android
  #1  
Old 08-01-2010, 04:14 PM
hazza_t10 hazza_t10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Default AVI h.264/MP3 video tutorial using SUPER

out of date

Please see new thread here

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by hazza_t10; 02-16-2015 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-04-2010, 02:16 PM
trefork trefork is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Can't wait to try this on my J3.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-05-2010, 07:12 AM
saahild saahild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

That program works very well for making low file size decent quality files. Can't wait to see if it works on my J3 when it arrives .

Thank you.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-07-2010, 09:50 AM
crodz crodz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 12
Default

it is amazing.

i followed the guide completely and it transformed and converted a 300 mb music video of about 4:30 minutes to 19 mb or so.

i couldnt believe it
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-08-2010, 03:11 PM
Thib Thib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Thank you for your tutorial, some comments :

Quote:
Note that h.264 will NOT work in any container other than .AVI or with any audio codec other than .MP3.
False. Hopefully, WAV does work too allowing you to have clips with lossless audio.

Quote:
It is also recommended that MEncoder is used, rather than FFMPEG.
Well, unfortunatly MEncoder does not seem to support stretching to full screen .
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-09-2010, 02:14 PM
hazza_t10 hazza_t10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thib View Post
Thank you for your tutorial, some comments :



False. Hopefully, WAV does work too allowing you to have clips with lossless audio.



Well, unfortunatly MEncoder does not seem to support stretching to full screen .


Firstly, thanks for the comments everyone, feedback is greatly appreciated

Hi there Thib, the format support is something I need to update on the guide actually, as from S9 firmware 2.50 (well, I didn't get this working before then), Cowon appear to have added support for h.264 in a .MP4 container with AAC-LC audio. I believe the J3 will also have this support, but I won't be able to check myself as I only have the S9. If anyone could confirm this please, that would be great! I'm pretty sure that WAV is supported ... but I will double check when I update the guide.

What exactly do you mean about 'stretch to fullscreen'? Do you mean to remove any black bars on widescreen? Otherwise, I believe the J3 can stretch video to the fit the display. You could also force the video into some unusual resolution when you encode.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-09-2010, 03:47 PM
saahild saahild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Just tested an encoded video on my J3 and they work 100% without flaw .
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 08-11-2010, 03:52 PM
Thib Thib is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazza_t10 View Post
Firstly, thanks for the comments everyone, feedback is greatly appreciated

Hi there Thib, the format support is something I need to update on the guide actually, as from S9 firmware 2.50 (well, I didn't get this working before then), Cowon appear to have added support for h.264 in a .MP4 container with AAC-LC audio. I believe the J3 will also have this support, but I won't be able to check myself as I only have the S9. If anyone could confirm this please, that would be great! I'm pretty sure that WAV is supported ... but I will double check when I update the guide.

What exactly do you mean about 'stretch to fullscreen'? Do you mean to remove any black bars on widescreen? Otherwise, I believe the J3 can stretch video to the fit the display. You could also force the video into some unusual resolution when you encode.
I mean removing black bars indeed. I have video clips in .vob with lossless audio and I'd like to convert with best vid quality, lossless audio, no bars and
deinterlace. I've suceeded in doing it with DVDFab using Divx but the video wasn't nice at all... Actually the main problem is that the option "stretch to fullscreen" in SUPER is greyed when using MEncoder and other encoders don't work...
I thought I could drag and drop vob files on the J3, it's simple DVD files after all... Thanks for your help but I don't think there is much you can do about this very specific problem .
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:59 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Thanks for the tutorial, hazza_t10 - works a treat with these settings.

I just wanted to add that any h264 encode looks the best when the width and height are divisible by 16. For example, for a standard 1:2.35 Cinemascope movie, I used a resolution of 480x208 (a height of 204 would be closer to the original aspect ratio, but isn't divisible by 16).

1:2.35 = 480x208
16:9 = 480x272
4:3 = 368x272
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:03 PM
hazza_t10 hazza_t10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
Default

A very good addition, these are the settings I use myself for those respective aspect ratios!

Thanks very much, and I will add these suggestions into the guide as soon as I can Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-19-2010, 11:13 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,073
Default

I'll be checking this out in a day or so, as the hopeless jetaudio video conversion app keeps crashing on me. Thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-04-2010, 01:32 PM
grunge100 grunge100 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 35
Default

Worked like a charm, thanks.....
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-17-2010, 05:25 PM
karuna karuna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

@hazza_t10
Thanks for wonderful tutorial.
You wrote that You used Handbrake as a sort of intermidiate between DVD & Super.
Could you please tell me the exact Handbrake settings You use to make an MKV file from DVD TS files (Is it possible to use Handbrake not to encode DVD but just to make an MKV file with pristine DVD parameters?)

Last edited by karuna; 10-18-2010 at 03:24 AM. Reason: add question
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:49 PM
Trident77 Trident77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Whenever I click "Encode (Active Files)" the program just disappears - it crashes or something. Anyone know a fix for this?
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 10-29-2010, 10:28 AM
BillinAnchorage BillinAnchorage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default I get the same problem ...

the program just disappears. Why and how do I fix it?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 10-30-2010, 02:43 PM
NokCha NokCha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I tried the MEncoder and it gave me mixed results :[ The sound was muddy and horrible or vice versa where the video quality was downgraded.
I've done some tweaking around and discovered that ffmpeg gives out much better quality than the MEncoder. All i did was change from Hi Quality to Top Quality on the right side.

Obviously it'll give out a higher file size output(not by alot really..). I input a HD 230 mb music video and it gave an output of 150ish mb with superb or near identical quality to the input. But yea for those who want to really put the AMOLED to good use should convert with this method.

I may be possibly wrong because i have no prior knowledge of video converting. All i can share is my personal experience from tweaking around. Please correct me if i am wrong :[

Btw: I used these settings on my J3 and it worked perfectly. I can't speak for S9 as i do not own one.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 10-30-2010, 11:26 PM
Trident77 Trident77 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 29
Default

No one knows why SUPER force closes when I click "encode (active files)?"
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:14 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I just upgraded my old Super build 38 to the new build 39, and it broke everything. Build 38 worked perfectly fine, build 39 closes itself as soon as the encode button is pushed.

I uninstalled build 39, also cleaned the registry, tried to reinstall build 38 (and then 37 as well), but it won't work anymore. Build 37 and 38 won't even start anymore. Let's hope they release a fixed build soon.

I'm running XP Pro SP3 32bit.
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:02 PM
NokCha NokCha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 9
Default

I'm using the build 39 right now with no problem on windows vista home premium 64 bit o_o
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 10-31-2010, 04:01 PM
karuna karuna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Actually they've already released build.41
here's the changelog:
[ADD] A key to the MENU to select the 'Older Validation Procedure' as the new one is causing SUPER© to shut down on few PCs when encoding
[FIX] Code modification related to the Vorbis Audio Codec causing encoding errors
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.