android
Old 07-19-2010, 05:59 AM

Default Good In-canal earphone recommendations?

I recently made the mistake of trying my younger brother's Denon DN-HP700s.

BIG mistake.

Now, everything I own sounds absolutely rubbish. It's time to upgrade from the stock white Samsung earphones (which are excellent, if you take the "free" bit into consideration).

As a big fan of AKG & Sennheiser headphones, I'm considering trying their in-ears. At the moment, my list looks like:

AKG K 324 P
AKG K 330
AKG K 370 (expensive! Bit of a stretch)
Sennheiser CX 300-II
Sennheiser CX 400-II (discounted to a similar price as K330 and K324P)

oh, and:

AKG K 319, which isn't an in-ear canal.
Shure SCL2, which is about the same price as the K 370. Really chunky.

Can anybody suggest some earphones? I'd like to stick to the same price range, but if it must go up to the K 370's level... Then it must.

I'm a bassist, and I spend most of my time (unconsciously) listening to the bass line in songs. The bass has to be punchy, plentiful, and clear (none of those muffled boom-boom dance music earphones for me). Mids and highs must be good, too, but i'm not as concerned about them, they're easier for earphones to handle IMHO.

Don't want or need headphones at the moment, they aren't portable enough for me (and impossible to use in class).

I use a Samsung R1 with user DNSe settings, so the player is up to the job.

I'd prefer an AKG earphone, but if there isn't one for me I'm willing to buy any good name brand. Thanks for the help!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 07-19-2010, 06:25 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Take a look at the chart at this link.....it might help. From what I am hearing lately around here, it sounds like you'd be a prime candidate for the Hippo VB....
http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...53&postcount=1

Old 07-19-2010, 06:27 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Seems like Hippo VB's would be a good choice for you. You can read the review for more info