android
  #1  
Old 04-15-2010, 09:39 PM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Angry Can I rollback the 4.5 firmware?

Video and audio don't sync when I watch xvid files, had no problems before the update (which was meant to improve video compatability). How do I get rid of it?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-15-2010, 09:41 PM
Vartex's Avatar
Vartex Vartex is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: La Mesa CA
Posts: 96
Default

This doesn't make sense
1. Pre 4.5 you couldn't watch Xvid.
2. Do you mean other videos are out of sync?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-15-2010, 10:27 PM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Probably something wrong with the files themselves you are using...I have not seen this complaint anywhere...are these converted to xvid yourself?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-16-2010, 12:10 AM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vartex View Post
This doesn't make sense
1. Pre 4.5 you couldn't watch Xvid.
2. Do you mean other videos are out of sync?

WTF?? I've been able to sync Xvid files which were downloaded since I got my HD in February... I have the whole season of Caprica on there (XviD ISO MPEG-4)

After updating the firmware to 4.5 I synced the latest episode of Big Bang Theory (also XviD ISO MPEG-4) which plays perfectly in WMP12 yet not on the Zune......


Just to be clear I'm talking about the players firmware which was initially version is 4.3 (191). And is now 4.5 (109) not the software on the computer which has always been 4.2.202.0

Last edited by Aquamonkey; 04-16-2010 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-16-2010, 01:10 AM
grommet grommet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 87
Default

Before 4.5 HD firmware, your video files were converted "on-the-fly" to WMV at sync... so, your Zune HD didn't really play your MPEG-4 Part 2 ASP .avi files.

You should really just stop encoding via Xvid to that awful .avi container... but if you must, check your settings/tools. I haven't encoded using Xvid in years, but the few files I still keep around work just fine.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-16-2010, 01:39 AM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

They are not my videos AS POSTED they are downloads. Simple question to anyone can the 4.5 firmware update be taken off?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-16-2010, 02:30 AM
lip lip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 476
Default

Probably not...
Your problem can probably be solved by determining what is up with the encoding
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-16-2010, 02:41 AM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lip View Post
Your problem can probably be solved by determining what is up with the encoding

Nothing is wrong with the file it plays correctly on WMP12, DivX player 8, Media Player Clasic and Archos 605.... The problem is with the Zune and it is since the firmware update
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:22 AM
DoomRoot13 DoomRoot13 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquamonkey View Post
Nothing is wrong with the file it plays correctly on WMP12, DivX player 8, Media Player Clasic and Archos 605.... The problem is with the Zune and it is since the firmware update
There is nothing wrong with the zune, the file is probably not in the correct xvid format supported by the zune. just because its .avi doesnt mean its xvid and can play on your zune. and you cant rollback firmware
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:59 AM
Zuniq Zuniq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomRoot13 View Post
There is nothing wrong with the zune, the file is probably not in the correct xvid format supported by the zune. just because its .avi doesnt mean its xvid and can play on your zune. and you cant rollback firmware
+1
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-16-2010, 04:36 AM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomRoot13 View Post
There is nothing wrong with the zune, the file is probably not in the correct xvid format supported by the zune. just because its .avi doesnt mean its xvid and can play on your zune. and you cant rollback firmware

If the file wasn't in the "correct Xvid format" why would it be playing at all?
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-16-2010, 05:55 AM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

To answer your original question, yes, there is an option to rollback the firmware. It will rollback to the launch day 4.0, which REQUIRES a firmware update as soon as you connect it to your PC, or you can't sync anything. Since then, there have been 3 firmware updatets; 4.1 for launch day, 4.3 in the fall, and 4.5 in Spring. I do not think that it will allow you to pick an update, but rather, will only offer the most recent. Regardless, you can try it if you must. The directions are located HERE.

Please note that the linked thread is a sticky in this forum. I'll try to clean up the stickies this weekend to allow for easier visibility.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-16-2010, 06:00 AM
Jacob Jacob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 249
Default

I sometimes have problems with the sync. I just rewind a bit. Fixed.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-16-2010, 06:03 AM
Zuniq Zuniq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquamonkey View Post
If the file wasn't in the "correct Xvid format" why would it be playing at all?
It happens with most portable devices...in my Nokia 5800 i had a software which could only play some types of divx encoded movies but some other types had serious problems with speed and audio, because the right codecs were missing.

Maybe you should turn on the automatic conversion, so Zune software can recognize if your videos are compatible and if they aren't, convert them automatically to the proper format.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 04-16-2010, 06:26 AM
Aquamonkey's Avatar
Aquamonkey Aquamonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medion View Post
To answer your original question, yes, there is an option to rollback the firmware. It will rollback to the launch day 4.0, which REQUIRES a firmware update as soon as you connect it to your PC, or you can't sync anything. Since then, there have been 3 firmware updatets; 4.1 for launch day, 4.3 in the fall, and 4.5 in Spring. I do not think that it will allow you to pick an update, but rather, will only offer the most recent. Regardless, you can try it if you must. The directions are located HERE.

Please note that the linked thread is a sticky in this forum. I'll try to clean up the stickies this weekend to allow for easier visibility.

Well it's a good start, now I'll look around the net and see if theirs a download of the 4.3 firmware anywhere. Would the Zune software keep an archive of old firmware installars on the computer by chance?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 04-16-2010, 06:55 AM
Zuniq Zuniq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aquamonkey View Post
Well it's a good start, now I'll look around the net and see if theirs a download of the 4.3 firmware anywhere. Would the Zune software keep an archive of old firmware installars on the computer by chance?
Zune has been designed with "kids in mind"...its made to be extremely easy and very simple to use. I doubt that you can put anything else than the latest firmware. They also want to have the absolute control of the player, so an advanced upgrading firmware system would ruin their tight security...
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:04 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuniq View Post
Zune has been designed with "kids in mind"...its made to be extremely easy and very simple to use. I doubt that you can put anything else than the latest firmware. They also want to have the absolute control of the player, so an advanced upgrading firmware system would ruin their tight security stranglehold...
Fixed.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:46 PM
Zuniq Zuniq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
Fixed.



Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:58 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuniq View Post


Ha!
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 04-18-2010, 04:22 AM
m_k m_k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 277
Default

With the "classic" Zunes (i.e., Zune 80) it's possible to download the older version package (zune.exe+firmware+games) from Microsoft (I forget the link, but it's there somewhere, a web search ought to be able to bring it up), and then manually extract the actual installer, and then RUN it manually.

This is the only way I know to do an "upgrade" WITHOUT being on-line -- and, if you ARE online, whatever version you TRY to install will end up "helping" you by forcing the latest version into your system.

This is what I had to do when they replaced my dead Zune -- they came out with the current abortion while my player was in transit -- when the replacement arrived (a brand new player, with version 2.x firmware on it), the ONLY way I was able to get 3.1 installed was to jump through those hoops. Otherwise, the ONLY way it would let me use my replacement Zune was to install 4.x, which 1) I did not want, 2) did not need, and 3) couldn't install even if I wanted to, since it is a real horse-choker of a download and I am stuck with dialup modem access (I live in the backwoods, NO fast access available, period).

Once you download the version you need, and extract the installer (without the wrapper that will NOT invoke it WITHOUT going online first), you'll need to do a full wipe of your player (I forget the button combo but that info is readily available).
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.