyone else who may run into this: if you find the headphone jack doesn't seem to work, check "settings > system". make sure "Speaker" is set to "Auto" (turned out mine was set to "On" by default, meaning it wouldn't recognize the presence of headphones/line-out)

Last edited by Jonatello; 08-13-2010 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-14-2010, 08:54 AM
wrathchild's Avatar
wrathchild wrathchild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hell
Posts: 49
Default

That's weird. It should have been set to auto by default. Did you buy it used or something?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:45 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Certainly a deceiving title, that could have been one that was manually tested and the tester didn't reset the settings once returned to the production/packaging line.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-14-2010, 10:51 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Thread title (original 'are they all defective?') changed. Please use descriptive thread titles.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:14 AM
Jonatello Jonatello is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Default

dfkt , WalkGood:

just to clear things up with the previous 2 replies, it was not initially a deceptive title. the original pre-edit version of the post was about receiving a second defective device after the first one had to be replaced. when i edited to say "nevermind i figured it out", i was unable to edit the title section.

wrathchild:

i don't know if it was used. i'd have to ask Cowon. it was sent to me as a replacement for a "defective" one. i agree it's very odd that they wouldn't have it set to auto by default.

everyone:

now i'm back to "are they all defective" mode, because this thing is actually doing the same thing my previous one had to be sent back for.

if i try to access my music or pictures (either via "music"/"pictures" or "browser") it goes into a frozen mess of colored bars and snow, either turning itself right off immediately or needing a reset to turn off.

i can do a few lame things on it, like play hunter, use radio, or switch between the 2 icon-based menu styles (if i try to switch to the list style, the same disaster happens). video section says "No Files" even though there are actually 4 or 5 working video files in there. when browsing the files and folders via windows explorer, i confirmed that the music, pictures, etc all still work...if only it didn't crash when i tried to browse to them.

i don't know if this is related or just a red herring but this time it seemed to start when i downgraded from 2.21 to 2.10. After 2.10 successfully installed, it shut itself off, when i turned it back on, i got that colorful snow disaster immediately. when i upgraded back to 2.21, i got to the point i'm at now, where i can see my desktop and use some features.

when it happened to my last player, 2.10 was the newest version, it's what i was running, and (like this time with 2.10), i couldn't even reach my desktop before the revolt.

when Cowon received it, they concluded (or at least told me) it was a defective screen. i'm beginning to second-guess that, or absolutely dumbfounded that i got 2 defective screens in a row?

Last edited by Jonatello; 08-16-2010 at 07:57 AM. Reason: to elaborate
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.