android
  #1  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:43 PM
thall12 thall12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default Sony MP3 Player Cover Art

I just recently found out that I could drag and drop all of my iTunes music into Windows media player. The cover art is all in there but when I synced music onto my Sony NWZ the artwork doesn't show up.

I thought I had dragged all of the album artwork into the player and it showed up- (can't remember if it was this or my Sansa)

Anyone have any ideas on how to remedy this?
Thank you in advance!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:47 PM
Dreamnine Dreamnine is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland, EU
Posts: 3,225
Default

WMP is pretty bad for messing up album art. Can you not drag & drop it using My Computer>Explorer?

It may be that you have to retag to get your album art working properly.

Mp3Tag is easy to use: http://www.mp3tag.de/en/download.html
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:55 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

From iTunes to WMP......the horror!
Dreamnine is right....don't bring WMP into the equation.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-17-2010, 05:46 PM
thall12 thall12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I like WMP because I like my music to be i n WMA format- then I can fit all of my music into my player!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 05:46 PM
thall12 thall12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I am going to try content transfer for retaining artwork!
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 07:59 PM
thall12 thall12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I tried a single file and it retained artwork! I guess I'll try loading it in piecemeal, hopefully that will work.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-18-2010, 11:51 AM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thall12 View Post
I like WMP because I like my music to be i n WMA format- then I can fit all of my music into my player!
Quote:
Originally Posted by thall12 View Post
I am going to try content transfer for retaining artwork!
Quote:
Originally Posted by thall12 View Post
I tried a single file and it retained artwork! I guess I'll try loading it in piecemeal, hopefully that will work.
You're not required to use WMP to rip your music in the WMA format. There are other programs that can rip in songs to the WMA format, including MediaMonkey (MM) and CDex.

My frustrating experience with album art in WMP (I spent a month trying to get album art to work reliably in WMP without success) is the reason I went to MM. For me, one of the most frustrating things with WMP was I would attempt to correct album art, but the corrections would not take (the old album art would reappear). I've not had this problem with MM.

With my Sony player I've found what works best with album art is to embed the art into the song's ID3 tag and ensure that the art is the .jpg format and is no larger than 240 pixels by 240 pixels. I've had larger album art display on my player, but it hasn't been consistent.

Added: One thing I came across yesterday as I was working with album art: If you sync music to your player, you may have to delete the song on your player (the one with the incorrect album art) before syncing your player. My experience has been that if the song is already on your player the new version of the song may not be loaded because there is a version of that song already on your player. Deleting the song on your player will ensure that the updated version will be loaded during the next sync.

I hope this helps.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro

Last edited by CDMP3PlayerFan; 05-19-2010 at 11:17 PM. Reason: To add additional relevant information.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-23-2010, 06:09 AM
$ony$tyle $ony$tyle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default

all of my cover art is 600*600 and it shows fine on my walkman players, I just use itunes + content transfer to do the transfer and nothing goes missing.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 08-09-2010, 02:47 PM
SealTGB SealTGB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default Adding Tag Info Later

I have a question in a similar vein. I have already moved my music over to my Sony (S545) Walkman. I have subsequently used MP3Tag to update the tag information (album art, artist, year, etc.) on all of the music on my computer. Is there any way to add this additional updated info to the files already on the Walkman? The only possible way appears to be to delete the songs on the player and re-sync them all again with the new data (if I re-sync them without removing the old one, it simply adds a second file for each song).
I'd like to avoid removing/re-syncing everything; I have over 3000 tracks to rummage through, as I don't want all of them on the player.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 08-09-2010, 03:05 PM
lestatar's Avatar
lestatar lestatar is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hong Kong now, but NYC always
Posts: 4,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by $ony$tyle View Post
all of my cover art is 600*600 and it shows fine on my walkman players...SNIPPED....
+1 on this. Many of my own library mp3 art is the same. No issues on any players.


@ SealTGB:
Hey, I do not believe you have any alternative.

The Sony S/E series are not really TRUE MSC devices - therefore, standard drag/drop commands in WinExplorer may not work.

Does you Sony S show up as WALKMAN in Win Explorer for you? If yes, you would seem to be running in the "psuedo" MSC mode and should be able to drag/drop/overwrite.

If not, then yeah it will be a PITA.

However, take this as a lesson learned like I did many many years ago - a little prepping beforehand along with a consistent mp3 workflow goes a long long way.

cheers and good luck!
-lestatar
__________________
DAPs:2xRBFuze8+16GB|SonyE345|ZenV+,Micro,Xtra40GBx2|RBG igabeatFX|RCAOpal
IEMs:PanaHJE900|Nuforce 700x|HippoVB|iMetal590,i490|SM PL-21|CX300|EP630,Aurvana
Guitars:IbanezS540,JS1200|Ovation
PoolCues: a bunch
A Glossary for Newbies
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.