android
  #1  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:56 AM
!"£$%^&*('s Avatar
!"£$%^&*( !"£$%^&*( is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK England Warwickshire
Posts: 98
Default Virus on player?

Hey

I had to send my player off to get repaired after the rewind button broke on it. When I got it back there was a new file on the device called "12gn6id2.exe". I am convinced that this file was not on the player when I sent it away.

My computer now has trouble finding the device and only finds it 50% of the time.

I scanned the player with an anti-virus software and it told me that "the direcotory is corrupted or unreadable.

I searched the internet to fdind any informantion on the file and found many websites offering to remove this 'malware'. This one says what it is: http://www.prevx.com/filenames/55439...N6ID2.EXE.html

Does anyone have any information on this file or is it actually a file that is usually found on the S9?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-09-2010, 07:58 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Upload the file to http://www.virustotal.com/ or http://virusscan.jotti.org/en to make sure. The site you linked to, like many "malware removal" sites, just wants to sell you some stuff, and is thus possibly overly hysterical.

And no, there are no executables on the S9, besides the MyPodder/PodcastReady app it ships with.

Either way, you best simply format the player and have a fresh start.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-09-2010, 08:13 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Clean out the files outlined in : http://www.sophos.com/security/analy...32taterfq.html
too.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-11-2010, 05:37 AM
!"£$%^&*('s Avatar
!"£$%^&*( !"£$%^&*( is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK England Warwickshire
Posts: 98
Default

ok I have tried to delete it and it keeps coming back.

Does anyone know if I can delete everything on the [player, including the system and then relode it back on?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-11-2010, 06:48 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by !"£$%^&*( View Post
... Does anyone know if I can delete everything on the [player, including the system and then relode it back on?
dfkt already told you up ^^ there, format the player. That will delete everything on it and the player will rebuild the fw like it came when brand new. Will delete all your files on it too and then you can reload tunes, but if the .exe came from your pc it will most likely load it again, have you checked your pc? Oh and don't format the pc, I'm assuming you know why
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-11-2010, 07:08 AM
rickysio's Avatar
rickysio rickysio is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,074
Default

Use online scanners if you're afraid your local on desktop AV has been compromised.
__________________
Current Rig : SanDisk Sansa Clip+ 8GB Black | Sansa Fuze v2 2GB + 8GB | Hippo VB | Panasonic HJE900 | N900 32GB + 16GB
Graveyard :
FutureSonics Atrio | Cowon D2 16GB Black + 16GB SDHC | SoundMAGIC PL30 | Koss PortaPro | iPod Touch 2G 8GB
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-11-2010, 11:08 AM
majoSK majoSK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Zvolen, Slovak republic
Posts: 25
Default

Or try download some LiveCD with windows or linux, boot from CD and connect your cowon in that OS.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB Headphones: Creative EP630 + Koss VC20
Mainmenu UCI: Clear Icon Theme / Claw Wallpaper / Asurada Mainmenu
Other UCI: Asurada Squarescape Music / Asurada Squarescape Movie / Text Viewer / Klaus Browser
Pictures of my Cowon S9
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 12:04 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by !"£$%^&*( View Post
ok I have tried to delete it and it keeps coming back.
Then the virus is probably on your Windows machine, and keeps infecting removable storage devices.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-12-2010, 03:32 AM
!"£$%^&*('s Avatar
!"£$%^&*( !"£$%^&*( is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK England Warwickshire
Posts: 98
Default

Formatting the player seems to have worked. Just need to start the long process of putting files back onto my player.

Thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.