android
Old 07-16-2010, 10:57 AM

Default Little help with id3 tags and Various Artist

Sorry if this is a basic question, but I'm new to all this. I've been uploading some albums (i'm in MTP mode) - some are compilations - and when i go through the list for "artists", it's an absolute mess. I assume there is no way around this because of the nature of id3 tags?

Is my best best to just use the new folders method and rigorously structure them?

Just trying to get a good feel for how i should think about organising my mp3's.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 07-16-2010, 11:50 AM
Ultra Senior Member

Hey Welcome to ABi...sorry for your woes but don't worry, we will try to help sort you out.

The answer to your question, in short, is yes.

However, good news! There are workarounds. Trust me, you are not the first person to encounter issues with Various Artists albums or compilations.

One great free app for you to check is mp3tag: http://www.mp3tag.de/en/
My personal fave for years and its also very popular around these parts.

But how do I get my stuff in order you say?

There are many ways of course and no "right" way...You simply have to decide on a protocol that works/makes sense for you and stay consistent with it.

Here is an example of how I do it...
CD: Voices2, with all different artists and songs.

- I tag the ARTISTS field of all the songs as Various Artists
- I then add the specific artists on each song as part of the song name...I then rename all my mp3 files using my preferred ID3 tags.

In mp3tag, I use all the standard tagging fields, but will only review the relevant ones here:

Artist: Various Artists
Album: Voices2
Title/Song: La Mama Morta [with Maria Callas]
- i populate Year, Genre, Track Number, Comments, whatever else I want to fill in.

Once the ID3 tags are set, I use mp3tag to convert the filenames using the tagging info. Thus my song example above gets renamed as: