android
  #1  
Old 06-21-2010, 05:20 PM
ineedhep ineedhep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Help what chipset does the walkman e344 use?

Well..., does anyone know what chip it uses?
If anyone knows please post!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-22-2010, 12:17 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedhep View Post
Well..., does anyone know what chip it uses?
If anyone knows please post!
It doesn't matter what chip it is....it sounds great.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-22-2010, 01:01 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Agree totally with Marvin...no idea on the chip and I don't really care as my E345 does indeed sound terrific. IMO, the strength of the Sony's lie in their great EQ.

My own understanding is that most reputable manufacturer's DAPs will sound pretty similar provided good quality components are used - what sets the sound signatures apart really has more to do with software on the device with regards to EQ and other sound enhancements than hardware.

I would research/audition headphones and spend more time in that regard finding earphones you love as IMO this is the single most important part of the portable audio chain...

Still, perhaps someone knows/can dig this info up for you...

cheers!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:35 PM
ineedhep ineedhep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

how does sound quality relate to my question ?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:41 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedhep View Post
how does sound quality relate to my question ?
Isn't that the point of the chip? Why else would you want to know?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:43 PM
ineedhep ineedhep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I mean the name of it and the company who makes it.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:46 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

OK....of course, you are right...It doesn't.

My post was simply trying to illustrate that chipsets in quality DAPs generally result in audio that is pretty much indistinguishable IMO/IME.

Yes, my response was based on the assumption that you were asking the question because you are one of the people who are a bit...obsessive...about stuff like chipsets in DAPs and how one chipset might make a player sound notably different than another.

If this is not the case, then my apologies for misunderstanding you.

Perhaps you can clarify exactly why you are interested in this information? This would probably have made the responses more targeted in the first place.

cheers,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-22-2010, 04:48 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ineedhep View Post
I mean the name of it and the company who makes it.
Ah, ok...Sorry to waste your time then. I have no idea. Perhaps contact Sony tech support directly via chat/phone/email and query them - perhaps they will tell you, if they don't consider that information confidential.

good luck,
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-22-2010, 09:19 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

The firmware update file looks like a Freescale format, and its some ARM CPU. My guess would be imx series chip, like the imx233. You'd have to dig into it in more depth to be sure.

Might want to open the player. The mx part number should be printed on the chip.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-22-2010, 10:49 PM
meetooman's Avatar
meetooman meetooman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 488
Default

@Saratoga: We have seen some Sony service manuals to download on the forum, was there any valuable informations to read for people in a "Rockbox state of mind" ?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-22-2010, 11:00 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Do these manuals mention what chips are used?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-23-2010, 01:06 AM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Please guys...as a new fan of RB, please do not [even accidentally] tease me with tantalizing fantasies of a possible future RB port for the Sony E/S series...

Be still my beating heart! :-D
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-23-2010, 03:58 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Please guys...as a new fan of RB, please do not [even accidentally] tease me with tantalizing fantasies of a possible future RB port for the Sony E/S series...

Be still my beating heart! :-D
Ain't never gonna happen, not for a S or E series player. They don't really need a port.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-23-2010, 02:31 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Please guys...as a new fan of RB, please do not [even accidentally] tease me with tantalizing fantasies of a possible future RB port for the Sony E/S series...
I wouldn't worry about that. Apparently in 2 years no one has even mustered enough interest to figure out the CPU. At this rate the sun will explode before someone edits a firmware file to say SORY.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:21 PM
ineedhep ineedhep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Does anyone here with a similar Walkman know how to open up the walkman I have?
(Sony e344)

Last edited by ineedhep; 06-23-2010 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:54 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Ain't never gonna happen, not for a S or E series player. They don't really need a port.
Speak for yourself... All stock Sony firmwares are 100% utterly useless for my needs.

And yes, I would kill for a quality Sony hardware with pan/balance, gapless, Replaygain, scrobbling, decent EQ. Their players handle so lovely, yet their firmwares are utter garbage for my needs.

I really wonder why nobody ever looked into porting Rockbox to a Sony... they would be my first choice. It's quality hardware that deserves a good firmware.

Saratoga, AFAIK Sony prefers to use NEC chips and Cirrus DACs in their players, to the best of my knowledge. Some even used to run on Linux (and have some GPL'ed sources): http://www.sony.net/Products/Linux/A...ategory01.html
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 06-23-2010, 07:33 PM
ineedhep ineedhep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Please guys...as a new fan of RB, please do not [even accidentally] tease me with tantalizing fantasies of a possible future RB port for the Sony E/S series...

Be still my beating heart! :-D
Does this mean that Sony E/S series use the same chips?
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 06-23-2010, 07:54 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Saratoga, AFAIK Sony prefers to use NEC chips and Cirrus DACs in their players, to the best of my knowledge. Some even used to run on Linux (and have some GPL'ed sources): http://www.sony.net/Products/Linux/A...ategory01.html
FWIW I don't think they prefer anything. I've seen ones using ARM and ones using CF. I've seen ones with Freescale and one with Sigmatel. Now you're saying NEC, which I didn't even know made chips for mp3 players
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 06-24-2010, 03:59 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

In that case "prefer" was really the wrong word, indeed.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 06-30-2010, 07:58 AM
aarons510 aarons510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 95
Default

I don't know if this is useful to you, but the E438F definitely uses a SigmaTel chip. I know this because I have a non-working one that shows up in my Mac's System Profiler as follows:

Quote:
ROM Recovery:

Product ID: 0x3700
Vendor ID: 0x066f (SigmaTel, Inc.)
Version: 0.01
Speed: Up to 480 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Sigmatel, Inc.
Location ID: [not relevant]
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100
Incidentally, I have a few non-working players from other makers that show up with identical information, including an RCA M4304-A, an RCA Lyra SL5004-A, and a Memorex TouchMP MMP9490.

P.S. I share the original poster's frustration about getting responses that presume that you had a different question in mind than the one you actually asked.

Last edited by aarons510; 06-30-2010 at 06:25 PM. Reason: Added to the list of players.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
chip, tag, walkman, walkman e

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.