android
  #1  
Old 05-19-2010, 06:59 PM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default Why can't Zune firmware updates be made OTA?

I've been wondering this for a while: Why can't Zune firmware be updated OTA?
Is there some limit of the Zune firmware that absolutely requires the client? Or is it something else?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:13 PM
Moonrakerone's Avatar
Moonrakerone Moonrakerone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 197
Default

I would guess that it would be impossible for the zune to update itself, while staying connected to the network.
__________________
"You can live in this illusion, you can choose to believe..." -Nine Inch Nails
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:14 AM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Same reason many devices don't do that. A wireless connection is a low quality, low reliability connection, and not one we can trust while performing an upgrade (which talks back and forth to the PC client during the process). Moonrakerone's point is also correct, in that certain components that are required during a wireless connection, need to be shut down during an upgrade.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:49 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

The only devices I have that can do that have been phones (most of the time), my Kindle, and several internet connected devices that just happen to be connected over WiFi. BlueRay players, WDHC, DirectTV DVRs, etc all seem to manage updates over their WiFi/satellite/cellular wireless connections. Heck, every laptop in the house also handles update over WiFi. Seems to me (update over Wireless) to be an easy trick to master. Just saying....

Welcome back, DaveMac!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-20-2010, 06:32 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Well, don't forget your PC is just updating silo'd components. Zune firmware updates are a new OS image on your device...

Thanks for the welcome back - glad to be home for a bit.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:23 PM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Well, don't forget your PC is just updating silo'd components. Zune firmware updates are a new OS image on your device.... Cheers, Dave.
Ok, I'll give you that. My HTC Hero just got a new OS (android 2.1) and they made us download and install it from our PCs. The Hero has a firmare update option on-board though, as if they could have pushed it out over the web.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:37 PM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Well, don't forget your PC is just updating silo'd components. Zune firmware updates are a new OS image on your device...

Thanks for the welcome back - glad to be home for a bit.

Cheers, Dave.
So downloading and updating are not separable?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-21-2010, 08:56 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Again, it depends on what is being updated. We usually fix a bunch of issues with various parts of the stack in addition to releasing new features, so in many cases that requires exiting to a FW update mode...

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-21-2010, 09:17 PM
weedalin's Avatar
weedalin weedalin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In my house
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Again, it depends on what is being updated. We usually fix a bunch of issues with various parts of the stack in addition to releasing new features, so in many cases that requires exiting to a FW update mode...

Cheers, Dave.
Ok, thanks for clarifying, Dave.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-22-2010, 04:23 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

why dont you just have the device download an sort of instaler file while connected through wifi, then install it from the device's memory, that way a poor connection wouldn't risk bricking the device.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-23-2010, 10:58 PM
JRobes JRobes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Popo View Post
why dont you just have the device download an sort of instaler file while connected through wifi, then install it from the device's memory, that way a poor connection wouldn't risk bricking the device.
Is it honestly that big of a deal though to just plug your zune into your computer for an update that happens once per year? I really don't see the point in the zune team wasting their time trying to get this to work when I, along with many others, would rather see them working on other things such as apps or the firmware update itself.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 05-24-2010, 12:24 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

I've got a Garmin 310XT running watch(computer)...it *only* updates by wireless (ANT+)...
I think there really is not a real great reason why it must be this way...it's just the way they designed it from the outset...
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:42 AM
syst3m's Avatar
syst3m syst3m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 141
Default

Well most of the updates have also had a software update and firmware update, so its easier to package them together.
__________________
Have: ZuneHD 32GB, Zune 8GB
Had: Sansa e260, Some Old Panasonic MP3 Player
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 05-24-2010, 05:26 PM
timmahcheese timmahcheese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 261
Default

I'm sorry to bring it into the subject, but the psp downloads an installer file. It works. Its just a matter of preference of the company who distributes the updates (in this case, Microsoft)
__________________
Add me as a friend on zune social! my username is "Timmay Cheese"
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 05-25-2010, 08:42 AM
routerbad routerbad is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveMac-MS View Post
Again, it depends on what is being updated. We usually fix a bunch of issues with various parts of the stack in addition to releasing new features, so in many cases that requires exiting to a FW update mode...

Cheers, Dave.
It could be done without tethering to the machine, The Zune software automatically sets a certain amount of space aside for system use. This is space on the device that cannot be used for media, providing plenty of space to store a new image. Once the new image is downloaded it would be able to reboot into recovery mode to update the firmware. Most mobile devices already do this if they have a network connection.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 05-25-2010, 04:26 PM
Mr. Popo's Avatar
Mr. Popo Mr. Popo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRobes View Post
Is it honestly that big of a deal though to just plug your zune into your computer for an update that happens once per year? I really don't see the point in the zune team wasting their time trying to get this to work when I, along with many others, would rather see them working on other things such as apps or the firmware update itself.
i dont really care, i was just offering a solution. To be honest, i would prefer to plug it into my computer, the connection is much faster, so it would take less time, besides updates dont come out often enough that its a huge hassle, and im on my computer anyways when i find out about updates.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 05-25-2010, 07:54 PM
DaveMac-MS DaveMac-MS is offline
Buddy
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 1,482
Default

Ya, nobody is saying that with some engineering work it couldn't be done. As you suggest above, we have bigger fish to fry - the current systems works just fine.

Cheers, Dave.
__________________
Please don't PM me - instead send an email!
Follow me on Twitter (@DaveMacMS)!
If you're a member of the Zune Social - friend me (AussieDaveMS)!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.