android
  #1  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:07 PM
Mattclip+ Mattclip+ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Default Volume? What a joke!

I know there's a load of other posts out there relating to this, but having just bought a clip+ yesterday I am really disappointed, and wanted to share!

It arrived by post, and before rushing down to the station I put a load of spoken word and music onto it in anticipation of the journey ahead of me. I was really looking forward to testing it out after all the great reviews I'd read when selecting it.

I'm using a pair of Koss PortaPro open backed portable headphones - one of the best selling and best low cost models of headphones of all time. Imagine my dismay when, once settled in on the train and turning on the clip+ for the first time, I discover that on full volume my music is almost inaudible. Over the noise of the train and background hum of the cabin making out the lyrics was barely possible.

I have good hearing. My MP3's are all at a normal level. The headphones work perfectly on every other device I've tried. Why is the amp driving the Clip+ so weak?

When I got home I listened again in a silent room. The volume is just acceptable, although picking out subtleties still a strain. But out and about, over traffic or the normal bustle of life, the highest volume was nowhere near adequate. I cannot imagine a situation when anyone would ever turn the volume below the maximum. The volume buttons might as well not exist.

I do not want to have to buy an external amp to increase the volume - why should I? I don't like in-ear headphones; they're uncomfortable and much more dangerous. I am intelligent enough to decide whether music is damaging my hearing or not, and whether I want to take that risk. Why doesn't the Clip+ fulfill such a basic function as to be loud enough to hear!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:18 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Check your settings, and make sure the player's region is set to North America....EU settings attenuate the volume choices. Once you've established North American settings, you have a choice of normal or high volume, choose high.

Beyond that, the PortaPro, like the KSC75, is a 60-ohm headphone that is not especially sensitive.....so it will require turning up a Clip+ a little bit more. Out in public, you have to accept the fact that these are open-backed headphones, so they will not isolate any outside sound.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:32 PM
Mattclip+ Mattclip+ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Default Bloody EU

A precursory hunt through the settings don't show an easy way of changing to North America... do I need to restore factory settings or format it to make the change?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:35 PM
head2head head2head is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default

Restore factory settings (this will preserve all your music) and then select North America or Rest of World.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:36 PM
pavian pavian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I had the same problem too, also with porta pro I think restoring factory settings should do the job, but im not sure because it was few months ago... Or install Rockbox, its better than OF
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:39 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Sounds like you may have your region set to Europe in the firmware. Or your headset may not be completely plugged in. My Clip+ with a set of Portapros will deafen you in short order.

Make sure the headset is completely pushed in. The first full connection may take a bit more force than you would expect. Then check under Settings=>Volume=>. If you don't see a Normal/High option you are on the European settings. If so go to Settings=>Reset All. Confirm the choice. When you are asked to select a region pick any one other than Europe. In the Volume menu you should see the High/Low option. You know which one to pick.

Marvin's right, the Portapros aren't a great choice for riding public transportation. When I tried to wear mine on the buses and trains the open design let in enough noise to wipe any music out. When the Clip is set properly I enjoy rhem at home. It does need a bump or three in volume to match some of my other 'phones but there's still plenty left I feel like damaging my hearing a bit.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-16-2010, 12:40 PM
Mattclip+ Mattclip+ is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Default

That is much better! Thanks.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
angry, clip+, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.