android
  #1  
Old 04-06-2010, 10:27 PM
clinkytheclown clinkytheclown is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Default Lost Zune HD!

Hey Guys,
I lost my ZuneHD on sunday, and i was wondering if theres a way to see if its connected to the network to see if its in the house or around it, and if not, if i can get it replaced and how.
Any information ASAP would greatly appreciated!
__________________
I have a Creative Zen 16GB, and im content with it. There is a Zune 8GB Green in the house as well.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:11 PM
Celenet Celenet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 160
Default

Sadly, I don't think there is a replacement for lost items besides buying them again.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:17 PM
Xiamhighx Xiamhighx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 157
Default

If you have it set to auto sync via wireless then your zune software will automatically open and begin wireless sync, that is IF your Zune HD is within range with a charged battery. Hopefully it is, bro, good luck finding it. I don't think theres a replacement for lost/stolen items, that's usually only for cell phones.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-06-2010, 11:19 PM
ultrauber's Avatar
ultrauber ultrauber is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 516
Default

I believe that there is a way to see what devices are on your network, but I don't know how. Google it, I've seen it done. The problem is, it might just show up as a random device, not something obvious like "ZHD."

Do you have the Zune HD or the Zune Phone HD? If it's the phone, you can just call it
__________________
Cowon S9 32GB > HiFiMan RE0 (RIP) | Sansa Clip+ 16GB (Rockbox) > Soundmagic PL20
If you have problems, try MSC mode, then google.com
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-07-2010, 12:24 AM
Strider_Aus's Avatar
Strider_Aus Strider_Aus is offline
Windows Phone Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 498
Default

I have a program called network magic that keeps a visual map (with details) of each device connected to your home network. CISCO now own/run it after buying out the original software company. However if it's gone into sleep/standby it probably disconnects from the network. I think you can download a trial.

As far as losing it goes...check your home and contents insurance. Depending on your potential loss of any no claim bonus/discount and excess, it may be worth an insurance claim. Some policies (like mine in AUS) offer a low fixed $ limit for personal devices (phones, cameras etc) that get lost say in your car or when you are travelling.

You may be able to claim it back if so, and $$$ worthwhile....
__________________
<blank>
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-07-2010, 09:14 AM
turdbogls turdbogls is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrauber View Post

Do you have the Zune HD or the Zune Phone HD? If it's the phone, you can just call it
are you serious...WTF are you talking about....so much wrong in this sentence.
1 there is no zune phone HD
2 the winMo 7 is a "zune" phone but it isn't even released yet.
3 dont you think if it was a phone he already would have called it.

i do agree with what you said tho...pretty sure there is a way to check what devices are on your wireless connection.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-07-2010, 01:19 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turdbogls View Post
are you serious...WTF are you talking about....so much wrong in this sentence.
1 there is no zune phone HD
2 the winMo 7 is a "zune" phone but it isn't even released yet.
3 dont you think if it was a phone he already would have called it.
Yep, that's why it was a joke.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-07-2010, 03:38 PM
tkrow21 tkrow21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by epithetless View Post
Yep, that's why it was a joke.
Well, it's not helping at all.

Go to Start > Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > Network.

The name of your Zune HD will show if it is connected, under the name you gave it. (Mine shows up as Timothy).
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-07-2010, 03:44 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkrow21 View Post
Well, it's not helping at all.
Then I guess it's a good thing ultrauber preceded the joke with helpful information. Touchy, touchy...
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-07-2010, 04:22 PM
chambo622's Avatar
chambo622 chambo622 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Default

I believe that if the Zune's been unused for more than a few minutes, it will drop the WiFi connection and won't be showing up anywhere.

It is worth it to check the DHCP client list on your router if you think it might still be on.

Lost is lost. Sorry it happened.
__________________
www.ScienceProUSA.com
Zune HD 32GB Platinum
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-15-2010, 07:45 PM
clinkytheclown clinkytheclown is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Default

Hey guys just wanted to give a quick update. I FOUND IT! it was in the most random of places as well. Thanks for all the great support!
__________________
I have a Creative Zen 16GB, and im content with it. There is a Zune 8GB Green in the house as well.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-15-2010, 08:03 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clinkytheclown View Post
Hey guys just wanted to give a quick update. I FOUND IT!
That's awesome! Glad it wasn't gone for good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clinkytheclown View Post
it was in the most random of places as well.
Do tell!
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 04-15-2010, 10:05 PM
clinkytheclown clinkytheclown is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 62
Default

haha it was in this closet i have in my office, which only holds old binders, blank CDs and DVDS, and old bags. No idea how it got there
__________________
I have a Creative Zen 16GB, and im content with it. There is a Zune 8GB Green in the house as well.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 04-15-2010, 10:52 PM
Strider_Aus's Avatar
Strider_Aus Strider_Aus is offline
Windows Phone Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clinkytheclown View Post
No idea how it got there
Personally my suspicion would fall at the feet of your office's resident Apple fanboi
__________________
<blank>
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.