android
  #1  
Old 06-08-2010, 11:40 AM
permansu permansu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default worth installing rockbox on v2?

Hi everyone. You make this a great forum.
I just purchased a fuze. I am very happy and I want to get the best sound posible (I also own a sennheisser ie 8). So, my first desire is rockboxit, but it is v2.Before doing so, I want to ask:
What does it mean when they say that rockbox is unstable?
How functional is it? Do I have risk of damaging my fuze?
Does it worth installing rockbox at this stage of development?

Thanks for your comments. I really apreciate your opinions.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-09-2010, 12:40 PM
Mr C Mr C is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Default

Gaples, much better interface, slightly faster loading times...
I'd say wait a few weeks till they realease the easy install version to come out though.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-09-2010, 12:47 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,547
Default

http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/WhyRockbox
http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-09-2010, 04:38 PM
lock67ca lock67ca is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Default

It would be worth it for gapless playback alone. Not to mention all the other bells and whistles. Extra codecs. Great EQ options.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-09-2010, 05:26 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I think this is a decision you have to make yourself, beyond the links that saratoga gave you, there’s a whole thread with around 112 posts on this very subject here. You should take the time to read it if possible. I was an early adapter on Clip and only had one scare but fixed it no problem, certainly worth it for me …
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-09-2010, 07:55 PM
permansu permansu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you very much guys for your comments. Actually I know the advantages of rockbox since I have it installed in my old X5. My fear and my question was in relation to the word "unstable" and if it meant a risk to the player (a permanent brick or something), and moreover, that I would lose respect for the "stable" version.
At the end I decided to take the risk, I installed it and everything is going well. The only drawback is that with the current build does not run any theme outside the basics. By the moment, I can survive with the cabbie. The rest all good, and after a hard work setting up sound, I have the best sound I've ever received from a mp3 player.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-10-2010, 09:32 AM
lock67ca lock67ca is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 18
Default

I believe unstable means that not all of the features are functional yet, as you've noticed. I don't think it will be too much longer before the stable version is released, at least according to what I've seen at the Rockbox forum. Glad everything has worked out for you. I also have the current build of the unstable version installed and it's working great, at least as far as playback is concerned.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-10-2010, 02:11 PM
permansu permansu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I now know what means unstable. After two days of use, the fuze froze, and was stuck on the main screen. I tried to get it back anyway, without results, even connecting it to the PC. I thought the worst, all my fears turned into reality. After a research in the Rockbox documentation, I get it back. It seems that we have to wait some time unitl it becomes stable.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-26-2010, 08:36 PM
hajenkatt hajenkatt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Default

I just received my two Fuze players in the mail today. They were v2 when I was hoping they were going to be v1 refurbs. Because I need them for video right now, I bit the bullet and loaded RB on both of them. It was an easy install with no glitches. I copied over my video files from my e260, and so far so good. I've got more tweaking to do, but for now it's good enough for the 14-hour plane ride we're about to take. If it bricks at 33,000 ft I might have a stroke, but I love RB enough to take that chance.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-26-2010, 09:30 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

FWIW, I am a new RB user on a v2 Fuze 8GB+16GB microSDHC. In the 10 days my Fuze has been RB'd, the device has only crashed twice.

Otherwise, my install and my user experience thus far has been flawless with zero issues.

Using RB Fuzev2 Build 26906-100618.
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 06-29-2010, 10:27 AM
permansu permansu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Update

After the first crash on the second day of use, and install the latest version available, I have now three weeks been going great with rockbox, without a single flaw, including the ability to install themes. Definitely, for me, there is nothing to fear, and I can say that rocbox is so stable in the fuze v2, as on any other device.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 06-29-2010, 12:40 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by permansu View Post
After the first crash on the second day of use, and install the latest version available, I have now three weeks been going great with rockbox, without a single flaw, including the ability to install themes. Definitely, for me, there is nothing to fear, and I can say that rocbox is so stable in the fuze v2, as on any other device.
Hey, just out of curiosity, what v2 RB build are you using now?
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 06-29-2010, 12:59 PM
permansu permansu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestatar View Post
Hey, just out of curiosity, what v2 RB build are you using now?
I am now using r27109-100624 because I decided to upgrade that day; but I am not having problems since r26845.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 06-29-2010, 01:14 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by permansu View Post
I am now using r27109-100624 because I decided to upgrade that day; but I am not having problems since r26845.
Ah, ok thank you. My own version of RB r26906 is later than the one that has been running well for you.

Thanks!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
rockbox, sansa fuze v2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.